We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great downtown bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
Ranked #29 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel was clean, moderately priced, with modern amenities and a larger that usual room for a downtown hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious, with a variety of hot and cold items. The free wi-fi was wonderful, and also a rarity in downtown hotels it seems. The hotel is a convenient walk to all downtown attractions, and a short bus or subway ride to the historical district or the the University district in West Philadelphia. Buy transportation tokens at a discount a block and a half away on Market street. It was also a short few blocks walk to the train station for the ride out to the airport.

Nearby 13th street was a wonderful location for restaurant and happy hour hopping.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkrissel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEGHotelsResponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments are greatly appreciated. Your comments we will be passed on to our staff. We strive to provide all of our guests, with a safe, clean, and comfortable place to stay.

Our Midtown location is within walking distance to a variety of restaurants and unique boutiques. It will take minutes to walk to the Pennsylvania Convention Center, where you can visit the nearby Reading Terminal Market for a quick lunch!
Just a short walk to Philadelphia's historical sites; The Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House.

We hope to see you again on future visits to the area!!! Thanks again for your review of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,061)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night back in April.

Probably one of the high points of this place is the location. It's on Walnut Street, which is two blocks south of Market Street. On that corner is the 13th Street Market-Frankford subway station, which will get you to places such as South Street and Olde City going eastbound or 30th Street station going westbound.

I initially got there at 1:30pm hoping I can check in....not happening. The front desk girl, Gwen, handed me a bottle of water and told me to come back in about an hour. So I did. The room I got was on the 19th floor facing the street...about 10 steps from the elevator.

The room had a nice flat screen TV, comfortable pillows and sheets, and free wifi which cut in and out at times. If anything, I thought the bathroom was kinda tiny...also, if memory serves me right the toilet and sink were actually located outside of the tub area. Kinda odd, but not too big of a deal. Bath and Body Works toiletries are always a treat. I forgot to pack a toothbrush and toothpaste, and they gladly brought one up to me with no problem.

The central location in the "Gayborhood" made it easy to check out all of my potential hot spots of the evening...there's also a 24 hour Wawa on 11th Street, which came in handy after the bars let out.

I'd definitely stay here again...the rate I paid, around $135.00, was pretty decent for the area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEGHotelsResponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments are appreciated. We will take these comments and bring them to our staff. Good comments are always nice to hear.

Our Express Start breakfast bar and passes to Bally Total Fitness are just two of the free amenities we provide our guests. After touring Philadelphia, relax by our outdoor pool or research new attractions with the free Wi-Fi access.

We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Philadelphia!!! Thanks again for your time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend recently. This hotel has a wonderful location in the historical area and is most reasonably priced. Using AAA Membership our spacious room (two double beds) on the top floor (20th) cost about $150 a night including taxes. Parking at the garage right next door was $21 a night.
We took advantage of the refreshing outdoor pool on the 7th. floor and the good breakfast buffet on the Lobby floor, but the most valuable quality of this hotel is its terrific staff. Absolutely everyone was very friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: Top floor was so quiet!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucinda789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEGHotelsResponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2011

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. We strive to provide great service to all our guests. We appreciate your comments and will pass them on to the staff. They will really appreciate hearing them.

We hope that you will consider us again on future visits to the Philly area. Thank you again for the great review and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for a weekend of visiting in Philadelphia and I was definitely impressed with this little gem of a hotel. We had a room with two double beds and it was gigantic. I had called ahead for a refrigerator and they brought it up soon after we checked in..
Very accommodating staff, including the front desk, housekeeping, and kitchen staff. Great breakfast that is serviced by three hardworking individuals who were kind and courteous. During my last morning, the hotel manager Jo Ann walked around to all the tables and asked about our stay. I thought that was very special too.
The only thing that might be slightly bothersome would be the small size of the bathroom. While the sink is outside (which I prefer), the room with the toilet and tub is pretty tight.
The parking garage is adjacent to the hotel and reasonable at $21 a night, with unlimited in and out priveleges, which is uncommon.
All in all a wonderful stay...thanks to everyone at the Holiday Inn Express!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoffeeGirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEGHotelsResponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of our hotel. Our goal is to provide great service to all our guests. We hope that you will consider us again on your next visit to Philly.

Our Midtown location is within walking distance to a variety of restaurants and unique boutiques. It will take minutes to walk to the Pennsylvania Convention Center, where you can visit the nearby Reading Terminal Market for a quick lunch!
Just a short walk to Philadelphia's historical sites; The Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House.

We hope to see you again in your future visits to Philly!! Thanks again for the review of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Me and my son were here to catch a Phillies game and see the Independence Hall area. We were in a good location for both. Independence Hall was about a 10 minute walk east down Walnut...the subway was about a 2 minute walk west down Walnut. That subway was a straight shot south to the Phillies, Eagles, and Flyers games.

The cab ride from 30th Street Station was approximately $9. Our room was ready for early check in at no additional cost. The room was clean and updated. Good working A/C. The bathroom was small, but clean. The staff was friendly. The hot breakfast was good for a morning or two. There is a Dunkin Donuts on the block and no shortage of food in the area. The were also a couple of quiet little pubs on the block that looked inviting.

I plan on returning to this area and I won't waste my time looking to stay anywhere else. This hotel was perfect for myself and the wife, or the family. Safety was not an issue in this area.

Room Tip: We were in room #1011. Room was very quiet. View wasn't anything spectacular...it was in the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carnbravila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEGHotelsResponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2011

Thanks for your review of our hotel. We strive to provide a great Guest Experience. Your comments will be passed on to our staff. We really appreciate the comments.


We hope that you will consider us again on your future stays in Philly. Thank you again for our review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Rooms are a bit old, but quite large and otherwise good. Could have used some bedside power sockets.

Pool was great in the hot weather.

Breakfast buffet was horrible. Don't bother with it.

Reasonable location, not noisy, no real complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikelWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEGHotelsResponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Thank your for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your comments and will pass these comments on to our staff, to help provide a better experience for our guests. We apologize that you were not satisfied with your breakfast. We will work on improving our breakfast.


We hope that your will consider us again on your next visit to the Philadelphia area/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I was on a business trip last week and stayed two nights at the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown Hotel. It was in easly walking distance of the Liberty Bell and other attractions. Special thanks to "Catherine" who worked in the breakfast area of the hotel. Her wonderful attitude and willingness to assist us in all our needs was exceptional! Thank you. Sharon from Louisiana.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherryoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEGHotelsResponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Thank your for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments about our service are greatly appreciated. The comments you made about Catherine will be passed on to her. We always like to tell our staff when they are doing a great job!!

We work really hard to provide a clean, safe and comfortable hotel. Your comments help us do that.

We hope you will consider us again on your next visit to Philadelphia!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown

Address: 1305 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-4566
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $133 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Downtown Philadelphia has to offer at the convenient, clean and comfortable Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia. In the heart of Center City, you will have access to shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown is within walking distance to various historic sites including: Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and the Betsy Ross House. Our hotel is convenient to many other attractions including the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia's Restaurant Row, Penn's Landing, Philadelphia Zoo and Museum area. A short subway ride away are professional sports venues: Lincoln Financial Field, Wachovia Center, and Citizens Ball park. Getting there is fast and convenient. Easy access to all major highways and only 8 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport, you ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Philadelphia to do. Whether you re coming to Philadelphia for business or pleasure, rest assured your room at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia is your personal retreat. Relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Bar, Outdoor Pool, 32 LCD/HD TV s and comfortable bedding means every night is a great night and every day starts right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing