We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“DECEPTIVE BUSINESS PRACTICE” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“DECEPTIVE BUSINESS PRACTICE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I prepaid for my stay with a ruelala voucher. The voucher was not cheap but it promised me a waterfront room with two cocktails per night. There was no dollar limit stated on the voucher for the cocktails. It took several attempts before a reservationist could even find a reference to the ruelala voucher before I could even make the reservation. Once the reservations were finally made, I stayed at the hyatt on two separate weekends. the first weekend i was told that i would have complimentary self-parking. Of course, since self-parking is $30 per nite, it was very much appreciated. Once i checked out on sunday and checked my credit card bill online, not only did the hyatt charge me for self-parking but they also charged me for the complimentary cocktails. I called to try and get this rectified and they said that a credit would be forthcoming. On the second weekend stay, when i checked out, i was told that the voucher had $11 limit per cocktail. I told the front desk that this was not referenced in the voucher itself so how could they impose such a restriction. It is a deceptive business practice to have a prepaid voucher not honored in the manner that was agreed at the time of purchase. The overall stay was ok. the room was very dusty. If you have allergies, you will need your meds. the onsite restaurant has an ok lunch menu. The lunch menu is pricey, the selection mediocre and definitely not worth it. The best deal is to sit by the bar and have appetizers. The staff for the most part is friendly. However, if you are service oriented, you should not stay here. I was treated like i was attempting to get a complimentary stay instead of attempting to get my prepaid voucher honored.

Room Tip: request a waterview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mercy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    722
    248
    129
    71
See reviews for
450
538
102
586
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel through Expedia and got a great deal (less then $200) a night. We stayed for 2 nights. The location is great. Less then 10 minute walk from all the historical attractions but far enough from all the tourists and buses and noise. The concierge, Glen was absolutely wonderful and very knowledgeable. He pointed us in the right direction for great eats like Philly Cheesesteak and breakfast as well as places to see that might not be on tour regular itinerary. The room itself was clean and comfortable. We had a water view, king suite. I would definitely stay again if I could get another deal online. If you're willing to pay over $200 a night, then maybe go for something right in the historic district.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinkerbell17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stopped in Philly for a night on our way up to NYC and booked this hotel through Priceline. The hotel is easy to get to from he interstate and also close to the historic sights we wanted to see. Only complaint is that despite having the rooms available anyway, they made me pay $20 extra for a king bed instead of two queens simply because I had booked on Priceline. Parking has expensive but worth it. Valet was really helpful in the morning providing suggestions for how we spend our day and directions to get there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsKQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

STayed here for a conference. The room was great - large bathroom, view overlooking the river and a park. Within walking distance of historic philly as well as fabulous restaurants. Only negative was the restaurant - very slow with the service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great hotel for historic philadelphia location. Within walking distance to Independence Hall, Liberty Bell, Old city district, and some great palces to eat all within a mile or so. The room was very comfortable, Bedding great, nice view of the river.
Walking accross the street to the historic district is safe, easy and less than 1/2 mile to Independence hall. Overall a great place with excellent service

Room Tip: If you drive here the garage is in and out and lots of parking in Phila. so its nice if you are goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HMCHUGH430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I booked a stay at the Hyatt as a Groupon and decided to take the time the weekend after Valentine's day. We arrived in the early afternoon and checked in. We consulted with the Concierge on picking a place to eat. He was extremely knowledgeable and helpful, and made a reservation for us. He couldn't have been more friendly. When we went to the room, for some reason the flat-screen did not work. I had to unplug and plug back in for it to come on. After an hour or so we took to walking around the city on a unseasonably warm afternoon. We went into old city and hit a bunch of different bars, pubs, etc. We had a great time.

We did stop in the hotel bar afterwards for a night-cap. The crowd and staff were friendly enough as we chatted while finishing our drinks.

All around, a good place to stay (nice pool area as well).

Room Tip: Parking is $30 - valet is $35. If you are looking to go to downtown city hall, consider a cab..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allante1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've stayed at about 15 hotels in Philadelphia, and this is one of my favorites. It's near most spots you'd want to see in Old City. Not in Center City, but for that reason it is quieter at night. Parking is rather expensive, and depending on how much walking you want to do, you may find street parking on the other side of I-95 and walk over. Views are good from most parts of the hotel, and you can walk to quite a few bars and restaurants (Zahav, City Tavern, Han Dynasty, Mac's) around 2nd, 3rd, and Market Street. Staff has always been good. It's got a pool and fitness center, and depending on the time of the year, there may be events in/around Penn's Landing. I believe the shuttle for SugarHouse Casino picks up right in front. All in all, a nice hotel for a low-key weekend.

Room Tip: Higher up usually equals better views, obviously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsdca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 3,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing

Property: Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Address: 201 S Columbus Blvd, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3101 (Formerly Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#23 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront property. Take in wonderful city views from a spacious and elegantly furnished guest room. Stay connected with WiFi at the oversized desk, or recline on the plush bed and watch the flat-screen TV. Additional in-room amenities include an iHome alarm clock radio, refrigerator and in-room safe. Choose an inviting suite for more space and amenities, or treat yourself to the ultimate Penn's Landing stay in the luxurious Owner's Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Philadelphia At Penn`s Landing Hotel Philadelphia
Hyatt Regency Penns Landing
Hyatt Regency Philadelphia Hotel
Hyatt Philadelphia
Hyatt Penns Landing Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing