We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, location and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
Ranked #29 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great value, location and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

The Holiday Inn Express was a very nice hotel, with GREAT rooms, friendly staff and great location. The only reason I did not give 5 stars on cleanliness is because they need to update the hallways, but the rooms were very modern, clean and new. The breakfast which is included each morning is very nice, and more than just juice and pastries. The staff is VERY friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The location of the hotel is in walking distance to just about everything or a short cab ride away. I would recommend this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThehotelguyatCEG, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
As a representative of the hotel I would like to thank you for taking time to write a review about our hotel, we appreciate your comments and your detailed description of our amenities, our location, and our staff. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    464
    144
    43
    17
See reviews for
274
221
67
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

If you're thinking of staying at this hotel- don't. Our family travels quite often and we usually try to stay at a Holiday Inn or Holiday Inn Express. However, this stay at this hotel has changed my mind. From the many broken things in the room ( the lights, the air conditioner, the wet carpet, etc), to the complete LACK OF air conditioning for our entire stay in the dining area, to the pool closing at 9 pm and having a guard there to watch us while we were there but no lifeguard to help us if we needed them, to the internet only working 50% of the the time, to everything being closed off to the guests after breakfast, this place was atrocious!!! Here's the worst part- when we spoke to the GM- she only made excuses, no corrections. I am so dissappointed with this stay. I wouldn't stay here again if YOU PAID ME (which says a lot in these those economic times).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwinsMom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThehotelguyatCEG, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
We appreciate your comments and feedback about our hotel; we apologize that the experience did not meet your expectations.

The Holiday Inn Express Midtown is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you our guests, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

We have also spoken with our internet provided to determine the cause of the loss connectivity. What had been determined is the hardware had failed during the time of your stay. This resulted in the failed internet connection you experienced. Within 24 hours, we replaced the faulty component and corrected the intermittent issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotlanta, ga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

I stayed here for two nights with a friend. When we arrived we were impressed that a holiday inn was in such a trendy "gayborhood" and were excited to be able to literally exit the hotel and have cool bars and restaurants outside our door. The rooms were very nice and a good size, clean and cool. Little things like the bottle opener and clothes line were appreciated. the breakfast was more abundant than most and tasty, they had fruit and yogurt for those wanting healthier fare. There are corner markets and ihop downstairs open most of the night for little snacks. But most of all the staff from the housekeeping, maintenance, desk, and breakfast room were extremely friendly and helpful. I heard other guests thanking the staff for their stays. Philly was a great city and I would definitely stay here again. One thing is I believe they have free computers downstairs, but internet is for an additional fee in the rooms. That would have been nice, but as it was a personal trip not that big a deal. Also, the beds, pillows and towels were awesome.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chiknwaffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThehotelguyatCEG, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
As a representative of the hotel I would like to thank you for taking time to write a review about our hotel, we appreciate your comments and your detailed description of our amenities, our location, and our staff. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
231 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

Centrally located for walking around Center City, shops, entertainment and access to all forms of public transport to other parts of the city and to southern New Jersey.

If you use the train from the airport, the nearest station is Market Street East. The hotel is a convenient 5-10 minute walk. Interior hotel parking was available to guests, $21 per day.

The staff we encountered were friendly and congenial. Aubrey and Emma at reception were especially welcoming, pleasant and cooperative. Drexell, Betty and Catherine at breakfast (6:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.) were very helpful and sociable.

The room we had was spacious, well-maintained and adequately furnished, including a work desk and office chair, an easy chair, a couch and ottoman and a chest with four deep drawers. The beds and pillows were comfortable. The view from the Walnut street side partly faced another building, but from the upper floors one also had a view toward the south of the city. A copy of The Philadelphia Enquirer was left outside the door each morning and other copies were available at the breakfast area.

Around the corner at the end of the corridor was an ice machine and a cold drinks vending machine. However, we would have found it useful if the room also had a bar fridge for keeping cool the beverages we prefer; there certainly was sufficient free space to have provided one.

Unfortunately, the soundproofing of the room left much to be desired. The windows were single-glazed and so admitted some noise from the street below, though we did not find it bothersome. From the corridor we could hear voices, slamming doors and other activities (housekeeping 8 a.m.- 4 p.m.). From an adjoining room we were awakened at 7:30 a.m. by the occupants conducting a loud conversation for over an hour before they left for breakfast. Another morning at 4:45 a.m. we were awakened from sound sleep by a screaming child whose parents took about an hour to quieten it. It took ages for us to return to sleep. Thank goodness that these incidents occurred only once each. Consequently, one greatly depends on having considerate, civilized neighbors in the immediate vicinity.

Breakfast was adequate: juices (artificial), coffee, tea, drinking chocolate, various milks and half-and-half, some form of cooked egg and meat, biscuits, hard-boiled eggs, cereals, oatmeal, muffins, bagels, toast, doughnuts, Danish pastries, yogurts, apples, oranges and bananas.

The breakfast area had two computers giving Internet access; one had a printer attached,. An alcove at the right side of the elevators-lifts had another computer with a printer attached. WiFi access was available throughout the hotel. All access was free.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThehotelguyatCEG, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. The detail of your review is greatly appreciated. We take pride in our customer service and are glad that you called out specific individuals that made your stay more enjoyable. Thank you again for taking the time to write such a nice review and we hope to have an opportunity to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed here in July 2010. Our room was not ready at 2PM, but they were very busy. Came back an hour later and was checked in quickly. Most of the staff we encountered were very freindly and gave us maps to use. The room was dated, but comfortable. My main complaint is the A/C is loud, and since it was over 100 degrees out it had to run non-stop. The breakfast was good. Each day there was a different meat, from pork gravy, to sauage to bacon. All days had bisquits, eggs, yogurt, english muffins and sweet rolls. There was also plenty of fruit. The lady who worked the breakfast area was very freindly, and worked hard keeping the food trays filled. The location was okay, with plenty of food choices near the hotel. One great place is called Top Tomato P which is close to the hotel. You can easily walk to Independece Hall and the Liberty Bell which is good since parking is pricey at $21, and is a pain during the weekdays since they pile the cars in 3 deep. As in any big City, there are homeless people nearby begging for money, and at night you should be mindful of your surroundings. They have a small outdoor pool on the 7th floor. Be carful with children since it is deep at one end. All in all I was happy with my AAA rate of $120 per evening

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lets_go_have_fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThehotelguyatCEG, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We are pleased to hear the positive comments and experience that you had at our property. Despite the hot weather the condition of our HVAC systems is important to us and we have reached out to you to get the room number to ensure we are able to keep our systems up to date. Thank you for your comments regarding your stay and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Clair Shores, MI
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

Our second visit to this hotel. We were traveling with a bus tour, so check-in could have been chaotic. But wasn't. Hotel staff was pleasant and accomodating in all our dealings with them. We were given a spacious room that was tidy and clean. And to our request, was a smoking room! Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThehotelguyatCEG, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel we are pleased that you had a pleasant stay and are glad we were able to welcome you back as a repeat guest. Based upon feedback from previous guests we addressed our check-in staffing and we are glad that this was a seamless process for you. We work hard to accommodate all guests and their requests and are glad to hear that we had the room you desired. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

I loved the location of this hotel! Walk out the door and there you are! There is a party store right across the street, right aid down the road. The lobby, eating area, and rooms are typical to most holiday inns. The breakfast runs until 1030 so that's nice, as long as there is food left! On the last 2 days of our stay there was a convention in town and I think half of the athletic trainers stayed at holiday inn, and ate almost all of the breakfast food! I think on those 2 days there was juice, cereal and english muffins left! But the ladies in the eating area......are the BEST!!!
On the down side we reserved a room with 2 beds, had our confirmation papers, called the hotel directly the day before we arrived and guess what.....they did not have a room with 2 beds available! It is so frustrating when that happens! Why offer an option on beds available when your just gonna give people whatever you want!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jstinecrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Rodeway Inn Center City
#49 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
Address: 1305 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-4566
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Downtown Philadelphia has to offer at the convenient, clean and comfortable Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia. In the heart of Center City, you will have access to shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown is within walking distance to various historic sites including: Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and the Betsy Ross House. Our hotel is convenient to many other attractions including the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia's Restaurant Row, Penn's Landing, Philadelphia Zoo and Museum area. A short subway ride away are professional sports venues: Lincoln Financial Field, Wachovia Center, and Citizens Ball park. Getting there is fast and convenient. Easy access to all major highways and only 8 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport, you ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Philadelphia to do. Whether you re coming to Philadelphia for business or pleasure, rest assured your room at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia is your personal retreat. Relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Bar, Outdoor Pool, 32 LCD/HD TV s and comfortable bedding means every night is a great night and every day starts right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing