We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good property that met expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rittenhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I'd been looking forward to visiting this property for a number of years. I wasn't disappointed even though I was unhappy about the fact that I found out when I arrived that their spa, gym and pool were under renovation. They have a temporary workout room which was OK under the circumstances. The location is great on the square; service was fine. Dinner and breakfast at the main restaurant were very good. I was upgraded to a park view suite on a top floor and it was a very nice room with excellent amenities. They put nice fruit in the room and the restaurant worked well with me on arranging a dinner tasting leaving out meat and shellfish (which was a bit difficult since virtually every item on the menu had one or the other). During the renovation, they have a car that will take you over to a nearby health club at another top hotel. I look forward to returning after the renovation is complete.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank 649ic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thanks very much for sharing your Rittenhouse experience. We are excited to unveil our new health club, spa and salon next year and appreciate your understanding in the meantime. During the renovation, we will offer at least two alternatives and continue to offer all the amenities, service and location that we have become known for.

Best wishes to you and you family for the holidays and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 430 of 834 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

Family birthday celebration. The staff was accommodating and friendly. Amenities were great. I was very impressed with the kid's program. Ours loved the kid-sized robe and slippers, cookies and milk at bedtime, and Philly book and games. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear VNB,

Please let us know how we can earn your highest marks in all areas. We are very grateful for your overall review, however we are always looking for constructive feedback in any area that my not be as strong as another.

Many thanks for your input and we hope to see you again very soon.

Reg Archambault
215-790-2527

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I come to Philly about once a year. The Rittenhouse is where my organization puts us up. This is a top flight hotel with superb rooms and excellent service. I am always greeted by the doorman with a smile and a warm and sincere "Welcome to the Rittenhouse" (and even "Welcome back to the Rittenhouse" if he remembers me). The front desk staff are very professional and efficient. You get a choice of several newspapers, and an immediate offer for your wake-up call. The rooms are large and great to relax in or to get work done. NOTE: Unlike similar high end hotels, high speed wireless internet is NO EXTRA CHARGE. I love this. I hate paying top dollar for a room and getting charged for internet. However, don't touch the minibar items unless you have deep pockets. $8 for a bottle of water (and we complain about $4 for a gallon of gasoline!), and $4 for a 1oz bag of chips. The bathroom amenities are very nice, and they have plush bathrobes to wear (slippers too put at the bedside every night). They have a wonderful, but very expensive restaurant on site, or there are dozens of great little places to eat in the area. There is also a Smith and Wolensky attached to the hotel as well. So, overall, this is a really great place to stay. I never have a complaint.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Charles,

We are very happy to have you as our guest and thank you for your review. Look for new additions to our mini bar offerings, which we will try to make as competitively priced as possible. Also please let us know if there is anything in particular you would like to see on future stays so we may personalize your experience as much as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here for our daughter's wedding weekend - and the staff did everything they could to make our stay a tranquil and pleasant one. A couple of small blips were quickly and graciously handled. As parents of the bride, they upgraded our room to a larger room with a view of Rittenhouse Square - an exceptionally spacious room with a very comfortable bed, desk, sofa, television, chairs, etc. Our daughter loved her special bridal suite.

The most luxurious aspect of our stay was the nightly turn-down service - tantamount to two housekeeping visits per day. Our room was squeaky clean (particularly the bathroom, which had a separate shower stall) and loaded with amenities - lots of towels, soaps, shampoos. Another wonderful plus - free wi-fi in all rooms.

We left special kudos (and a gratuity) for the housekeeper who came to do our turn-down one night when I had left all of my jewelry on the nightstand instead of the safe...and I found it all on the nightstand, exactly where I left it.

The Rittenhouse Square location was excellent, within walking distance of many lovely shops, pubs and restaurants. It's only about a mile from Penn Station and easily accessible by car. Parking, however, is quite pricey.

The breakfast was pleasant but not exceptional in terms of offerings. The afternoon tea was lovely, if pricey, with unhurried service.

You could never touch this kind of ambience and service for the money in New York. Special thanks to Alex and the newlywed Megan for helping to make our weekend special.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nydolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

The Rittenhouse is the perfect spot for weddings and we are proud to have been chosen by you for your daughter's big day. Thank you for recognizing both Alex and Megan who truly enjoy what they do and it shows. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for future celebrations for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Location, location, location! We loved our visit to Philadelphia and staying at The Rittenhouse Hotel made our time there wonderful. From the greeting to the beautiful room overlooking the park, we were absolutely delighted. The staff, the amenities, and the location make this a TOP CHOICE for anyone going to Philadelphia.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the park was spacious and a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sallyhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

While we are ideally situated in the heart of Philadelphia, we are most proud of our personalized service and can not thank you enough for recognizing our efforts. We hope to see you again whenever you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful property! The rooms are well appointed and pristine. The staff is very accommodating. I like the bar and lounge areas...plenty of intimate options to meet up with friends. The location is excellent for any center city activities.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dollyamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thanks very much for your review of the Rittenhouse. Both Bar 210 and the Library Bar are ideal spots to steal away with friends or family. We are happy that you enjoyed our setting and location and hope to see you again whenever you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

As a frequent traveller, this hotel ranks up there with the top high end hotels in the Midwest and on the East coast! Fabulous room with the most comfortable bed and the towels are so thick and luxurious! Definitely felt pampered by the amenities and by the accommodating staff. The Valet, Doorman, Front Desk staff, Concierge answering the phone, all were so welcoming and really showed they valued having me as their guest. Excellent location, highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nic s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

We do value you a great deal and appreciate your take on how we engage our guests. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to Philadelphia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
#22 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,694 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rittenhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rittenhouse Hotel

Address: 210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $377 - $838 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rittenhouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forbes Four Star Award winning Rittenhouse Hotel is rated one of the top hotels in the world as well as #1 hotel in Pennsylvania by Travel + Leisure. The Rittenhouse has an ideal location directly on Rittenhouse Square for business or pleasure. Guests may walk out with easy access to boutique shopping, restaurants and the Center City business district is just steps away. The guestrooms at the Rittenhouse are the largest in the city, the smallest measuring 450-600 square feet, with views of Rittenhouse Square or University City. Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, overnight shoe shine and newspaper delivery to their room. Lacroix at the Rittenhouse is one of the top restaurants in Philadelphia with panoramic views of Rittenhouse Square. Immerse yourself in an oasis of relaxation in Center City with a menu of massage and salon services, spa packages and fitness center at the Rittenhouse Spa, Salon & Health Club with hair by Paul Labrecque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Rittenhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing