We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
Ranked #28 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2009

We tried to book rooms at the Doubletree Hotel down the street but it was full, so I found this hotel online that was recommended. All the reviews on the fantastic service were correct - the people here are amazing. Even the cleaning crew had smiles and enthusiastic greetings for us in the hallways. Incredible service.

The rooms are larger and $100 less than the Doubletree.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duke4inNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

799 - 805 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2009

When I booked a room I was only able to get 2 double beds and I was looking for a queen or king bed. We got to Philly early and parked the car next to the hotel. I went up to the front desk and requested if they could give me a queen room instead of double. They got me a queen room. The hotel is very close to all the attractions and the arts district and there are ample places to eat withing walking distance. The front desk receptionists were friendly and helpful. I would definately stay here again if visiting Philly.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waggish75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

I stay in this hotel regularly when I visit my corporate headquarters in Philadelphia. The rooms are newly remodeled, the wi-fi works well, very clean, good breakfast, very pleasant service. Have never had a bad stay here and highly recommend it as a great value for the $$.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dddd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We arrived by train and walked the 15 blocks to the hotel. Small lobby and only one free computer for a large hotel so had to wait to use it but was able to use the WiFi in the room too. Nice breakfast buffet, clean rooms with nice beds. Staff was helpful. The pool was clean and the lifeguard was friendly. We found the store across the street convenient too.
We stayed four days and had a great time walking the town and seeing all the historic sites. I also did some Geocaching within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scienceguy2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

My son and I stayed here while visiting colleges. The hotel sports a modest facade, and is located accross the street from a number of interesting characters, but once inside everything changes. The desk staff were very friendly and helpful, and the rooms upstairs were spacious and comfortable. There is also a nice outdoor pool on the seventh floor. The complimentary breakfast was ample and more than adequate. This is a very nice hotel in the heart of philadelphia, at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hikingmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown on Saturday July 25 for 1 night. I stayed with my sister and boyfriend. We had a room with 2 double beds. The room was very large...compared to most hotel rooms with 2 double beds. Room was very clean. Good location. Just a short walk to the main streets. Lobby very small...breakfast room nice size. Eggs, breakfast sausage, muffins, bagels, cinnamon buns, toast, cereal, juice, coffee, donuts...good selection. Hotel staff very nice. The only down fall about this hotel that I didn't like was the parking situation. It's not valet parking but after you park your car you have to give the keys to someone that does't work for the hotel because they park other cars in front of your or you in front of someone else. A little scary but everything was there in the morning!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

The hotel was easy to find and check in went smoothly. Clerk was very polite. Upon arriving at our room, however, the door was open and a housekeeping lady down the hall told us that maintenance had been in to fix the AC. She shut the door and had us use our key to make sa'sure it would work for us and that was that. Later, we discovered that the carpet near the AC unit was all wet. We were only staying the one night so we just stayed away from it.

We took a walk down the street that evening to grab something to eat at Qdoba's (which was great by the way, clean and polite staff and great food). There were not too many people out except for the street people. Walked down the other way to the Washington Square Park and there were street people already laying on the benches. When we got back to the hotel and got on the elevator we got on with a couple who had just stepped on. I'm 99% sure that the woman was a hooker.

There is no restaurant, but there is a continental breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mommao3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown

Address: 1305 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-4566
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $133 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Downtown Philadelphia has to offer at the convenient, clean and comfortable Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia. In the heart of Center City, you will have access to shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown is within walking distance to various historic sites including: Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and the Betsy Ross House. Our hotel is convenient to many other attractions including the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia's Restaurant Row, Penn's Landing, Philadelphia Zoo and Museum area. A short subway ride away are professional sports venues: Lincoln Financial Field, Wachovia Center, and Citizens Ball park. Getting there is fast and convenient. Easy access to all major highways and only 8 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport, you ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Philadelphia to do. Whether you re coming to Philadelphia for business or pleasure, rest assured your room at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia is your personal retreat. Relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Bar, Outdoor Pool, 32 LCD/HD TV s and comfortable bedding means every night is a great night and every day starts right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing