We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with my parents and happy with our choice of hotel.

A bit of a trek from the train station (maybe 30 min with luggage) vs a $10 taxi ride. Hotel is nothing special from the exterior, but it is economical and has everything you need for a pleasant stay.

Check in was easy. Clerk wasn't too friendly at the beginning, but she warmed up at the end. Had a room on the top floor with a good view of the buildings around the city,

Room was warm and inviting and a good size. 2 double beds, desk, chair with ottoman, and full length mirror, but no fridge/microwave. Beds were comfortable but ventilation system was noisy. Hotel was undergoing an upgrade to their internet as well so wifi was not very good, mind you I was able to use the computer downstairs which seemed to work fine. Additional outlets in room by the desk did not hold plugs very securely.

Toilet and shower cramped in a tiny room, with sink and counter located outside. Aside from the size, bathroom met our needs although they could provide more hooks/racks for towels.

Complimentary breakfast more than sufficient. Lots of seating in a comfortable open room and staff worked hard at ensuring everything was stocked up. Items included hot and cold items including cinnamon buns, pastries, scrambled eggs/egg omelettes, sausage patties, biscuits and gravy, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, bananas, and pancakes (they actually have a pancake machine, which I'd never seen before, similar to a waffle maker).

Location of hotel is just perfect. Well within walking distance to attractions downtown and surrounding areas and we felt completely safe walking around in the evening. Lots of services nearby as well.

A great choice and good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScreamingBanshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

We have completed the upgrade to a dedicated line for our high speed internet service for easy access for our guests. We appreciate your taking the time to let us know about your stay and hope that should you be in the area again, we have the chance of hosting you as you travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,033)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the HI Philadelphia last on a fall weekend. I can't say enough about the staff and how kind and helpful they were to both of us. We were lucky we got to check in early so we could drop off our bags. The front desk ladies were very professional and quite knowledgeable about the city and it's transportation options.

We had breakfast in the dining room. It was adequate with a range of so so items. Coffee was good. The only negative was the room, it smelled really bad, like stinky feet (room 1611) It took me awhile to get to sleep as it stunk so bad. And as I am writing this I am wondering if I should have looked under the bed for something dead. The bathroom was small but clean. Enough towels for 2. Lots of pillows although the firm one was as squishy as the soft one. I wished the window had opened so we could air it out. We told the front desk so hopefully they will get the rug cleaned.

All in all we had a nice time in Philadelphia. Hotel is in a perfect area for walking around.

Room Tip: Very quiet if you are in the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabfromnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and we always love having repeat guests. We apologize for any sort of smell in the room while here. Our housekeeping staff always does a thorough cleaning job with every room, however we will pass this comment onto them. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The employees of this hotel are outstanding! From check in to maid service, as well as breakfast staff and maintenance staff all make you feel welcome. Every staff member takes time to say hello and ask how things are going. More importantly, they mean it. In addition, the location is excellent, facility is clean and well maintained and the cost is excellent. Great place with an outstanding staff!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pvh16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for the kind words and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect from Holiday Inn Express having read some of the other reviews. But the reality is that the staff lean over backwards to be helpful. Yes, the place is probably overdue a bit of renovation. But importantly, it's clean, comfortable and well maintained. ALL the staff, from the front desk to the breakfast buffet to security and housekeeping are really really nice, friendly and efficient. And you couldn't wish for a more central location to explore the city! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for letting us know how well the staff impacted your stay and that things were clean & comfortable. We want everyone to feel that way. We are scheduled for a refresh starting later this year, so come back and see us when we are done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Holiday Inn properties the world over just never fail to impress....the experience continues at the one here at Philly!!

Even if you are a first timer like I was at Philadelphia, you just can't get wrong with this hotel, as it's centrally located at Walnut Street and a few steps away you have the 'must sees' when you visit this city i.e. The Liberty Bell and The Independence Hall. You have a convenience store and a deli located opposite the hotel where you can drop in and pick up a beer, soft drink or small snacks to munch on in the comfort of your room.

This hotel is what I recommend to anyone and would really come back next, when I revisit the 'City of Brotherly Love'!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegothicgoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

We look forward to seeing you come back. Thank you for your great comments on being a first timer in the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown is a good hotel to stay while you are in Philly. Location and value is a great proposition here. Service is friendly and breakfast is good. Room size is generous and the bathroom is well maintain. I go back there every time I am in Philly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you. It is nice to hear from a repeat guest. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of our family road trip , (2 adults, 3 kids) and location wise it was excellent .it was on the doorstep to all amenities, shopping, dining, historical. Really couldn't ask for better. My husband and kids went to see a Philly game and getting there couldn't have been easier - subway about 1/2 block away and very clean and safe.
The room was a good size although no fridge or microwave. The bathroom was very old fashioned in that the toilet and shower where in one tiny closet really ..... You couldn't wait to shower and open the door haha, and the sink/vanity was in a nook outside the bathroom.
We needed a roll away bed which was an extra charge how ever was very comfortable.
The pool was outdoors but the weather was great so no issues. It was clean and a great size.
Parking was expensive but again your down town, but conveniently right beside the hotel. However we where guided to self park in a space then they put another car directly behind us.... Lets say getting out was a bit tricky :)
The free breakfast was great. Lots and lots of choice and a lovely open eating area. Only complaint would be the service staff. On the days we where there there where 3 ladies attending the area, one older and two younger. The older lady seemed efficient and knew what she was doing. The 2 young girls where hovering over the service area , playing with their hair (yuk) , and basically stopping guests accessing the food. At one point people where waiting and the three of them where fussing about the bagel/donut stand and no one could access the food :(
All that said the food was fantastic

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

We are so glad that your family had such a good time and got to do so many things while they where here. Thank you for your detailed comments. We are currently involved in an intern program involving high school students, and appreciate what you noticed on behaviors that can be corrected. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown

Address: 1305 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-4566
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $158 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Downtown Philadelphia has to offer at the convenient, clean and comfortable Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia. In the heart of Center City, you will have access to shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown is within walking distance to various historic sites including: Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and the Betsy Ross House. Our hotel is convenient to many other attractions including the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia's Restaurant Row, Penn's Landing, Philadelphia Zoo and Museum area. A short subway ride away are professional sports venues: Lincoln Financial Field, Wachovia Center, and Citizens Ball park. Getting there is fast and convenient. Easy access to all major highways and only 8 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport, you ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Philadelphia to do. Whether you re coming to Philadelphia for business or pleasure, rest assured your room at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia is your personal retreat. Relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Bar, Outdoor Pool, 32 LCD/HD TV s and comfortable bedding means every night is a great night and every day starts right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing