We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible wireless internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
Ranked #29 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Westborough, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible wireless internet”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The internet connection in this hotel is the worst. The engineer I spoke to on the phone also mentioned that it slows down in the evenings. Even in the mornings, the internet does not work. Business executives just can't stay at this hotel in peace without getting any work done. If you are here with your family and have kids who use electronic devices, find some other place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prasad_Patankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your problems with the internet. We are working with the Internet Service Provider and their technicians, running tests throughout the hotel. Everything seems to be working fine. Our management staff is trying to contact you and connect you directly with the ISP support staff to resolve your problems accessing the server.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    498
    152
    46
    18
See reviews for
302
233
70
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have been staying at this hotel since October 2013 for work. They are nicest people - very accommodating. I stayed at 2 different hotels during that time period and both times wish I had not changed hotels and the 2nd time I actually checked out early and booked at this hotel. The location is excellent, there are many restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is about 2 blocks from city hall, and about 8 blocks from the national treasures like the liberty bell and Constitution Hall and independence hall. The hotel management has worked with me many times when I have scheduling issues arise at the last minute. The hotel is going through a remodel and I am staying in the new rooms and they are excellent. Aubry and Ashley are awesome.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger then the normal suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We are very proud of our staff, and Aubrey & Ashley are a big part of that. It's so good to hear that we could help you overcome challenges during your stay, and that you enjoyed your time with us! We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here in late June. Great location to the historic district and plenty of restaurants along the way. Beds were comfortable and maid service was adequate. Front desk was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was the highlight with plenty of choices and helpful hostesses who assist with some special dietary needs. The kids loved the make-your-own-pancake machine as much as they did eating them.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BDavidBSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
That pancake machine is a huge hit! and not just with the children! Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed the area, in all its aspects. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Excellence value. Walked to everything.

Cab from airport was 28.50 plus 1.10 per extra person. 20 minutes max per ride there and back.

Scoop De Ville Ice Cream next door. I hammered that place. Got 20% discount showing my Philadelphia Pass card. Nice girls working the counter.

Pandoras is a cafe/deli 1/2 block down. HUGE portions but tad pricy. $27 for philly cheese steak, fries and drink for 2 people. Way too much food. Nice people.

Fratelias is an Italian place a couple blocks up. Used a groupon. HUGE portions. 2 pasta dishes plus water was $51. Mike was the waiter, nice guy.

CVS right down the block.
WAWA right down the block.
Rite Aid ditto.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saladdin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We are happy to hear that you found everything you needed, walked to all that you wanted and enjoyed yourself while you were her with us at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

My family wanted a hotel close enough to the museum district, and Old Town, this was right in the middle. I was a little skeptic when I seen the small street and how crowded it seemed, then there's the Holiday Inn hidden in the midst of it. Well the lobby was quaint. A bit old fashioned. Check In was speedy. As we made our way to our room it looked old and the ceilings were low. Imagine our surprise as we walked into a very spacious dbl room. The set up was perfect. We had a view of the top of city hall outside our window. Yes we looked out onto other buildings but there was many smaller ones in between that didn't crowd our view. My family of 4 which consisted of 1 teenager and 1 rambunctious 7 yr old fit comfortably in our room. The pool area was great too. No access by elevator, but again was surprised at the set up. Shallow end was small but good enough for my little guy. The next morning we got to experience the breakfast buffet. I thought your basic buffet it would be. Nope, it had omelets, turkey sausage patties, bacon, scrambled eggs, cinnamon buns, asst danishes, asst cereals, yogurts, milks, fruit, and the cutest pancake maker. Excellent way to stay the day. Front staff was friendly to us esp a Ms Peace. The convenient parking garage worked out well and was cheaper compared to other hotels. And a quick 5 minute walk took us to the subway where we easily jumped on and took the 5 minute ride to the ball park to watch the Phillies game. That would have been a 30+ minute drive depending on traffic then paying for parking. The subway was a definite bonus. Also there was a pick up point for the big bus tour just down the street from the hotel. All the little shops and restaurants around were cute. Oh and there's a convenience store right across from the hotel. We plan on staying here again when we go back and would definitely recommend this to others.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
It sounds like you had a wonderful time while you were with us and you were able to experience so many different things about out city. It's wonderful to hear that you so enjoyed yourselves and that we were a part of it all. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

For the location, I give a five star, for the space a three star, what can you expect for an area in midtown/ downtown of a big city? Real estate at a high cost. For cleanliness I give a 4, may be because during the time of my visit there were so many tourist from all over the world, make the area very crowded. The room however is pretty nice and clean. Breakfast was good, even though it is hard to find place to sit because of the tour bus group of people taking over the small breakfast area. However, I give a kudos to the ladies that taking care of the kitchen, they works really hard making sure all the food stay full. Thank you ladies!!!
For location, it is a walking distance from anywhere you want to go. Parking is next door, we have to park our car against the wall, so it is hard to go in and out when another car park in front of you. The parking attendance was not very attentive. The hotel have some kind of agreement with the gym next door to accommodate guest needs for exercise.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb-5584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit with us. We are glad to hear that you were comfortable even though the hotel was busy during your stay. Thank you for candor in letting us know the good and the not so good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Midtown earlier this year. Was in town to watch some Phillies games. Clean, good service, close to the subway and many major sites, bars and places to eat. Would stay again if back in Philly. A little bit of a hike to Phillies/Flyers/Eagles/Sixers stadiums, which are all in the same area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your review and feed back. We are glad you enjoyed your stay while attending the Phillies game!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#15 of 86 in Philadelphia
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
Address: 1305 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-4566
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Downtown Philadelphia has to offer at the convenient, clean and comfortable Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia. In the heart of Center City, you will have access to shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown is within walking distance to various historic sites including: Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and the Betsy Ross House. Our hotel is convenient to many other attractions including the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia's Restaurant Row, Penn's Landing, Philadelphia Zoo and Museum area. A short subway ride away are professional sports venues: Lincoln Financial Field, Wachovia Center, and Citizens Ball park. Getting there is fast and convenient. Easy access to all major highways and only 8 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport, you ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Philadelphia to do. Whether you re coming to Philadelphia for business or pleasure, rest assured your room at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia is your personal retreat. Relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Bar, Outdoor Pool, 32 LCD/HD TV s and comfortable bedding means every night is a great night and every day starts right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing