We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“"An enjoyable getaway"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City
Ranked #44 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jackson Heights, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"An enjoyable getaway"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was the first time we stayed at an Embassy Suites Hotel and we were pleasantly surprised. Included in our room rate was a complimentary breakfast, evening reception and internet service. Our suite included a spacious living room, dining room, kitchen, bath and bedroom. Our balcony overlooked Logan Square. The front desk staff was very accommodating and arranged for late check-out. We would definitely recommend this hotel which is located in the heart of the downtown area, making it convenient to all the attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    683
    398
    153
    113
See reviews for
678
323
95
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Pines, Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here just one night, but have stayed here in the past and love this hotel. Love the weird layout of the rooms. It used to an apartment building and spend a lot of time trying to figure out where things would have gone. The managers reception is great. Especially soft pretzel night! Hotel is an easy walk from most places. Yes, parking fees are crazy, but they are just in line with all the other hotels in the area. Elevators can be a bit of a wait and you never know which way to turn to find your room! We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wavelets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here on Sunday, February 24th with 5 other ladies using a special groupon rate of $99 plus tax. WOW! The room we had was one of the largest suites we've ever experienced! We were in awe at the size of the room. Plus every room has a balcony! Talk about "roomy". The hotel only has valet parking and the price was a bit steep, but the guys who took care of us were extremely helpful and friendly. The view of the city was spectacular. The lobby had very comfortable chairs for lounging. The free breakfast buffet at TGIF's was decent. Our only complaint was the 'food' offered during happy hour; gold fish crackers and tortilla chips & salsa; something a bit more appealing would have been nice. We will DEFINITELY stay at this hotel for our next outing into downtown Philly!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridley Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We got an outstanding deal for a room here to celebrate my birthday.

The rooms themselves are huge, with couches, a wet bar, micro fridge, table, etc. The bedroom was nice and the room did feel upscale. The problem is that it was quite noisy. The A/C unit hidden in the wall was very loud, and kept my fiancee up all night. The mini fridge had a slipping belt and was very loud and annoying- I should have unplugged it. The ice machine was opposite my room and also irritating. There was a bachelorette party next door, and that was loud.

Happy hour featured free well drinks, beer and wine selections, and munchies. It gets packed on weekends with the wedding crowd. The free breakfast is upstairs from the TGI Friday's on the property. It is standard breakfast fare, and is reminiscent of a college cafeteria. I found a lot of the food selections to be not very hot, and the room was set up somewhat poorly. But, it was free. Also wifi was NOT free, but you might be able to get ATT wifi. Parking is pricy but convenient.

I might consider staying here again, especially if you have a group "activity" like a guys' weekend type thing, since the rooms are huge... but I hope all the rooms do not have such a noise problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay with us. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including areas for improvement. I understand that the noise was an issue during your stay; while we do have additional security and overnight managers available during high traffic periods, we certainly do encourage, for guests comfort and safety, that they contact the front office so we can calm the issue. I would also like to apologize for the noise issues within your room. I've addressed our maintenance team to ensure that everything is well maintained and working properly. I do hope the next time you return to the area you consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
156 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stay at this hotel whenever I visit Philadelphia, and it never disappoints! The day we were set to check-in I got very sick, and when I called to see what I could do about changing the reservation, they were more than happy to change the booking to the following weekend at no charge. Most hotels would not have been so accomodating, so I was really impressed.
The center city location is perfect- very close to all the tourist attractions, restaurants, bars, and museums. The rooms are large and comfortable, with a living room, small kitchenette, bedroom and balcony. The views are also very impressive from all sides of the building. There is a little bit of noise from the street, but one should expect that in a downtown hotel.
They do offer valet parking for $46 a night, but i'm sure the lots around the hotel would be more reasonably priced. They also offer free breakfast at the TGI Fridays downstairs.
Although this hotel is great, do keep in mind that this is a slightly older building, so the elevators do take a long time (especially during peak hours).
Overall though, this is a really good hotel for a night out in Philly- I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor for even better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matanda28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We booked this for a weekend stay in Philadelphia for myself, my husband and our son. It was actually even better than expected. The design of the hotel is great. You have to put your key in the elevator to allow you to the correct floor, but this adds for increased safety and seclusion, rather than anyone being allowed on any floor. Every room is a suite and the room itself is quite large. It includes a nice size kitchenette and pull-out sofa in the living room. The comfort made it easy to feel similar to home.

Reservations also include hot breakfast every morning in the TGIFridays downstairs. Now this was a little hectic due to the long lines and crowded space. However the food was still good and free to boot. Parking is $45/night valet, but I'm sure the hotel is taking advantage since there is no where to park in this area. I didn't have any trouble with the valet service though. We would call from our room and our car would be there by the time we got downstairs.

Overall a great stay and would definitely stay again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Valet parking is $45/night! Yikes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarylandLadyBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I write a conflicted review because overall, I really enjoyed my stay here and would likely come back. But there were an equal amount of pros and cons for me...

Pros:
- Spacious suites. I was impressed at the size of the living room and sheer comfort of the beds. Loved the views.
- Free breakfast buffet with lot of options and omelet station
- Free managers reception. I didn't partake when I saw how many guests were utlizing this. It looked like madness and a free drink wasn't worth it to me.
- Location is fantastic. Rittenhouse is 10-15 minutes walk, Natural science museum couple of blocks away among other things. Very convenient location.

Cons:
- Ventilation subpar. One day I couldn't figure out why my room smelled like skunk all day. I had to open the patio door to air out. It was only the next morning around 10:30 when I was laying in bed, when the odor started wafting in, I realized it was marijuana. I was irritated that I had to be subjected to that.
- Elevators: You needed a room key to get to your floor. While this is a great security measure, when the elevator is full, you are lucky to get your key in fast enough. I was on floor 7 and twice, I wasn't able to get my card in and had to go up to the top to come back down. Total BS. Also, the hotel is a big tower and with the positioning of the elevators on each floor, you are guaranteed to be confused where your room is (dpending on which elevator you come out).
- Breakfast: I am pretty accepting with the negatives when free breakfast is involved but wanted to be honest on what you should expect. Both days I went, the buffet was out of food and you were picking at what was left. The layout is terrible so people are bumping into each other standing around waiting for food, or trying to get by. One time I had food but there were no forks. So, my food got cold by the time I got a fork.
- Valet parking: $38 per day....crazy! Oh and then they added $7 tax per day so for 2 days, my parking was $91. Too expensive.

Overall, I would likely consider this hotel again based on the suites and location. I might look for cheaper daily parking nearby, though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaCara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#19 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City
Address: 1776 Benjamin Franklin Parkway, Philadelphia, PA 19103-1211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suite, full service hotel, TGI Friday's attached to hotel, guest laundry, fitness room, valet parking available. All suites have kitchenette area, balconies with sweeping views of the city, two televisions, two phones, living, dining, work areas, separate bedroom with choice of one king or two double bed. Queen size sleep sofa in living room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Philadelphia
Philadelphia Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing