We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
The Independent Hotel(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Bellevue Hotel(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alexander Inn(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,088)
Filter reviews
1,088 results
Traveler rating
333
527
160
48
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
527
160
48
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi expressgreat locationwithin walking distancewalnut streetparking garagebreakfast roomjefferson hospitaloutdoor poolyogurtwould stay here againfree breakfast isliberty bellbreakfast barconvention centerhot breakfastfront desk staffhistorical sites
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
750 - 755 of 1,088 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Stayed at this Holiday Inn for one night just to meet friends that were coming into the city. Would recommend staying here to anyone that wants to explore Philadelphia, as the location was good. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Had great TV with many channels. The staff was one of the best I have encountered. From check in to check out they were the best! Asked for directions to McGillans to meet friends and were escorted right to the front door. Used the parking garage and found it to be reasonable and easy. With a good rate you can't go wrong here!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEGHotelsResponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2011

We would like to thank you for your great review of our Hotel. Your comments are very much appreciated. We will take comments and provide them to our staff to help in making our guests stay great!!!


If you will be staying in downtown Philly again we would like to invite you back to our hotel!!!

Our Midtown location is within walking distance to a variety of restaurants and unique boutiques. It will take minutes to walk to the Pennsylvania Convention Center, where you can visit the nearby Reading Terminal Market for a quick lunch!
Just a short walk to Philadelphia's historical sites; The Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed here for a two night stop over. The Hotel is in a great location. Easy walking distance to all the attractions. Breakfast was included in the tarriff and was quite good.

On checking in there was a problem with our booking. Our pre-paid voucher (through Flight Centre Australia) clearly stated we had booked and paid for two nights however the Hotel's booking system had us there for one night only. The girl checking us in didn't see how we would be able to stay there 2 nights as they were booked out. Her supervisor sorted it all out very quickly with no fuss and we stayed for 2 nights.

On the second night of our stay the bathroom door locked (from the outside) and we were unable to open it. We called reception and they sent some-one to try and open it. That didn't work so we requested another room. The Hotel was unable to give us that because they were booked out, so they suggested we use the toilets on another floor. (Near the pool). This was totally unacceptable as we had a 3.00 am start the next morning for 36 hours of travel and we needed a shower! Never mind that we had things in the bathroom that we wished to take with us. The guy from reception returned and with a liitle ingenuity the door was opened. It was an inconvenience, but it was no-ones fault and these things happen.

There are several computers available for use at no extra charge which we thought was great.
We enjoyed out stay here and would most certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellTravelledTasmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEGHotelsResponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2011

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are always striving to make our guest experience better.

Thank you for discussing the inconvenience that you experienced. We are very happy that your problem was taken care of.

Please consider our hotel the next time you visit Philadelphia.

Our Express Start breakfast bar and passes to Bally Total Fitness are just two of the free amenities we provide our guests. After touring Philadelphia, relax by our outdoor pool or research new attractions with the free Wi-Fi access.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I stayed at this hotel while attending a conference in Philadelphia and wanting a more reasonably priced accommodation compared to the very expensive conference hotel. The Holiday Inn was an excellent choice: very good location, friendly staff, a lovely room with nice view and extremely comfortable bed. All the main city sights are within walking distance. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChocFrog75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEGHotelsResponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2011

Thank you for the great review of our hotel. Your comments are very helpful in improving our day to to day operations at our hotel.


Our Midtown location is within walking distance to a variety of restaurants and unique boutiques. It will take minutes to walk to the Pennsylvania Convention Center, where you can visit the nearby Reading Terminal Market for a quick lunch!
Just a short walk to Philadelphia's historical sites; The Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House.


We hope that you will come stay with us again, when you come to the Philadelphia area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed in two other Holiday Inn Express in NJ before staying at Philly Holiday Inn Midtown from end May to 3 June. It was a pleasant surprise to find the room spacious, quiet and clean.
The frontline staff and concierge in the morning shift were very cheerful and friendly. Most of all, we were greeted each morning by a chirpy breakfast host, Catherine, who made us feel so welcome and at home. This is especially commendable considering we are Asians. Catherine treats all her guests alike, as she would come up and chat with us, offer tips on getting around the city. When she knew we were sending stuff by mail, she even helped us get some used boxes from the kitchen. This personal attention is what differentiates a good hotel from others. Friendly service staff are the hotel's branding.

However, the service friendliness somehow dips with the afternoon shift. Staff are less approachable but professional. The temperature in the room is inconsistent as it goes by the thermostat. Despite these, I would not hesitate to come back to stay in this hotel again as it offers good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellissee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEGHotelsResponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2011

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. Your comments are greatly appreciated. Thanks for the great comments about our employee Catherine. We will gladly carry this compliment on to her. We will also discussing the other staffs behaviors and taking action to improve.


Our Express Start breakfast bar and passes to Bally Total Fitness are just two of the free amenities we provide our guests. After touring Philadelphia, relax by our outdoor pool or research new attractions with the free Wi-Fi access.

Please consider us on your next visit to Philadelphia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Spent night at The Holiday Inn Express on Walnut and 13th. Very basic, clean hotel; got the Drexel University rate as my son was graduating from there on Saturday. This is a great place to stay if you want to sample lots of good, innovative restaurants. A block or so off Broad Street, and a fun, and lively neighborhood to explore. Had dinner at Bindi, an Indian restaurant (cash only), with very unusual and delicious food preparation. Right now it's BYOB, so we ordered a pitcher of pomegranate/ginger and added our own vodka...excellent! Hotel charged us $21 for parking, but even though check-out was noon, we could keep the car parked until 3:30 pm, which allowed us time for more sight-seeing before heading home.
Hotel is not fancy, but it's a great starting-off point if you want to see Independence Hall, Liberty Bell, Redding (sp?) Market, etc. If you don't mind a noisy atmosphere, you can try El Vez for Mexican food.

Room Tip: Booked in advance; arrived early; room was ready
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolomary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEGHotelsResponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2011

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are always striving to make our service better and appreciate the comments to help us do that.

Our Express Start breakfast bar and passes to Bally Total Fitness are just two of the free amenities we provide our guests. After touring Philadelphia, relax by our outdoor pool or research new attractions with the free Wi-Fi access.

On your next visit to Philadelphia please stay with us!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews