We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
Ranked #64 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service and Location”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This property is very clean, and great hvac in the guest rooms. I called the front desk asking for towels and they were delivered to my room with in minutes. Every employee greets you with a hello and a smile.The hotel is in walking distatnce to over a dozen resturants. Plenty of free parking and very good internet connection. I highly recomend this property. Our room was very large, and the bathroommwasextra clean. I will always stay here when I visit Philadelphia.

Room Tip: We had room 405 which was very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgegnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    202
    135
    60
    48
See reviews for
170
95
60
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Jefferson, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Excellent service. Friendly. Very comfortable rooms and wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

On the positive side this hotel is located conveniently off I76 and is near downtown attractions. I prefer this because I don't like the hassle and added expense of parking downtown when staying at a hotel.

Also, the concierge staff was very friendly and helpful.

The cleaning staff on the other hand was downright awful. Upon arrival I went to take a shower and the tub wouldn't drain because the drain was full of previous guest's hair and what appeared to be makeup cleaning pads. I wasn't too happy to have to dig all this crap out of the drain. We stayed for 3 nights and soap & shampoo were not replaced each day. We had to request more once we were out. Towels were not replaced one day. Each day when we returned to our hotel the air conditioner was set on the lowest setting so our room was cold for 30 minutes or so until it warmed back to a reasonable temperature.

Worst of all, after checking out we realized we left a jacket hanging in the closet of our room. After calling the hotel several times we were told it wasn't there. The person cleaning the room clearly stole this didn't turn it in to lost and found.

I also thought the bucket in the lobby catching water dripping from the bathroom on the floor above was a nice touch.

I'm not at all happy with our stay here and will find somewhere else to stay when returning to Philadelphia.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haw68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This was a comfortable place to stay if you have business in the area. The hotel feels a little on the older side but still clean and comfortable. Noise wasn't too bad. Wish I had time to check out the gym and other amenities.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahorais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We were rebooked with this hotel during our vacation. What a pleasant surprise it was. We were on one of the top floors and the view was great. We were right in the thick of the action. Very close to a lot of the sites.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This location is definitely not the place to stay if you are planning on walking in Philadelphia. Its not anywhere near the historic sites. You could cab it. Its more of a business hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHTbased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed here on a point break reservation.and was satisfied with the accomodations though I though the hotel itself was a little dated. However I can say nothing but great things about the staff. They went out of their way to make sure I was able to find the inetersting sites of Philadelphia. The complimentary breakfast was good although I missed the omlets. To me the biggest drawback was the distance it was from Constitution Hall and the Liberty Bell. If I return to Philadelphia I will probably stay at a property closer to the historic district..

Room Tip: The 8th Floor has an executive lounge with continental breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svargasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
#48 of 85 in Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#26 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West

Property: Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
Address: 4010 City Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Philadelphia - City Avenue Hotel, where travelers are sure to love our great location on City Avenue off I-76 and I-676, less than 15 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport (PHL) and just four miles from downtown Philly. Our hotel near the Main Line of Philadelphia offers leisure travelers easy access to many of the city's most popular attractions. Nature lovers can enjoy the great outdoors at one of the largest parks in the country, Fairmount Park, situated just one mile from our hotel. Our Philly accommodations are also near the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall, the Manayunk Historic District, the Wachovia Center, Penn's Landing and the Philadelphia Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing