We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rittenhouse Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$180
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$133
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$150
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$178
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$154
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
$147
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$169
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (863)
Filter reviews
863 results
Traveler rating
651
144
46
15
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
651
144
46
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslibrary barla croixlacroix restaurantleading hotels of the worldturn down servicechocolate covered strawberriesfour seasonspark viewcookies and milkluxury hotelroom servicethe ritzupgraded to a suitesitting arearooms are largean upgradethe entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
552 - 557 of 863 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Rittenhouse Hotel is the perfect location for a Philadelphia visit. Our room overlooks the Rittenhouse Square and with the fall foliage it is a spectacular view. Room is spacious with plush towels and linens. Walking distance to the historic area (we walked to the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall today). Surrounded by dozens of wonderful restaurants. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I'm sure all views are good....but we love looking over the square.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotsoftravel904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Lotsoftravel904,

We are certainly proud of our location on the west side of Rittenhouse Square in Philadelphia. No matter if you have a park or city view, all 111 of our guest rooms are within a stone's throw to all that Center City has to offer. We hope to see you again soon when your travel plans allow.

Thank you for posting your review based on your visit.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel truly belongs in the Leading Hotels of the World family. From the moment you enter you are treated as a welcome guest. Room was very large with excellent amenities. Housekeeping was extremely detailed. The location is excellent, within walking distance of the train station if desired. LaCroix restaurant is superb as is the service. I have always had simply an outstanding experience every time here. The bath has both a large walk in marble shower as well as a large separate tub. Beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FScfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear FScfs,

We are proud to be one of the Leading Hotels of the World and very pleased to see how much you enjoyed our location, amenities and most of all service... I look forward to sharing your review with our entire team. Thank you for taking the time to recognize our efforts and please come back again soon.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Exceptional service and comfort. No doubt pricey, you do get what you pay for. Location is perfect, walking distance to walnut street which has heaps of eatery and shopping. A short drive to Independence Hall and South Street, about 15 minutes away. Rittenhouse Square is literally at your doorstep, beautiful park to sit and observe your surrounding. We had dinner at PARC which is across the road, exceptional french cuisine that doesn't break the pocket.

Lacroix Brunch - We were a tad disappointed by the variety of food but it was of good quality. The most memorable part for us was being in the kitchen (i.e. part of the buffet is in the kitchen) and meeting the chefs.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here even though it was just a 1 night weekend getaway. Be sure to check out the free early evening cocktail and cookies provided near the reception desk!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Essie3,

It was our pleasure to have you with us. Thank you for pointing out some of the unique and inviting features of our property. Point well taken about our Sunday Brunch... We regularly change and add to our selections and I will be sure to pass on your comments to our Executive Chef who will certainly look to local purveyors for fresh fall flavors.

Please be sure to come back whenever it is convenient. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just got back from a three day stay at The Rittenhouse. We have stayed in a variety of luxury hotels over the years, but there is an attention to detail and a warmth of service that truly sets this hotel above the rest. The rooms are gorgeous; the location on Rittenhouse Square is fantastic; the lobby area is beautiful and serene. We have stayed in two other hotels in Philadelphia but I can't imagine not coming back to the Rittenhouse on our next visit to Pholadelphia.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank State of Mainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear State of Mainer,

Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled you have made us your Philadelphia address due in no small part to the dedication of our team. Location and amenities are certainly important, but warmth in service is the truly our hallmark.

We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I as well as our two boys (ages 9 & 11) stayed at the Rittenhouse Hotel for 4 nights at the end of August. We selected this hotel based on its stellar reviews and awards that had been given to this property, as well as the location. The staff, rooms, location and service exceeded our expectations. Upon check-in the children selected a prize from their treasure chest which immediately made them feel welcome. We were then given cookies, strawberries and champagne. Turndown service in the evening with kid size slippers was an incredible touch- our children felt like royalty. The rooms were beautifully furnished and spacious. We ate at Lacroix for breakfast twice and it was wonderful. Being across from a beautiful park as well as numerous shops and restaurants was an added bonus. On the second night of our trip we had an issue with the valet, and the staff was more than gracious in trying to improve the quality of our stay after the unfortunate event we had to deal with. We were given a room upgrade to a spectacular suite as well as continued impeccable service. We had come to Philadelphia to sight see but this suite was so beautiful that we didn't want to leave! The views were gorgeous as well as the furnishings and comfort of this spacious suite. A special thank you to the entire staff- including Rosella, Andrew and Shamus for your kindness. It was very hard to leave the Rittenhouse Hotel and we hope to visit again soon. We could not imagine staying anywhere else!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are so lovely!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chele834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Chele,

It is wonderful to hear that you and your family had such a pleasant visit. We try to be as child friendly as possible...many of our biggest fans are our youngest guests because of our amenities and service geared towards them. I am happy that your valet issue was resolved and that Rosella, Andrew and Shamus made such a favorable impression. I look forward to sharing your comments with them.

Many thanks for sharing your experience with others.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews