We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean but a bit outdated” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City
Ranked #46 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, clean but a bit outdated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We are a family of 4. We have chosen this hotel for the location and also because the room had 2 double beds and a sofa bed; so our teenagers could sleep separately. The rooms are very spacious. There is a kitchenette. Parts of the hotel has been renovated but there some more changes that should be done. The personnel was fantastic; very polite and helpful.

The breakfast is serve in the hotel restaurant. It was basic food but what I preferred was to order an omelet which was good and hot.

The elevator is very slow and we had a problem to unlock the door which took about 6-7 times before it unlock.

We bought citypasses and the trolley bus was included in the booklet. A bus stop was located 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

There's a 5-7 happy hour. Yes it is crowded but we always manage to sit and have a drink which was nice after a long day visiting.

I would recommend this hotel for families.

Room Tip: Room at higher level is less noisy. We were at 23 level which was OK. And I would ask to be on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petitcalimero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    740
    436
    179
    132
See reviews for
754
374
108
528
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here before years ago and will be staying again in the future. I got nervous because of some of the reviews. But I found it just as enjoyable as last time. The rooms are very family friendly (although the couch was a bit worn) and we had a great view of the park. Of course the free reception is packed and the free breakfast as well. Chances are if you are going when it's convenient for you, it's probably convenient for most others as well. And if the product wasn't good no one would go. It's free. You get what you get and you do t get upset. :). We brought our 2 yr old and 8yr old and had all kinds of plans but when we brought our coffee to stroll in the park all plans went out the window as can happen in successfully relaxing vacations. Across the street was a fountain for kids to play in and a childrens park. We could have stayed all day if a nap wasn't in order for the baby. Even my older daughter loved it. She got to attend a free library story time and craft and made half a dozen friends. When she saw the water garden her day was complete and we just sat back relaxed and chatted while the little ones laughed and played. So. Maybe next time we will go for the zoo and museums. Today was perfect. Without the noon checkout out day would probably still have been great but not quite the same.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familytraveler5700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
353 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way to Delaware. It is centrally located and we stayed in room 912 which had a great view of the Free Library. We loved the balcony and sat on it to relax after a day of sightseeing. The hotel room was a great size; however, the ventilation noise was consistent during our entire stay. My family had a difficult time sleeping! I would recommend that you find an alternate to parking, as Valet parking is $38 plus tax per night. The breakfast buffet provided a wide variety of options. I know that staffing is an issue, as there is one person who cooks two (2) made to order omelettes at a time. The staff were very friendly and the front desk staff need to ensure that they are correct with directions. I had asked for information for a gas station and was provided with directions to a location that did not have a gas station at all!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We recommend this well situated and clean hotel. We found the staff friendly and helpful, the beds comfortable and the price a good value. The "cons" are very slow elevators and crowds of tourists in a hurry competing for breakfast in a way too small space to accommodate them. Skip the happy hour too, it's too crowded to be enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyMari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great location, great value, room was much bigger than you would expect in a big city. Beds were adequate, we overlooked the museum district with a great view, also balconies were a nice touch. Managers reception was very good, breakfast at Friday's got a bit crowded, but it was hot and delicious. Only drawback was housekeeping, not quite up to par for an Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank bob2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Now, to begin, I'm not sure if the whole hotel is like this or only our room. Others can confirm maybe.
DON'T stay in room 312. We specifically requested a high floor, but got third flr. Fridge rumbled loudly for 20 mins out of every hour, bath wouldn't drain, AC incredibly noisy, shower shuddered wildly when hot water turned on, keycards wouldn't work (even when changed, took on average 10 tries) and finally, water pipes in the walls banging regularly all night. There was no sleep for three out of four of us.
Staff were sympathetic, promised to fix problem or change room, but did neither.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 312!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank namrogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney G, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for review of the Embassy suites Philadelphia. I truly apologize for the obvious sub standard room accommodations you received. The issues you mentioned have been corrected and I appreciate you bringing them to our attention. We have used your review for our housekeeping team as a training tool to help ensure our rooms are up to standard. I am surprised that our team did not follow through with changing your room, which is just not the norm for them. I hope that this experience will not detour you and your family from coming back to the Embassy Suites Philadelphia. Again, please accept my sincere apologies and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Room was a good size - the hotel is round so each room is a piece of the pie. The bed was comfortable, but the shower curtain was stained and there was some water damage on the ceiling in the tub. The elevators are slow at breakfast time and checkout time - as others have mentioned - but they are small and fill quickly. The breakfast was nothing to write home about. Omelets made to order, potatoes, bacon, sausage - we wished that we had gone out for something special.
Not much to do in the immediate area for nightlife - perfect location if you are doing the museums, and an easy walk to the subway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dzdan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City
Address: 1776 Benjamin Franklin Parkway, Philadelphia, PA 19103-1211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suite, full service hotel, TGI Friday's attached to hotel, guest laundry, fitness room, valet parking available. All suites have kitchenette area, balconies with sweeping views of the city, two televisions, two phones, living, dining, work areas, separate bedroom with choice of one king or two double bed. Queen size sleep sofa in living room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Philadelphia
Philadelphia Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing