We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rittenhouse Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$133
$125
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$152
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$219
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$132
$128
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$125
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$178
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$162
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of $260/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (863)
Filter reviews
863 results
Traveler rating
651
144
46
15
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
651
144
46
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslibrary barla croixlacroix restaurantleading hotels of the worldturn down servicechocolate covered strawberriesfour seasonspark viewcookies and milkluxury hotelroom servicethe ritzupgraded to a suitesitting arearooms are largean upgradethe entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
510 - 515 of 863 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Can't wait til all the renovations are competed. The hotel looks great and the quality of materials being used will only amplify the beauty of the hotel. As usual, service and food was excellent. Had a discussion with the Chef about sustainability and was pleasantly surprise to hear about the care taken to where food (especially meat and fish) products are purchased.

Room Tip: Within walking distance to lots of activities in Philadelphia.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1pointofview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

We are certainly excited about our recent upgrades as well. As we enter the summer months you will note a beautified reception and lobby area as well as refinements in the guest hallways and rooms.

In the kitchen and elsewhere we are committed to sustainability through our Earthview program. Thank you for inquiring and recognizing our efforts on all levels.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I spent a night at the Rittenhouse after viewing the Barnes Collection. It was an excellent pairing. After a pleasant train ride from New York, we checked in to the Rittenhouse, went off to the Barnes Collection only several minutes cab ride away and then returned for dinner at the hotel's Lacroix restaurant and a night at the hotel, returning to New York the next morning. The Barnes Collection is an unbelievable and unique experience: the most amazing collection of art imaginable and beautifully displayed. It alone is worth the trip.

The Rittenhouse is a modern hotel with old-world intimacy and charm. The staff quickly learn the guests' names and use them. The concierge was very helpful and the other staff were very eager to please as well -- from the doormen to the bellmen to the chambermaid.

We had a delicious dinner at the hotel's Lacroix restaurant. If we had stayed another night, we would probably have eaten at the Smith & Wolensky restaurant that is also in the hotel.

We were upgraded to a large and well-furnished suite with all the expected amenities, including 3 televisions, a hi-fi to connect an iPhone or iPod, a lovely and comfortable bed with excellent linens and a duvet. The bathroom provided a large tub and a separate shower, with a dressing room en suite. Providing an iron and ironing board is a welcome extra for travelers who like to dress well after unpacking their suitcases.

Our package (from American Express Platinum) included both continental breakfast and a $100 credit for either Lacroix restaurant or the 210 Bar, which was a real bargain.

There is a first class gym and spa and a very nice indoor pool on site.

The locale -- Rittenhouse Square -- offers a nice park and a nice view.

We will surely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacques1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Jacques,

Thank you very much for your take on your recent visit to The Rittenhouse. We continue to partner with the Barnes Foundation to provide access to this wonderful addition to the city of Philadelphia. The hotel itself boasts a perfect location which we try to compliment with personal service.

Please come visit us again soon. We appreciate your return business greatly.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My only criticism is that they should have informed my company's travel booking department of the renovation work going on in the common areas of the hotel. A minor inconvenience, however worth mentioning when room rates are $300 plus per night. Otherwise, they have gotten everything else right. Exemplary customer service. The concierge provided me with a tie for my meeting last minute, as I had forgotten to pack one. I gave him a small tip as I was in a rush and did not have change. As I returned the tie the next morning and attempted to give him a proper tip, he literally refused to accept it, saying it was no big deal. That is real impressive stuff, and I will absolutely be returning to stay here again for both business and pleasure. Breakfast at Lacroix is pricey, but well worth the views of Rittenhouse Square. Plenty of restaurants and night life on the Square. Room was huge, clean and very nicely appointed. Bathroom had a small tv and phone, nice touch. Great spot.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank Bodhi360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Knowing our Concierge, there are few lengths we would not go to look after you. Thank you for sharing your experience and for choosing to stay with us.

Our lobby renovations are nearly complete and we will continue with refreshes of guest hallways and rooms this summer. We expect this work to be much less obtrusive. Please join us again soon for a spot of tea or cool beverage in our Library Bar or Cassatt Tea Room.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is currently renovating but you would not really know. They want to make the guest experience number one. I stay here a lot and it is the nicest hotel I have found in Philly. You won't be disappointed staying at this amazing hotel

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cystokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Coming from a top contributor and well travelled person such as you, this review is especially meaningful. thank you very much for recognizing our efforts. I am happy to report that our newly renovated lobby will be complete next week and we have several other improvements planned over the coming months. We will take care to ensure that service and ambiance does not suffer in the mean time.

Safe travels to you! We hope to see you again very soon...

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My daughter, granddaughter and I visited Philadelphia overnight and had a lovely time at this fine hotel. Not only was the staff courteous and helpful, they went out of their way to accommodate our 7 year old. When the beds were turned down, they had a small robe and slippers on her bed. We even received delicious popcorn to accompany a free movie. We were driven to dinner in their hotel Jaguar and enjoyed every minute of their wonderful services.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 46450Patience22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

We truly appreciate your thoughtful feedback on your stay at The Rittenhouse. Our youngest guests are very important to us and we try to make them feel special at every turn. It sounds as if your granddaughter is a new fan!

Thank you for bringing your family to visit. We look forward to seeing you very soon.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews