We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class hotel and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rittenhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel truly belongs in the Leading Hotels of the World family. From the moment you enter you are treated as a welcome guest. Room was very large with excellent amenities. Housekeeping was extremely detailed. The location is excellent, within walking distance of the train station if desired. LaCroix restaurant is superb as is the service. I have always had simply an outstanding experience every time here. The bath has both a large walk in marble shower as well as a large separate tub. Beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FScfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear FScfs,

We are proud to be one of the Leading Hotels of the World and very pleased to see how much you enjoyed our location, amenities and most of all service... I look forward to sharing your review with our entire team. Thank you for taking the time to recognize our efforts and please come back again soon.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
There are newer reviews for The Rittenhouse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

504 - 510 of 808 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Exceptional service and comfort. No doubt pricey, you do get what you pay for. Location is perfect, walking distance to walnut street which has heaps of eatery and shopping. A short drive to Independence Hall and South Street, about 15 minutes away. Rittenhouse Square is literally at your doorstep, beautiful park to sit and observe your surrounding. We had dinner at PARC which is across the road, exceptional french cuisine that doesn't break the pocket.

Lacroix Brunch - We were a tad disappointed by the variety of food but it was of good quality. The most memorable part for us was being in the kitchen (i.e. part of the buffet is in the kitchen) and meeting the chefs.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here even though it was just a 1 night weekend getaway. Be sure to check out the free early evening cocktail and cookies provided near the reception desk!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Essie3,

It was our pleasure to have you with us. Thank you for pointing out some of the unique and inviting features of our property. Point well taken about our Sunday Brunch... We regularly change and add to our selections and I will be sure to pass on your comments to our Executive Chef who will certainly look to local purveyors for fresh fall flavors.

Please be sure to come back whenever it is convenient. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just got back from a three day stay at The Rittenhouse. We have stayed in a variety of luxury hotels over the years, but there is an attention to detail and a warmth of service that truly sets this hotel above the rest. The rooms are gorgeous; the location on Rittenhouse Square is fantastic; the lobby area is beautiful and serene. We have stayed in two other hotels in Philadelphia but I can't imagine not coming back to the Rittenhouse on our next visit to Pholadelphia.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank State of Mainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear State of Mainer,

Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled you have made us your Philadelphia address due in no small part to the dedication of our team. Location and amenities are certainly important, but warmth in service is the truly our hallmark.

We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I as well as our two boys (ages 9 & 11) stayed at the Rittenhouse Hotel for 4 nights at the end of August. We selected this hotel based on its stellar reviews and awards that had been given to this property, as well as the location. The staff, rooms, location and service exceeded our expectations. Upon check-in the children selected a prize from their treasure chest which immediately made them feel welcome. We were then given cookies, strawberries and champagne. Turndown service in the evening with kid size slippers was an incredible touch- our children felt like royalty. The rooms were beautifully furnished and spacious. We ate at Lacroix for breakfast twice and it was wonderful. Being across from a beautiful park as well as numerous shops and restaurants was an added bonus. On the second night of our trip we had an issue with the valet, and the staff was more than gracious in trying to improve the quality of our stay after the unfortunate event we had to deal with. We were given a room upgrade to a spectacular suite as well as continued impeccable service. We had come to Philadelphia to sight see but this suite was so beautiful that we didn't want to leave! The views were gorgeous as well as the furnishings and comfort of this spacious suite. A special thank you to the entire staff- including Rosella, Andrew and Shamus for your kindness. It was very hard to leave the Rittenhouse Hotel and we hope to visit again soon. We could not imagine staying anywhere else!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are so lovely!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chele834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Chele,

It is wonderful to hear that you and your family had such a pleasant visit. We try to be as child friendly as possible...many of our biggest fans are our youngest guests because of our amenities and service geared towards them. I am happy that your valet issue was resolved and that Rosella, Andrew and Shamus made such a favorable impression. I look forward to sharing your comments with them.

Many thanks for sharing your experience with others.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We went to Philly for a long weekend and stayed at the Rittenhouse....It was A+ from beginning to end....I highly recommend it. The accommodations, staff and location were perfect for a visit to Philadelphia!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda1327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Linda,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Rittenhouse and posting your review. We hope to have you with us whenever you visit Philadelphia. In the meantime we wish you safe travels.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Rittenhouse Hotel after a stay at Rehoboth Beach where we went to visit family. The Rittenhouse was lovely. The standard room was large with a good view. The bathroom was large with great shower. The bed wonderfully comfortable with fine linens. The concierge was so warm and helpful. We wished to stay in Philly to visit the Barnes Foundation Museum which alone was worth our flight from Colorado and to dine at Vetri which was fabulous! We loved the center location of the Rittenhouse - good shopping and restaurants (don't miss Vernick) a great little Farmer's Market set up Saturday morning, walking distance to the Barnes, and a quick cab ride to the airport. I think we will make this a tradition after coming back to visit our families.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J&KBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear J&KBoulder,

Thank you so much. It was our pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to seeing you whenever you are in Philadelphia. Central location, room size, proximity to the airport and genuine service set us apart from other area hotels. Your comments are greatly appreciated by our entire team.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I so wanted to be able to say wonderful things about our stay in this supposedly top hotel in my hometown, for which we uncharacteristically paid **rack rate.** There were some pros: the location can't be beat. The standard room was huge and, save for some scuffs on the walls, clean. The bathtub was deep and the shower was great. We were provided with a NY Times each morning, including Sunday. Bathrobes clean and comfy. Air-conditioning control accurate. Some really nice staff members. But mostly, things were just "off": email exchange ahead of time assured a feather-free room (allergies) yet down pillows were on the bed when we arrived; no Do Not Disturb tag, two requests to get one; some of the "luxury" towels stiff and frayed; morning room cleanup did not include water bottles in a city with notoriously awful tap water; evening turndown the last night (only time we opted for service) provided 1 water bottle and a floor mat next to my husband's side of the bed, with slippers marked "gent" on the bag, nothing on my side (weird). No yoga mats to borrow, even in fitness center (where the front desk attendant told me to go and check, rather than picking up the phone and checking for me). I could go on, but you get the picture. When visiting family in Philly, we normally stay at a Residence Inn, where a little bit of roughness around the edges is to be expected. At an expensive Center City hotel that boasts about its many awards, it is not. The hotel was recently sold. The new ownership certainly has its work cut out for it. In the meantime, if you decide to stay there, know what you're getting into.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank JesterT10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear JesterT10,

Your observations are spot on in that while we are very good, we can and should do better. All terry is currently being replaced and there will be a series of refurbishments throughout the hotel in the coming year, including the entire fitness operation from top to bottom. Simple requests such as foam pillows and DND signs must be quickly and seamlessly fulfilled.

I hope you join us again soon. Rest assured, there will be continuous and sustained improvements to the property and our attention to detail.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 87 in Philadelphia
5,281 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 87 in Philadelphia
3,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
#23 of 87 in Philadelphia
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rittenhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rittenhouse Hotel

Address: 210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $379 - $856 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rittenhouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forbes Four Star Award winning Rittenhouse Hotel is rated one of the top hotels in the world as well as #1 hotel in Pennsylvania by Travel + Leisure. The Rittenhouse has an ideal location directly on Rittenhouse Square for business or pleasure. Guests may walk out with easy access to boutique shopping, restaurants and the Center City business district is just steps away. The guestrooms at the Rittenhouse are the largest in the city, the smallest measuring 450-600 square feet, with views of Rittenhouse Square or University City. Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, overnight shoe shine and newspaper delivery to their room. Lacroix at the Rittenhouse is one of the top restaurants in Philadelphia with panoramic views of Rittenhouse Square. Immerse yourself in an oasis of relaxation in Center City with a menu of massage and salon services, spa packages and fitness center at the Rittenhouse Spa, Salon & Health Club with hair by Paul Labrecque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rittenhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing