We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Live like a King” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rittenhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rittenhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
153 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Live like a King”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Wow what a place. We have stayed in plenty of nice places,but this could be the best Philly has to offer. Top shelf rooms. Class and style all the way. Enjoyed this place tremendously. The decor is very high end and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was large and very well appointed. We will return here for sure. Place is close to everything and houses Smith&Wollensky and LaCroix

Room Tip: Get the 600 sq foot upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soprano1NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
It was a pleasure having you with us! We will continue to add to our amenities in the coming year and hope you are able to come back soon. Please continue to make us your hotel of choice and thank you for choosing to stay at The Rittenhouse...

-Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    118
    40
    14
    8
See reviews for
176
231
35
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I had been staying in a different hotel for my occasional trips to Philadelphia and this time decided to try The Rittenhouse because of its central location. I could not have had a more pleasant experience! From the moment of the check in ( done with speed and efficiency and a glass of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries and cookies) to the very spacious room with a gorgeous view of Rittenhouse Square to the health club, spa and gym everything was great. We were even treated to a free trip in their brand new Jaguar to our restaurant on Saturday night.
The Rittenhouse is definitely our new hotel destination when traveling to Philadelphia!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for highlighting our location and house car in your review. We are happy to have you as our guest. Please let us know if there is anything you would like to see in terms of improvements or enhancements for future stays. We want to earn your top marks on every trip.

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed one night at the Rittenhouse hotel during an overseas business trip. The air heating system was incredibly noisy (unfortunately as often at US hotels) but this time probably to the limit. I had to sleep with ear plugs. Besides, the room furnitures and decoration are old-fashioned, bathroom from an other century.
Staff is nice and effective though, breakfast was decent as well. Good gym, though freezing cold.
When will american hotels get inspirationfrom best in class hotels in the world, like one can find in Europe or in Asia? It should be possible; see Four Seasons...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Volosimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I am truly sorry to hear that your recent visit was affected by a malfunctioning heating system. Each guest room has its own heating/air conditioning unit which on rare occasion may fail. Thank you for bringing this to our attention so that we may immediately replace the offending unit.

As noted in other posts, all of our guest rooms, bathrooms and hallways will be refreshed this year. We hope you have an opportunity to join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

After searching review after review after review, I decided to take The Rittenhouse up on their "Family Friendly" atmosphere and bring my 3 younger kids up to Philadelphia for a weekend getaway. To help out where some information may be lacking, this review will focus mainly on how my kids (3, 6, 10) viewed the hotel.

Our arrival was nothing short of magical for them! After pulling up, the smartly dressed staff went to work immediately opening car doors, unloading the luggage, greeting the kids on their level, and helping my 2 small girls out of the car and onto the sidewalk...a true "White Glove" treatment for 2 little girls who L-O-V-E to be treated like princesses (yes, we spoil them...hence, The Rittenhouse! haha). My 10-year old son...well, although his face was typical of a pre-teen boy, he was thankful of the help from the gentlemen with his luggage.

Check-In was another pleasureable experience, while I was handling the paperwork, my son immediately helped himself to the chocolate covered strawberries and cookies on the desk, after the offer from the Staff! My girls were delighted when the Concierge ushered them over to the Treasure Box in the lobby, where they were each able to select a toy (from what I saw, they were not the .25c, Dollar Store "bulk toys" either - most were brand name and were all brand new). It actually took the kids longer to select their gift than it did for me to sign into the room! The Front Desk Staff were helpful and very pleasurable after a long drive.

We arrived in our room, a 9th Floor corner room, overlooking Rittenhouse Square. The floor was quiet, and the room was HUGE! I base that comparison after staying at the Ritz, and the Four Seasons in Philadelphia as well. The 3 kids were ecstatic to see that we had 4 large windows that they could view the city out of. The bathroom was massive when compared to othe area hotels, and was CLEAN and wll stocked with plenty of towels and amenities (including a TV!). Evening turndown service arrived, and left 4 bottles of water, some chocolates, as well as 3 child-size bathrobes and slippers for the kids. They loved being able to put these on, and cuddle together in front of the large TV in the room, while awaiting Room Service. I loved the fact that The Rittenhouse offered several "Kids Menu" choices on their Room Service menu. room service was quick, the food was excellent, and the price (for room service at a 5-Star Hotel was comparable to other places). They do include the gratuity, which is nice as it keeps you from having to fumble for tips while your hungry kids are dying to dig in! We had both dinner, and dessert the next night, from Room Service - with neither night disappointing the kids.

A crib was delivered for my youngest, which was large and sturdy (not the typical pack & play). Child bath amenities were also delivered with the crib, which is a nice touch. The pullout sofa-bed was clean, and they delivered clean sheets (and even offered to come in and make the bed for us).

After a restful night, in an extremely quiet room (low vehicle noise from outside, NONE from the hotel), we ventured down to the famed breakfast at LaCroix. We were sat at a window table, and yet again the Wait Staff didn't fail to give their very best. Our glasses were never empty of water or orange juice. I opted for the buffet, which was adequate. The food was hot, plenty of selection - and the waiter had no issues with me continually going for the SUPERB fruit and giving it to my kids. All 3 ordered off of the Children's Breakfast Menu (at only $8 each), and while my son was satisified - my 2 girls did not care for the French Toast or the Silver Dollar Pancakes. While the portions were large, considering it was a kid's meal, the pancakes were a bit overcooked (black on the bottom), and the french toast was rather dry. The waiter did apologize, and offered to bring them something else, but they had already had their fill from "my" buffet, and we were on a schedule to see the city.

The Rittenhouse is in a much better part of town, I feel, than being near City Center. Rittenhouse Square gave the kids some open space to run off a bit of their breakfast before walking the 10 minutes down to Logan Square where the Natural History Museum and Franklin Institute are. With the Concierge helping other guests, I asked the Doormen the best way - their directions were spot-on! Straight shot, with no "questionable" areas along the way.

For someone who travels "for" their children all of the time, the little touches presented by The Rittenhouse showed that they truly cater to ALL guests - not only the adults. My children loved it, and it is clear to see why the hotel is rated #1 in Philadelphia by a number of reputable sources.

For what it's worth, hopefully this review assisted those travelling with smaller children - the place is truly immaculate and the staff is just superb when it comes to dealing with the kids, and the parents as well!

Room Tip: Any room ending in "08"; I prefer higher floors to avoid the stomping you may hear from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Children are an important part of our business...they are our future guests after all! Many families travel with their kids and we think it is imperative that they are recognized and made to feel special. Thank you for taking the time to let others know about your experience at the Rittenhouse. We hope that you and your family join us for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had to say this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Was there on business and saw this hotel. Rooms were excellent the service was great. Got room service and food was good and everyone was nice. This is a hotel you should stay at when in Philadelphia!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEKDES-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We truly appreciate your vote on confidence in us. We continually strive to the the preferred place to stay in Philadelphia and thank you for recognizing us as such. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Rittenhouse whenever you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We expect The Rittenhouse to be a great hotel and in many ways, it is. I have stayed there once a year for about the last 3 years and would like to share what I feel may be some areas in which things could be improved.

So here are my usual pros and cons:

Pros
- The rooms are vast, spotless and tastefully decorated
- The service is almost perfect (see my few exceptions below)
- The food is great
- Perfect location

Cons
- The greeting I received from reception was less than satisfactory: my husband's name and not mine was listed on the reservation. I was told to have my husband call reception to confirm this, which is fair enough, but the manner in which I was treated left me feeling more like a suspect than a customer.
- I did not find the hotel business-friendly: a glass desk top upon which no mouse will work, computer leads that could link a laptop to the TV but nowhere near the desk (both are common complaints of mine)
- The very worse thing: The wifi was awful. Painfully slow on both computers, zero reception in the restaurant and poor service elsewhere. I had an important conference call and had to go in search of a cafe outside. The staff were pretty unhelpful in explaining why or helping to find a solution. Really, can any hotel afford to have shoddy wifi these days?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for joining us, your feedback is greatly appreciated. We have a new internet provider and will investigate the root cause of the Wi-Fi issue immediately. This amenity is crucial and we are committed to having high quality spped and performance at all times. On the service side, please forgive our officiousness at arrival. Certainly we can and will soften our approach going forward.

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great neck,ny
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed for three excellent nights at the Rittenhouse. Everything was great..service, room, location, and the best brunch we have ever had. We were greeted with champagne, chocolate-covered strawberries, and cookies. We even received a bottle of champagne because it was my birthday.Do splurge on the Sunday brunch. It is $69 a person; but ended up costing $237.00 with tax, tip, and a drink each. It was worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funalways75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
So happy to hear that your brunch and overall experience was so positive. We truly try to make every visit to the Rittenhouse as memorable as possible. Thank you for taking the time to recommend us to others.

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#5 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 3,553 reviews
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#9 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rittenhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rittenhouse Hotel

Property: The Rittenhouse Hotel
Address: 210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#1 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rittenhouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forbes Four Star and AAA Five Diamond award winning Rittenhouse Hotel (26 years consecutively) is rated one of the top hotels in the world as well as #1 hotel in Pennsylvania by Travel + Leisure. The Rittenhouse has an ideal location directly on Rittenhouse Square for business or pleasure. Guests may walk out with easy access to boutique shopping, restaurants and the Center City business district is just steps away. The guestrooms at the Rittenhouse are the largest in the city, the smallest measuring 450-600 square feet, with views of Rittenhouse Square or University City. Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, overnight shoe shine and newspaper delivery to their room. Lacroix at the Rittenhouse is one of the top restaurants in Philadelphia with panoramic views of Rittenhouse Square. Immerse yourself in an oasis of relaxation in Center City with a menu of massage and salon services, spa packages and fitness center at the Rittenhouse Spa, Salon & Health Club with hair by Paul Labrecque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Rittenhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing