We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of positives, if only......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
Ranked #28 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I go to Philly several times a year. Usually stay at the Hampton Inn on Race and 13th, not too far from this Holiday Inn, but thought I'd try a different hotel for this trip. There are many good things about this property. The location could not be better, in the midst of everything Center City has to offer. Check-in was fast and the front desk personnel are extremely helpful (and patient) with giving directions and answering questions. Also, the cleaning crews and maintenance personnel are very nice. I took advantage of the free breakfast one morning, not too bad, a few hot items like omelets, bacon, biscuits, pancakes. But, there are some awesome bakeries/cafes within minutes of the hotel and I chose to eat breakfast away fron the hotel the rest of my stay. The room (15th floor) was very clean and quite spacious. The bathrooms are modern and roomy. The flat screen HD TV is really good. The only negative is the noise factor. Hallway noise wasn't too bad, but the noise from the streets below was aggravating. Sure it's a city environment and especially on the weekend there was a lot of yelling, sirens, etc. Fortunately , the rooms have the "old-timey" AC units in the wall so I just turned it on at night to drown out the noise. I would recommend this hotel with the understanding that you will have to sleep with the AC running.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lrauers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Iraures,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that we could accommodate you, and your family. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We will pass all of your feedback on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job.. Thank you so much for your time.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,043)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights at the end of March. It was my first time in Philadelphia and this location was excellent for walking around mid-town. The staff was very friendly and helpful esp. Jarred. It's a short walk to Ind. Hall/ Liberty Bell, Chinatown and Shopping District. Plenty of restaurants and stores near hotel.
Disregard the complaints about parking...it's simple. There's a parking garage attached to the hotel...park next to the hotel door and check in, then drive to the 2nd floor and leave your key with the valet. When you leave, claim your key and go get your car. Easy. Driving around town was also easy.
I would stay here again...and probably will soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Dan S,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. Thank you so much for all of your feedback. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We will pass your feedback on to our staff. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in connection with a convention (since the Javits' Center is closed). There is nothing wrong with the hotel if you are looking for a low, or at least lower rate, but this is an old building and the guest rooms are in need of a face lift.
For example, the shower head is about 5'6" off the ground which was probably closer to the average height when the hotel was built, and the breakfast while OK could use a lot more fruit, yogurt, low-fat and whole wheat options for people present eating habits. The number of electric outlets is limited and if you want a microwave and refrigerator in your room make sure to ask for it when you book, or check in - I saw them moving those items from room to room and my friends did not get them.
The location of the hotel is very good, walking distance to everything and with many good restaurants very nearby. The staff is very good, helpful and knowledgeable.
One good thing about the hotel is it has an agreement with a local health club (about 25 yards from the front door) which has all the machines, free weights and other apparatus most hotel fitness rooms lack, but you have to get a pass each day to use it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toooldforthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your candid comments and for taking the time to share them with us. We are happy to hear that the staff was helpful during your visit. Your other comments will be reviewed with our team to be considered during future upgrades.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a conference. This is not a fancy hotel. However rooms were clean and the location is very convenient for visiting attractions. If I have to visit Philadelphia again it is likely I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tragaldavas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Tragaldavas,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. We will pass your comments on to our staff. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I recently stayed at this Holiday Inn Express for one night during a business trip. The hotel, overall, was clean, and the staff was very friendly. My room had a nice view of the city, but my bathroom was a bit small. The breakfast buffet had a decent selection; however, it could have used some more healthy options. The gym is just around the corner from the hotel and was extremely clean. The hotel is also within walking distance of many sightseeting options, such as the Liberty Bell and Reading Terminal Market, as well as many restaurants and bars. I also liked that check-out is at 12:00, which gave me time to walk around Philadelphia before leaving.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godiva0318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Godiva0318,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the bathroom. We value all feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thanks for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on March 15 for only one night because my usual choice was asking too much for the day. We checked into our room a little after 4pm, and were given a room on the 17th floor. We rode the elevator up the our room, and entered it. The room was clean, appeared to be in a good state, and had a beautiful view of Philadelphia. (infact, we spent most of our morning looking out the window, it was snowing and was quite breathtaking.) We changed, got all prettied up and went out for a nice dinner and a show, by the time we arrived back, we found the front entrance closed, I assume to keep the riffraff out at late hours. The next morning we remembered about the breakfast buffet, however we ended up choosing to eat breakfast at the Ihop across the street. It was early, and it was a bit too loud in the walnut room for our taste, so we opted for less ear splitting dining experience.
We checked out close to 12am, had no problems with checkout, and left to explore city. I would stay here again if the price is right.The hotel's location is great, it's almost right in the middle of center city, it's on walnut street, so the dining options are plentiful and so is the shopping.

Room Tip: The rooms ending with "01" are near the elevator, so you hear the Ding, every time an elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xexekoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that you chose us. Thank you for your comments about the hotel. We value all guest feedback, because it allows us to make changes to the hotel to make it better for future guests. Thank you for mentioning our amenities. We hope next time you will enjoy our buffet breakfast. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

What a wonderful experience. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, they had us checked in and in our room in perfect timing, Our room was clean and comfortable and the view from the 18th floor was beautiful. The breakfast was amazing with the best Breafast host(Thank You). I had to be in a meeting most of the dayFeb.14th and the staff was very helpful to my husband and our dog(Molly) giving him ideas of places to visit that evening. We will be coming back to this Holiday Inn Express anytime we are in Philadelphia. Two thumbs up for the hotel staff*****:-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BbarbaraandMolly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear BbarbaraandMolly2013,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed your very first trip to Philly. Our city has a lot to offer. Thank you for all of your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you for your time. We hope you will stay with us again on your future visits to Philadelphia! Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown

Address: 1305 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-4566
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $143 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Downtown Philadelphia has to offer at the convenient, clean and comfortable Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia. In the heart of Center City, you will have access to shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown is within walking distance to various historic sites including: Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and the Betsy Ross House. Our hotel is convenient to many other attractions including the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia's Restaurant Row, Penn's Landing, Philadelphia Zoo and Museum area. A short subway ride away are professional sports venues: Lincoln Financial Field, Wachovia Center, and Citizens Ball park. Getting there is fast and convenient. Easy access to all major highways and only 8 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport, you ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Philadelphia to do. Whether you re coming to Philadelphia for business or pleasure, rest assured your room at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia is your personal retreat. Relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Bar, Outdoor Pool, 32 LCD/HD TV s and comfortable bedding means every night is a great night and every day starts right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing