We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some Good, some Growing Pains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
Ranked #31 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Some Good, some Growing Pains”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Growing Pains

This HIE is in a great location, has staff that are knowledgable, and good accommodations, still I can’t rate it as highly as I would other HIEs. For example, I requested a refrigerator in my room and 4 hours later the staff brought in a grimy fridge that I had to clean before I could put anything in it, much less touch it. I mentioned this to the staff at check out, and she promised to speak to the manager about it. I forgot all about it until I checked my credit card later at home and saw the hotel had adjusted my final bill with a credit. I definitely appreciated the gesture, however, I have become accustomed to HIEs getting things right the first time.

I would stay here again, but I would also call ahead and check if my request for a fridge would be honored.

TIP:
Be sure to visit the restaurant Sampan, right around the corner. Great tasting menu.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slt8y1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your candid response and comments. I apologize that we did not rise to the level of your expectations. Your experience is being reviewed with our management team and housekeeping in particular. We will do our best so that this does not happen in the future. Again, thank you for bring this to our attention and we hope that when you are in our area, you will give us the opportunity to provide you with the service you expect from Holiday Inn Express.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    469
    146
    45
    17
See reviews for
279
222
67
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My fellow club member and I spent the weekend there and it was mostly a positive experience. The room size was a nice size and clean. All of the furnishings looked up-to-date and in working order. The bathroom was rather small and there is no bathroom fan, but it was clean with the towels also clean and neatly folded. The bed pillows were a little more light and pliable than what I would prefer, but the mattress was good. The hotel was mostly quiet and there was only a few moments of noise from upstairs neighbors (kids running, jumping and bumping about). The complimentary breakfast was reasonably varied and adequate (pancakes, bagels, sausage, eggs, cereal, doughnuts, etc.). The taco-shaped egg and cheese omelettes were under re-heated. The orange, apple, and lemonade juice machines could never seem to mix the right amount of syrup for drinks (either too watery or too syrupy). All of the hotel staff were very friendly and efficient. Parking is a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Room 1207 has an unblocked and decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDWTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear JDWTraveler,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate all of your comments. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the breakfast service. We are always trying to find ways to make this service better. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I think for the price you get a decent overall value, but there are trade-offs. The pluses are many. The service is excellent. Nice staff and all questions answered in timely fashion. Rooms clean, tvs new flatscreens, decent channel selection, and felt quite safe. Very centrally located and for the price seemed a step up from the alternatives. The downsides are this property is quite worn. There is no bar. The breakfast is of generally moderate to poor quality. This isn't really a spot to bring friends or business associates. The building itself is old and a bit oddly shaped. The rooms could use a rehab and there's overall a bit of a sad feeling to the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMSF28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear CMSF28970,

Thank you so much for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback regarding your stay. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the condition of the hotel. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel was a pleasent surprise! I've stayed in a luxury hotel in Philadelphia in the past and this was a far more pleasent experience. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable! Addtionally, the breakfast was great. People complained about the food being horrible but you've got lots to choose from. There is a small printer and computer for flight printouts and the staff were accomidating. We parked elsewhere to avoid steep costs!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ds103n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PADOVA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The location is perfect in the middle of downtown, car park is part of the building so no need to get crazy to find one, it seems a former regular Holiday Inn turned in an Express. Lobby and overall look are a little old style but rooms are still decently furnished, large and comfortable, with features typical of a HI. Car park comes at 25 dollars per night and out of the door you have all the nice restaurants and attractions of downtown Philadelphia, a real bargain!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KITER57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orefield
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Everything people are saying is accurate. Great location. Spacious rooms. Nice breakfast. Small bathroom. Free wifi. One exception I had no issues with parking. Overall very good experience and highly recommended.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TonyLehighValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear TonyLehighValley,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We will pass your feedback on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights while I attended a conference on the front end of my family's Thanksgiving vacation. It's 5 city blocks from the convention center and the Reading Terminal Market.

In all, we were pleased with our stay. The rooms weren't huge, but they were decent sized. There are hospitals near the hotel, so we did hear an occasional siren, but it wasn't a problem for us. Our room was on the eighth floor, which put some space between us and the street noise. In all, it was quieter than I expected given the hotel's location in the center of the city .

Breakfast: the complimentary breakfast had the typical Holiday Inn Express spread with cinnamon rolls, rotating hot items, and cold items. The staff working this area were polite and kept the area well stocked.
Blow dryer: yes
Elevator: yes
Internet: free in-room wifi. I don't recall any problems with it.
Nearest playground: not sure. We didn't see any nearby on the map of the area.
Recommend for families with young kids: yes, if they're looking for something centrally located
Recommend for people without kids: sure

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToddlerTravelsAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dea TodderTravelsAM,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback regarding your stay. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us and that we could accommodate you. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Rodeway Inn Center City
#48 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#20 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
Address: 1305 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-4566
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Downtown Philadelphia has to offer at the convenient, clean and comfortable Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia. In the heart of Center City, you will have access to shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown is within walking distance to various historic sites including: Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and the Betsy Ross House. Our hotel is convenient to many other attractions including the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia's Restaurant Row, Penn's Landing, Philadelphia Zoo and Museum area. A short subway ride away are professional sports venues: Lincoln Financial Field, Wachovia Center, and Citizens Ball park. Getting there is fast and convenient. Easy access to all major highways and only 8 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport, you ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Philadelphia to do. Whether you re coming to Philadelphia for business or pleasure, rest assured your room at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia is your personal retreat. Relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Bar, Outdoor Pool, 32 LCD/HD TV s and comfortable bedding means every night is a great night and every day starts right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing