We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,141)
Filter reviews
1,141 results
Traveler rating
349
551
171
49
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
349
551
171
49
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location hi express parking garage within walking distance would stay here again walnut street included breakfast outdoor pool breakfast room jefferson hospital yogurt liberty bell breakfast bar historic sites hot breakfast convention center front desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
884 - 889 of 1,141 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2009

I chose this hotel based on the location and price. I'm glad I did. We left our car in the parking garage when we arrived and didn't get back in it until we checked out three days later. We walked to everything without any problems. We walked as far east as Penn's Landing and as far west as 22nd street. The parking seemed expensive at $21 a day, but we decided it was on par with the other parking lots in the city. We think we'll just forgo a rental car if we visit Philadelphia again.
We stayed in room 1204 which overlooked Walnut and the swimming pool. We never got around to use the swimming pool, but it looked very clean and was usually empty.
The room was clean and pretty spacious. We had a king sized bed, a desk with a office chair, a small table with two chairs, and an arm chair and foot rest.
The breakfast was pretty good for a free hotel breakfast. The selection changed everyday. They had the typical cereal, fruit, and pastries, but they also had hot eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, and cinnamon rolls as well as yogurt and hard boiled eggs. The coffee was not as strong as I would like, but there are plenty of places to get good coffee right out the door. In fact, there's a good little food market across the street and there are several places to get a quick bite to eat nearby.
The staff was more than friendly and helpful. It seemed that every time we exchanged greetings with a member of the staff they asked us if there was anything they could do to make our stay better.
We were completely satisfied and I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlainaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

We arrived at 11 AM for a 3 PM check-in, and were trying to figure out how to live out of our car for 4 hours, when the woman at the desk noticed our problem and checked us in on the spot! Our car was in their garage the whole time (from 11 AM of day 1 to 3 PM of day 2, all for $21), and when we went to get it after check out, it was moved and appeared directly in front of us as we exited the garage elevator. The room was big and clean, everything we wanted to see was within walking distance, and Citizens Bank Park was 6 stops away on the close-by subway. Also, there was an incident which we considered to be a 'nice touch': We got in late one night with lukewarm coffees, and the staff unlocked the kitchen for us so we could use the microwave! Lastly, whenever we walked through the hallways in the mornings, as we passed any room which was being cleaned, we always got a big "Good morning" or "Hello" from the person cleaning that room. All in all, a very 'people-oriented' staff who go the extra yard to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gumby22a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

We had a reservation, but were denied a room upon arrival, because other guests extended their stay. All the other hotels in the city were sold out, but they eventually found us one in NJ. Finally arrived at NJ hotel at 1am... need to be up at 5am for business. When they found us a room for the next night, some of the workers admitted that this happens often. They often have guests with family members in the hospital next door who extend their stays. Just a warning... don't count on your reservations being honored here! Make reservations somewhere where you know you will have a room.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank supertravel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

from the lobby it all looks good and the staff are very helpful and friendly but the hotel itself could do with a complete make over
i have stayed in several holiday inns and this one was by far the worst i have ever stayed in
the smell of smoke was just awful and i smoke so when i think it was bad imagine what the non smokers thought
the decor was really in need of a make over and the walls in the corrider leading up to my room were warped and bent with the paper peeling off in places
the cleaning had a lot to be desired, apart from clean towels and extra toilet paper thats about all we got
the bathroom was silly design the toliet and bath were behind close door but the sink was in the room, it meant you had to go in and out to use the sink
the staff on the front desk were brilliant and really helpful and nothing was too much for them
overall it was over priced for what it was but it was central to Philadelphia and all the shopping

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArmaghEllenruddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

It's nothing fancy, but this hotel was perfect for my needs. Large room with 2 beds, wireless internet, and a convenient location - quick bus to UPenn, inexpensive shuttle from airport, and just a few blocks to train. But most of all, the staff (and I mean every single person) was extremely friendly, polite, and helpful. They were constantly attentive to guests' needs, not waiting to be asked but always inquiring if anything was needed and then cheerfully responding to any request or question. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Philly.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank floridian60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews