We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
Ranked #27 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Midtown earlier this year. Was in town to watch some Phillies games. Clean, good service, close to the subway and many major sites, bars and places to eat. Would stay again if back in Philly. A little bit of a hike to Phillies/Flyers/Eagles/Sixers stadiums, which are all in the same area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for your review and feed back. We are glad you enjoyed your stay while attending the Phillies game!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,047)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

You are within walking distance of many of the major sites, museums and restaurants. There was a rather nice variety of items included on the complimentary breakfast. Having parking available on site was a nice feature.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabo_Bob_and_Harriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel was in a great location! Within walking distance of historic district, markets, convention center, shopping & china town. Our room was nothing fancy and a bit outdated compared to other Holiday Inn Express hotels. However, this hotel is currently being renovated so future visits should be a little better.

The staff at the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful during our visit! The breakfast buffet was one of the biggest we've seen staying at these hotels and offered everything we could have possibly wanted for breakfast! There was plenty of seating in the dining area which is a huge plus in such a large hotel. The pool area was neat and clean and had attendant who was very friendly.

However, the parking rates for hotel guests (especially GOLD members) should be cheaper we had to pay $25 extra per night, ugh!!

Room Tip: If you are a rewards member: Ask for a upgrade 😊
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2cmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words, and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Since the parking garage is a separate company, we have limited control over the price, however it is one of the cheapest garages downtown. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

The hotel was acceptable and you're paying for great location. We were passing through to our final stop and thought it would be a chance to see Philadelphia. The rooms were average, and the hotel was in the middle of a much needed renovation. Smallest bathrooms I've ever seen in a hotel. Only real complaints would be that the cost when you add in tax was not a good value for such a basic hotel even if the location is great.Also, the parking garage attached was questionable as it was operated by a different company from the hotel. Cars were being double parked and they were constantly moving cars around. They Park hotel guests behind all the others so you might have to wait awhile as they shuffle cars around. Also very tight so expect some door dings. Would not stay here again though.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank cdb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are in the process of renovating our rooms to serve our guest better. We will present your feedback to our parking garage manager, as they do their best to accommodate all vehicles. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Being a loyal IHG member I chose to stay here as it was less than a mile from where I needed to be in the morning and the proximity of many restaurants. Check in was friendly and efficient. We received the room I had requested, and the room was a good size and clean. I wish the 2 beds were Queen rather than double and for a limited mobility room to have a tub rather than a shower is a bit mind boggling. Breakfast was typical of these hotels so I chose to use the Dunkin Donuts across the street.
I would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank twin123185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found everything that you needed at our location. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The hotel is located in the City Center (downtown area) but the rooms, carpets, amenities etc. could have been cleaner. Found stains on room carpet, the hallway rug was dirty as well and the staff was not very keen in taking feedback on cleanliness.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BhupinderArora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

I am very sorry to hear that the cleanliness of the hotel was not to your liking. We are currently in the process of renovating all of our guest rooms and I hope you would try staying with us once again to see our fresh and clean upgrades! It is feedback like yours that allows us to make necessary changes to our hotel, so thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Enjoyed my stay and the location was walkable to everything you could want. The room was ok but they are all being updated at the moment. I had a small concern and the hotel manager (Joanne) was there immediately to assist and resolve. She even called me to be sure everything was ok. World Class Service!
I recommend this hotel and will surely be back.
Thank you very much Joanne.

Room Tip: I didn't find a fitness center but was told you can use a nearby gym with no additional fees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfbgianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

We pride ourselves on our service and everyone here plays a part in our guest satisfaction. We are happy to hear that we made everything right and that you enjoyed yourself enough to want to return! We can't wait to see you back with us! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown

Address: 1305 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-4566
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $136 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Downtown Philadelphia has to offer at the convenient, clean and comfortable Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia. In the heart of Center City, you will have access to shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown is within walking distance to various historic sites including: Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and the Betsy Ross House. Our hotel is convenient to many other attractions including the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia's Restaurant Row, Penn's Landing, Philadelphia Zoo and Museum area. A short subway ride away are professional sports venues: Lincoln Financial Field, Wachovia Center, and Citizens Ball park. Getting there is fast and convenient. Easy access to all major highways and only 8 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport, you ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Philadelphia to do. Whether you re coming to Philadelphia for business or pleasure, rest assured your room at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia is your personal retreat. Relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Bar, Outdoor Pool, 32 LCD/HD TV s and comfortable bedding means every night is a great night and every day starts right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing