We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy New Year” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Ranked #18 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Happy New Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Hyatt Regency at Penns Landing in Philadlphia, PA had several excellent choices for ringing in the New Year! We chose the Family Buffet & Fireworks. Scrumptious buffet with a special dessert section (a whole room filled with sweet treats, actually) and then the 6pm firework show. Perfect for families!! We did not spend the night but had a great celebration with the family and were home to ring in the REAL new year at midnight. We would definitely recommend this one!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank generalnansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
I'm so glad you guys had a great time at the family New Year's event. So glad you and your family enjoyed the fire works. We would love to have you back again. Thanks for choosing Hyatt.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    794
    278
    138
    74
See reviews for
515
610
119
662
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We enjoyed the view the best. We asked for a view of the water and we were very pleased. I loved seeing the city at night and the water during the day. There is a pier just outside the hotel. Be sure to take a walk up and down the pier as it gives you great views of the city also. So take a camera when you go for a walk. We also enjoyed visiting the ship docked just outside the hotel which has been turned into a restaurant. We didn't go there to eat but the kids and I asked if we could explore the ship and they said yes! So we walked all around the ship and took great photos from the deck. Now, keep in mind that we were there between lunch and dinner time so they were not busy at that time and we pretty much got to explore the whole ship, at least the public areas of the ship, and we were not disappointed. Everyone was very nice.

But back to the hotel review.... we have elementary age kids and by staying at this hotel we got to walk to every tourist location we wanted to see (including the Liberty Bell, Ben Franklin's post office and museum, Betsy Ross House, Independence Hall - all of these are within walking distance). It was not to far for my kids and it was great exercise for all of us. We would stay here again if we visited Philly in the future because of the location and the amazing views. It was worth the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view or view of the pier. Ask for a room on a higher floor. If your kids like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selah-in-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
How nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience of going to the ship restaurant docked by us and all the tourist locations you visited near our property. I hope you can stay with us again.

John S-Guest Services Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed at the Hyatt Penn's Landing for four nights and was very impressed by the level of service and friendliness of the staff. The weather was awful, the hotel was full with a convention of younger guests and yet the staff was up to the challenge and helped make my stay extra special.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Every staff member we interacted with was lovely and helpful, literally every one without exception! The pool was terrific and the beds are awesome. We only stayed in the hotel and did not use it as a base to see historic Philly, it was too far to walk with young kids.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PretzelRoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed for the weekend just before Christmas to enjoy some of Philly's holiday offerings.

With our river view corner room, we had amazing views of the river morning and night, and a nice spacious room in which we could really spread out for the weekend. The only surprise is no HDTV - really? Seems this is a "minimum" for a hotel these days, and especially so for one that aims to be a little more high-end.

We ate one dinner and Sunday brunch in the restaurant - good experience both times and the prices were good for Philly.

Overall the staff was very friendly and helpful - from check-in, to coffee bar, to restaurant staff.

Only one issue was when they cleaned our room, they did not leave any fresh towels - Just the SINGLE bath towel that had been unused from the day before. When we left for dinner, we told the front desk, and the woman there assured us it would be taken care of. When we returned several hours later, still no towels.

Important to note that the I-95 separates the hotel from the rest of Philly, so plan to do some walking, or take a cab or bus. There are two easily accessible pedestrian bridges that take you into the Old City area (where many popular sites are), as well as nearby shopping and restaurants, but again you should be prepared for some city walking (though in safe areas).

Room Tip: Ask for a high-floor, corner water-front room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HockeyAndTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

The friendliest and most helpful employees I've ever encountered. Had a wonderful experience. The room was clean. The front desk help was pleasant and helpful. The staff was always eager to help. Hot spot locations were at a close distance. Safety is important to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I worked at a Hyatt in college, so I know the Hyatt standards. This hotel does not live up to them.

My biggest complaint-- the restaurant. The food was overpriced, bad, and the service was terrible. On a Friday morning, I was not permitted to order off of the main menu and instead had to have the buffet - $20 p/p + tax. I’ve had ‘free’ breakfast that had better variety and quality then here where you got powered scrambled eggs, overcooked bacon, one type of bread for toast. The server was nowhere to be found. I had to hunt down some random person even to get my bill, forget clearing my plate or more coffee. For dinner, I thought the prices were high and they offered very little variety. I ended up ordering a quesadilla for $10 and it was two soft tacos folded in half, with unmelted cheese. It took 35 mins to arrive. I travel quite a bit for work, so I know hotel restaurants are expensive, but if I am paying $$$ for things, I want top quality and service. And when I am traveling for work, I don’t have time to eat outside of the hotel b/c I often need to eat something quickly and get to a meeting.

The room- the room was clean with one big exception: long black hair all over the top of the duvet. It was a white duvet so the hair was very apparent. Gross! Also, I was on the 20th floor (out of 23 I think), facing Penn's Landing and could hear the traffic from Columbus Blvd below all night. I cannot imagine how bad the noise must have been at lower levels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelUSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your most recent visit to the Hyatt Regency Penn's Landing. First and foremost, I would like to thank you for your loyalty to the Hyatt brand and my sincerest apologies for the troubles you encountered when dining at our restaurant. I have forwarded you comments to our food and beverage director to follow up with staff on. We never want you to have a bad experience with us and we would love to speak with you in regards to this review. Please feel free to contact us at social.media@hyatt.com if you would like to talk about this matter further.

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing

Property: Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Address: 201 S Columbus Blvd, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3101 (Formerly Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#23 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront property located at the doorstep of Center City, and walkable to Philadelphia's Historic Sites. Take in wonderful city views from a spacious and elegantly furnished guest room. Stay connected with WiFi at the oversized desk, or recline on the plush bed and watch the flat-screen TV. Additional in-room amenities include an iHome alarm clock radio, refrigerator and in-room safe. Choose an inviting suite for more space and amenities, or treat yourself to the ultimate Penn's Landing stay in the luxurious Owner's Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Philadelphia At Penn`s Landing Hotel Philadelphia
Hyatt Regency Penns Landing
Hyatt Regency Philadelphia Hotel
Hyatt Philadelphia
Hyatt Penns Landing Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing