We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok, but a nice omelet” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
Ranked #66 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Dobbs Ferry, NY
Level Contributor
162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Just ok, but a nice omelet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night for a Bar Mitzvah near by. We got a very good rate and it was only oen night so we weren't very picky. The room was musty and stuffy. The fan was not working was covered in dust. The blow dryer did not work either. The lobby is nice and the breakfast buffet was nice and it is nice to be able to just park your car in front and not valet. I cannot speak to the location since were not there to see the sites. But there is a Joes Crab Shack and a TGI FRidays across the street. We did not use the pool or gym but they looked like they were in nice shape

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kidfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear kidfree,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    202
    135
    60
    48
See reviews for
169
95
60
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Checking-In

PROS: Fast and easy with free parking. I was able to check in early.
CONS: N/a

Lobby:
PROS: Very comfortable, a lot of seating space with a bar and pool area! It is really nice.
CONS: N/a

Room
PROS: So quiet...loved it!!!
CONS: Did not have a good view; will try to get a better room with another view, next time. The room was also quite small but not a deal breaker

Bathroom
PROS: Clean and powerful water pressure
CONS: The toilet was broken. It was fixed later that night after I checked in.

TV
PROS: HUGE flat screen TV with a host of great channels to chose from.
CONS: N/a

Bed
PROS: PERFECT for comfort!
CONS: N/a

Checking-Out
PROS: Excellent!
CONS: Some one smeared [--] all over my car door. The front desk staff and housekeeping cleaned off my car door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlkLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Close to the center of the city (10 minutes by car), the establishment is well maintained. The room are cleaned diligently, decor is fair for the price. Nearby target and TGIF.

Cross the door and smilley Jack will make everything to make you feel at home, and that is the "philadelphia marathon moto" best time of your life. The crew will do everything to accomodate you.

Thanks Jack and see you soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

The service was exemplary from start to finish. Whenever I wanted information, reception went above and beyond to give me what I needed and more. When I tried to take a local bus (3 minute walk from hotel) but to no avail (delayed over 30 minutes), I called the hotel and asked them to call a cab for me. 2 minutes later, the bellman actually came outside into the freezing cold to bring me back to the hotel to a cab that was waiting. Now, that's service; he didn't even want my tip.

Though the room was nice and clean with a comfortable bed and fully functioning electronic devices, that would not have mattered. The service was impeccable.

P.S. The availability of chocolate milk at breakfast was totally a plus!

Room Tip: Try to get the executive floor if you can; it gets you access to the lounge, which has some snacks a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yarhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
183 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

The staff and service are excellent, but the ac / heat system in the room was old school. Ticking all night. Not sure if each room is like this, but doesnt lead to a very good sleep... The workout room is very good, as was breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Del-Sol0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed with my mom at the Crowne Plaza West for a course. The rooms were comfortable and ok.
The bellman Jack was out of this world! super friendly and willing to help with every little detail we could possibly request.
What a great surprise to meet staff like that. I recomend..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

My teenage daughter and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza West Nov 30th and Dec 1st. The room was very comfortable, and the desk staff and bellman Jack were awesome. Very friendly and willing to help with anything and everything! We had no problems with noise, the bed was very nice, and the heating/cooling worked great. TGI Fridays and Target right in the same parking lot (handy). Might not be a great location for if you are seeing the sights downtown (there is a free drop-off shuttle, but it's a $20 cab ride back), but we were attending an Irish dance competition at the Commodore Barry Irish Center, and it was perfect for that! Issues: We came down for breakfast at 10:50 on Sunday, only to find the restaurant was only open 'til 10:30 for breakfast. :-( Also, the afternoon bellman seemed to have a problem with the fact that Jack (earlier bellman) had already set us up with an airport cab for 4:00pm. There were multiple cabs and I'm pretty sure we got pushed into one that was not the one Jack had set up for us. (It also ended up being $15 more than we had been told). Overall, though, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitePineLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
#47 of 85 in Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#26 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Conwell Inn
#60 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West

Property: Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
Address: 4010 City Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Philadelphia - City Avenue Hotel, where travelers are sure to love our great location on City Avenue off I-76 and I-676, less than 15 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport (PHL) and just four miles from downtown Philly. Our hotel near the Main Line of Philadelphia offers leisure travelers easy access to many of the city's most popular attractions. Nature lovers can enjoy the great outdoors at one of the largest parks in the country, Fairmount Park, situated just one mile from our hotel. Our Philly accommodations are also near the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall, the Manayunk Historic District, the Wachovia Center, Penn's Landing and the Philadelphia Zoo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing