We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a good stay.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
Ranked #64 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Always a good stay.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

Stay here often for work.
Front desk staff are professional...helpful....and fast. Never had a bad experience.

Rooms are always clean and well maintained. Never had problems with noise or safety.
The lot is large....and the lobby is large.
The woman at the bar makes great drinks and is hard working. Had the food several times and it is pretty good.
There are restaurants within walking distance...( chains like TGIF...Chipotle.. ). But many better ones are a short cab ride away.
Like I said.....always a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jintsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCA4100, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you telling us about your experience with us. Our staff is always eager to be of assistance and to provide our guests with a comfortable stay. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    202
    135
    60
    48
See reviews for
170
95
60
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Was here for a night on business; put up in the Executive Wing which includes an executive lounge stocked with complimentary snacks (chips, cookies, fruit, granola bars) and complimentary beverages (soda, water, coffee, juice).

For the price and the room, it is beyond adequate. Will probably be in the area a few time over the course of the next 12 months and will most likely return here.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Canoc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCA4100, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Philadelphia. We are happy that you enjoyed the upgrade, and are looking forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

My family and I stayed here the night before my mom had surgery at University of Pennsylvania Hospital. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Breakfast was buffet style and had a great selection. Rooms were very clean and a good size. We had family meet us here for dinner in the restaurant and both the food and service were really good. They quickly accommodated our large group even without a reservation.
We were originally not sure how the location might work getting into and out of the city. Honestly it could not have worked out better. Easy on and off I-76 and better than staying in the city because parking was free which saved us $25 a day.
Would definitely recommend this hotel as a convenient alternative to staying in the city.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smwalker2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCA4100, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are so happy to hear that we were able to be of service during your stay. Our staff is always ready to go out of their way to make sure our guests' needs are met. Thank you for staying with us while in the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

The staff there is really friendly and helpful. The lady at the counter was really nice, I believe her name is Magaly or something like that. Also the "bell boy" was very helpful and kind his name is Jack Smith. The room was quite nice with a big TV,a Keurig machine for in-room coffee and the beds were comfortable. The hotel has an indoor pool, but we didn't have time to swim. We needed a cab to University City on Monday morning, Jack helped us and it didn't take long, the fare was about $20.00 dls. The only bad thing is that they don't offer free breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99Gabriela99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCA4100, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Gabriela,
Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. Our staff is always here to help, and Jack and Magaly are valued members of our team who will be recognized for their efforts. Thank you for staying with us while in Philadelphia. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

The hotel and staff were efficient & helpful, the hotel was clean & busy, we were delighted to have a one way shuttle into town; however we were led to believe that breakfast was included, yet cost in access of $50 and although pleasant was not worth the cost incured.

Room Tip: We were asked of room preference and suggested a Lower floor, we were given a forth floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCA4100, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Wendy,
Thank you for your feedback about your stay. We are happy to hear that the staff was able to assist you with your visit to the city. I would like to apologize if you were misinformed about the breakfast. We do have rates that include breakfast that can be arranged at the time of booking. We have both a la cart and buffet breakfast options in our restaurant. We strive to provide the highest quality buffet with a large variety for our guests, and I will be sharing your comments with our Director of Food and Beverage. I We truly appreciate having your with us, and we are looking forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

great front desk very helpful
breakfast is very good
a good gym and a small pool to relax
many restaurants in the vicinity especially TGI Friday
100 meters from Target for you shopping

concierge will get you a taxi any hour to go to Pilli center

the bar in the hotel is cool with happy hour

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCA4100, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Itai L,
Thank you for commenting on your stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff was able to be of service. We will be sharing your kind comments with our team, and we hope you will be able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Right off the highway, the hotel is easily accessible and near restaurants and shopping. You definitely have to plan for Philly traffic if you're planning to head downtown - but with no traffic - 15 minutes tops to downtown. We were visiting colleges and the hotel is right down the street from SJU (and they have a discount rate for SJU visitors). The staff could not have been more friendly. The room was clean, quiet, well air conditioned. It could afford a little more lighting at the doorway/near the closet but it's stretching things to find something wrong. There is a shuttle service and a number of people congregate at the main door so it's not necessarily a perfect first impression. But the front desk staff to the bar staff to the housekeeping staff were simply first-rate. We are already booked to return! Free wifi and parking were nice amenities. Fitness room is a little smaller, but if you're a runner - head outside!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dons5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCA4100, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear DonS,
We always enjoy having our college visitors with us, and I am happy to hear that our staff was able to make your stay so pleasant. Our staff truly cares about each guest's experience. Thank you for letting us know about your stay, and we are excited that you will be coming back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
#45 of 85 in Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#25 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West

Property: Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
Address: 4010 City Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Philadelphia - City Avenue Hotel, where travelers are sure to love our great location on City Avenue off I-76 and I-676, less than 15 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport (PHL) and just four miles from downtown Philly. Our hotel near the Main Line of Philadelphia offers leisure travelers easy access to many of the city's most popular attractions. Nature lovers can enjoy the great outdoors at one of the largest parks in the country, Fairmount Park, situated just one mile from our hotel. Our Philly accommodations are also near the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall, the Manayunk Historic District, the Wachovia Center, Penn's Landing and the Philadelphia Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing