We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Philadelphia Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Philadelphia Airport to your Saves list
Renaissance Philadelphia Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Stevens Drive, Philadelphia, PA 19113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Ranked #59 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Gloversville, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We were in town for a Philly game and stayed at this hotel. The hotel was clean and quiet. Could use a decor update, but it served its purpose at a reasonable price. Free breakfast was pretty basic, but tasted fine. Staff was pleasant.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I really appreciate the detail this property pays to making every stay special. By far this is the best hotel from a food and service perspective I have ever stayed at and you can check my profile for days and properties stayed. This Renaissance rivals the Ritz and JW but sometimes you can’t always have their facilities and their team and staff make up for that in a big way. That is where properties like this excel by making a difference. I appreciate the attention to detail and the staff. It is not the Ritz but they do an amazing job with what they have.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquaholick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had a flight get cancelled due to snow, so we were stranded with two kids. The Renaissance had rooms, and did not overcharge. Quick snack at Dorseys and we were off to bed. At 5AM they took us to the Airport. Big line up checking in, but the handled it fast and with a smile. Nice looking lobby, was only there a few hours so did not get to see the rest of the hotel

Room Tip: Very close to the airport, great choice if your flight is cancelled
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
208 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The artsy lobby is ok, if that's what you want in a hotel. Other than that, there is nothing to distinguish this hotel. The bed is quite good, as one expects from Marriott properties. The internet is pricey and sketchy. Why, when one pays over $250 for a single night, does the hotel really need to extort another twelve bucks for a couple hours of wifi? Skip the shuttle and take a cab and you'll get to the airport more quickly. I usually stay downtown, but a single convention can capture very downtown hotel room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
integrity_9, General Manager at Renaissance Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

First let me say how disappointed we are that we could not give you a better stay. The staff puts a great deal of effort to distinguish the property, but failed to do so.

Regarding the internet we will be upgraded with a new WiFi in the next two weeks. The new system will give each guest a greater band width to be able to download at a faster speed.

I do apologize for the shuttle service. We do have three vans operating at all times. I am not sure what happened at the moment you needed to go to the airport but would be happy to investigate if you wish to reach out to me.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

There aren't too many hotels in downtown Philadelphia compared to other major cities. One large convention can fill them all off, sending many business travelers out to the airport. In this case, it was either the Renaissance or settle for South Jersey.

It's easy to see why this property is the last to fill up. It's old, it's in a bad location and the amenities simply fail to live up to the Renaissance brand standards.

I like the new lobby. It was recently remodeled, and it's a big improvement. The entire ground floor has been spruced up and looks much better than before.

But basic things are still subpar. The Internet situation, in particular, is a disaster. It hardly worked anywhere in the hotel, which is unacceptable when you're traveling for work. The parking lot, while free, is crowded and difficult to navigate. Even the airport shuttle is unreliable -- I've never been to an airport hotel that refused to transport guests because the shuttle is "too full." This just tells me you need more shuttles. You're an airport hotel -- a vast, vast majority of your guests are going to the airport.

I'm not saying I won't stay here again. Chances are, as a Marriott loyalist, I will. It's my last resort in Philadelphia, though.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jared D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
integrity_9, General Manager at Renaissance Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is important for us to know what our guests are experiencing so we can better serve them in the future.

Regarding the condition of the hotel, we are continuing with plans on renovating. We have completed all of our public space as well as meeting space and our formulating plans for the upcoming guest floors. Additionally, we are implementing an entirely new WiFi system in the next two weeks that will give our guests increased bandwidth as well as speed. That being said we strive to present a clean, well maintained property for you to enjoy.

While you are loyal to Marriott, do not hesitate to contact us for future arrangements. we hope to be able to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

overall this was a nice hotel, and in all honesty, if I was not comparing it to other Renaissance hotels that I have been to, I would probably give it a higher rating.

What I liked about the hotel:
. Nice room with a large dining table (I assume I was upgraded)
. free internet for Elite members
. Free access to the concierge lounge for elite members
. adequate gym

What I did not like about the hotel
. The concierge lounge is closed on weekends, and they don't offer free breakfast vouchers instead
. The concierge lounge offerings are pretty scarce. Far lower level than other concierge lounges at Renaissances or Marriotts
. The hotel simply is not as high end as other Renaissance hotels that I have stayed at

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
integrity_9, General Manager at Renaissance Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent visit. I must apologize for the mishap with your breakfast vouchers for the weekend. We do offer complimentary continental breakfast in our restaurant for the weekend since the lounge is closed. It appears that you did not receive the coupons on your arrival. I would be happy to correct the matter if you reach out to me.

With regard to not being high end, we are in the middle of our renovations. Our lobby, restaurant, fitness and meeting space have all been given the new Renaissance look. Our next steps are to address the guest floors. While the rooms all have the new bedding package as well as amenities, we anticipate new furniture in our future.

Again, thank you for your insight. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

First of all let me state that I signed up just for this review and I NEVER do reviews. The service was incredible in the bar, the bartender was so friendly and made me feel at home, she took interest in my stay and felt concerned for me as my flight was cancelled, she also guided me to visit some of the local areas as my flight was not till later the next day. The next time that I am in the Philadelphia area I will be staying at the renaissance hotel all because of the service that Brenda provided for me and making feel at home when I was stranded.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philadelphia
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Philadelphia-International Airport
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Suites Philadelphia Airport
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
aloft Philadelphia Airport
aloft Philadelphia Airport
#55 of 83 in Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn  Philadelphia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Philadelphia Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Philadelphia Airport

Address: 500 Stevens Drive, Philadelphia, PA 19113
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Philadelphia Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 351
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Philadelphia Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Philadelphia Airport Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#