We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel/location in Phila.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rittenhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Rittenhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel/location in Phila.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

From the moment you drive up until you get into your room the service is 5 star. They cannot do enough for you, beyond my expectations.
The room was very comfortable, quiet and when we needed something from housekeeping it was delivered in less than 5 minutes. The hotel location is perfect, close to all the sights, nightlife and restaurants.
I would not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Brian,

It is wonderful to hear that you had such a positive experience. Please be sure to return next year when our new spa and salon will be renovated.

Safe travels,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    128
    42
    15
    8
See reviews for
191
264
36
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This place is over the top. You cannot have a better experience in Philadelphia. The hotel itself is gorgeous. The location is the best in the city. Absolutely beautiful and a memorable stay. The best feature of this hotel is the staff! Everyone was wonderful. From the door staff to the bell staff to the bar staff...they are true ambassadors of the City of Brotherly Love.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking Rittenhouse Square.
See more room tips
Green Features: We used the frog! If you don't know what we mean, you haven't stayed there.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear C G,

We truly appreciate your kind words regarding your visit to The Rittenhouse. Please consider us your Philadelphia address and do not hesitate to let us know how we may better serve you in the future.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

What a nice hotel...the location was great, the staff super nice and overall a winning experience...we had a 1br suite which was lovely but if I have to be honest, the two negatives would be the outdated bathroom and its tiny, tiny shower. also, the loud sound of the a/c...if the shower was any smaller...well lets just say don't drop the soap, because there is not enough room to bend down and pick it up. Air sounds like a mini twister every time it turns on..that was a bummer, especially for a light sleeper..that's the age of the hotel showing its wrinkles....doorman, who dresses more like a janitor, was very helpful. Just don't judge a book by its cover.....would I return, maybe....

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank slipmahonee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear slipmahonee,

Firstly, we truly do hope you return because all of your observations are excellent and are being addressed. We believe as you do that our location is rivaled only by our service and attention to detail. Therefore you should note that all guest rooms and hallways are undergoing a refurbishment that will be completed this fall. You will certainly find the bathrooms and air conditioning systems much more to your liking on your next visit.

New uniforms are in the works as well. As I said, your points are very well taken. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I may assist with future bookings or anything at all.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked our stay through LHW and hotel staff contacted me almost immediately confirming my preferences, name of the child, etc. We arrived from Washington, DC and were greeted by a friendly bell guy who not only opened a taxis doors, introduced himself and was smiling, but also took our luggage immediately and settled everything with a taxi driver. Finally some sort of the traditional hospitality which we completely missed in any other hotel during our whole trip. I am afraid all other "named themselves" luxury hotels are either hiring their staff coming from countries where have very limited knowledge of hospitality and were being rude is part of the local culture (this is my own opinion on why we had so many issues, problems and misunderstandings in other so called luxury hotels). This hotel does not pretend to be Four Seasons nor it markets itself as some luxury brand. People simply know what are they doing. This is a success of any business and I sincere hope this hotel will benefit from it.

We were not upgraded but girl at the reception did look into it and tried. Hotel was full but it is sometimes enough to see that someone actually cares.

Bell staff was very professional (as it should be). The guy guided us to the elevator, explained where is what in the hotel, gave a short description of hotel's area, gave a full detailed description of everything in our room.

Room was big enough, we got a sofa prepared for a kid immediately, milk and cookies were delivered by a smiley girl.

It was a great arrival experience.

In room dining was great, food was delicious, prompt delivery with attention to details.

Great swimming pool which we used several times due to a very hot weather.

Housekeeping was excellent, no hair was found anywhere :)

The only negative moment was a fact that our room was next to some air-condition room or some technical room and it was extremely noisy at nights.

The whole stay was just perfect. I regret that I changed my initial booking as I wanted to stay longer in NYC where we moved from Philadelphia (more about our terrible experience in NYC in my review of the Langham Place). The city is amazing, one of my favorite in the US. But it would not be so if we did not have such a great stay at Rittenhouse.

We will be back for sure and I would strongly recommend this hotel to all my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Euroedmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Euroedmous,

Every so often a reviewer speaks so eloquently about The Rittenhouse that I truly do not have anything to add. This is one of those times.

Thank you for your thoughtful comments. I look can not wait to share your review with our entire team, who I am sure will be greatly encouraged by your remarks.

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Everything is walkable from the Rittenhouse. Service is great, and the room was beautifully appointed, and large!

I did get a massage in the spa. Although the service itself was great, the spa could stand some work. Maybe because the locker room is shared with the gym, everything was pretty worn. Would probably not do the spa thing again.

Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Galilayo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Please do try our spa again next year after we complete our total renovation of the spa, salon, pool and locker rooms. I am sure that you will find your experience much more in keeping with what you experienced elsewhere in the hotel.

Thank you for taking the time t tell others about The Rittenhouse. We hope to see you again soon.


Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I had another great stay at the Rittenhouse. We have stayed here before (our children have too, although not this time) and never been disappointed. The location is superb. Each and every staff member was professional, but also very friendly, efficient and helpful from the time we arrived to the time we left. Our room was immaculately clean, spacious, and quiet...overlooking the square. After oysters at the Oyster house, we had a really delicious meal at Estia ( Sean, the concierge recommended it and we thank him profusely!). This is a very warm and welcoming hotel, and of course we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelondon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear lovelondon4,

We truly appreciate your taking the time to tell others of your Rittenhouse experience. It is really gratifying to hear how much you enjoyed your visit. I will be sure to relay your comments to Sean our Concierge and the rest of our team, who I am sure will be encouraged by your remarks.

Please join us again soon!

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have been a frequent visitor to the Four Seasons in Philadelphia for many years. But, it's tired decor got me thinking about trying something new. My family checked into a small suite at the Rittenhouse on a recent Saturday and while the room size was terrific, the decor was not exactly what one would have expected or hoped for. The bathroom, marble and tile, was in a scheme of browns which was not terribly chic nor contemporary. The bedroom was not stylish or updated either. But, we had a comfortable stay and a good rest and the location was fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 226elizabethh226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Elizabeth,

Thank you for trying The Rittenhouse after staying elsewhere on previous visits. Our service and location are certainly our main points of difference and we are currently refreshing all guest rooms with a much more contemporary look and feel. Please note that this work will be complete by year end.

It is our sincere hope that you will continue to make us your Philadelphia home. You can expect continuous improvement from us now and well into the future.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,153 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rittenhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rittenhouse Hotel

Property: The Rittenhouse Hotel
Address: 210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#1 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rittenhouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forbes Four Star Award winning Rittenhouse Hotel is rated one of the top hotels in the world as well as #1 hotel in Pennsylvania by Travel + Leisure. The Rittenhouse has an ideal location directly on Rittenhouse Square for business or pleasure. Guests may walk out with easy access to boutique shopping, restaurants and the Center City business district is just steps away. The guestrooms at the Rittenhouse are the largest in the city, the smallest measuring 450-600 square feet, with views of Rittenhouse Square or University City. Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, overnight shoe shine and newspaper delivery to their room. Lacroix at the Rittenhouse is one of the top restaurants in Philadelphia with panoramic views of Rittenhouse Square. Immerse yourself in an oasis of relaxation in Center City with a menu of massage and salon services, spa packages and fitness center at the Rittenhouse Spa, Salon & Health Club with hair by Paul Labrecque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Rittenhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing