We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Stay away from the top floors” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City
Ranked #44 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stay away from the top floors”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I thought this hotel was a great location and enjoyed the spacious rooms. Was there during a busy weekend for the Army Navy game so waiting on elevators did take some time. They have three. I would have been happy, however my room on the 26th floor smelled like cigarette smoke! Apparently the floors above 26 are smoking rooms and the smell makes its way to the 26th floor. I did ask the desk to do something and they had housekeeping change out all the linens, sprayed febreze and left me with an electric air filter which did help some. Friends who stayed on the 18th floor didn't have this issue. Recommend they stop allowing smoking in the rooms.

Room Tip: Reserve rooms on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GirlOnTheGo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while in town for the big game and for sharing feedback on your stay via TripAdvisor. We are very sorry for the unpleasant smoke smell you encountered and are glad to announce we will be transitioning to a non-smoking property in the coming year. In the meantime we will work closely with our housekeeping and maintenance teams to ensure every guest room is clean and fresh so as to avoid similar experiences moving forward. We are glad to hear you found our location convenient for your activities in town and we hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you visit the area.

Thank you,

David Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    683
    398
    153
    113
See reviews for
679
323
95
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin-TX
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a slightly dated property, but has been updated with some newer furniture, so the rooms in general are pretty decent, the suite is very spacious. Not sure if the living room has a sofa bed but if it does have one, then I would say it would be a good deal for a family. I believe all the rooms come with an open balcony, mine did (which is a nice touch) and decent size kitchenette with microwave/fridge (no stove). The rooms are not as sparkly as the professionally shot pictures show.

The location is okay I guess and the views may be nice depending on which floor you are on and which way your room is facing - I wouldn't count on it. I was supposed to be on a 20-something floor, which was smoking and the only non-smoking room they could find for me was on the 9th floor. Views not that exciting! The choices of nice restaurants within walking distance are poor. The one Chinese place (Asia on the Parkway) that delivers is pricey and the quality of the food is low. Other choices are TGIF (go figure!), no nice steak/seafood place.

The service was really disappointing, first it took for ever to check me in, then I was booked in a smoking room supposedly by my booking tool (which has never happened in the past), then when I asked for the free water for Hilton silver members, I was told it's not in my profile and I need to go online and update it (again never happened in the past, always get the water sometimes without asking at all Hilton chains).

They do offer free made to order breakfast (location of the restaurant is inconvenient, 2nd floor) so if you are up there with your luggage now you have to wait for the elevator for just one floor. They also offered managers reception - so free drinks I guess? I didn't take advantage of it. The snacks are no good though (chips and pretzels).

Parking: No self parking, valet only @$45 Yup! So make sure you factor that into your cost.

Room Tip: I'd say ask for the room on a high floor facing the nice side, but they probably won't help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveler5125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We always appreciate hearing from our guests and we apologize your visit was not exceptional. We are sorry to hear you had a delayed check-in process and that your preferred room type and location was not available. We do try to accommodate HHonors members' preferences and apologize this was not the case. We will keep your comments on the convenience and selection of our dining options as well as parking pricing and other amenities in mind as we continually work for ways to improve our guests' satisfaction. We hope you will consider staying with us again so we might show you the quality service and amenities you deserve the next time your travel brings you to our area.

Thank you,

David Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Incredible views, huge rooms that are well fitted with fantastic beds and just all around amazing. It's a great deal, too, for just how big they are and how close the hotel is to everything.

The elevator is a little less than convenient. To only have one with so many rooms was bad architecture. Expect some delays and no room to get on during busy hours. The big downside was Valet. No exaggeration, it took them ONE HOUR to get the car. Sadly, we weren't the only ones, either. Not sure if it was a staffing issue or just poor organization, but it wasn't the best way to end our stay.

Overall, I'd give them another shot because of the room quality and staff kindness, but I would certainly bring it up upon check in that I would be leery of valet.

Room Tip: I was in a smoking room and even though I'm a non smoker I was fine - I couldn't smell any r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NC1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I recently stayed at this property for a business trip, and after reading some of the reviews below, I was a bit nervous. After checking in, all my concerns quickly went away.

The front desk and staff were very helpful and quickly pointed me in the right direction to grab a bit to eat (arrived at 12:30am) and asked what else they could assist with, it was a perfect checkin.

I headed up to my room, which was an upgrade king suite and was surprised with the size and how nice the layout was. A small kitchen, couch, tv, dinning room table, it was all very nice and very clean. The balcony was a nice touch, and although my view wasnt the greatest, it was nice to step out for some fresh air.

The bedroom was clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was perfect.

I did head out for a bite to eat after checking in, and this hotel does have a very central location in the CIty. It is also right across the street from the Four Seasons Hotel, so you can feel confident you are in a nice area of the city.

I would stay here again, and when I travel back to Philly in two weeks, this will probably be where I stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timmy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel is alright from the outside and the lobby. You can certainly tell its age from the lobby and elevators. The reps at the front of the hotel were seemingly nice but they seem to be just reading from a script when talking to you. Not very sincere. Oh well. On the floor of your rooms, the hallways and doorways are all gross and dated with scuff marks on the walls and doors. They really need a new paint job or something. It also really makes you question the cleanliness and how well they take care of the rest of the hotel. My room smelled like smoke, and all the kitchen cupboards were opened as if someone just finished cleaning it or checking it. The size of the suite is large and that's probably the only redeeming factor other than the hotel's location. But then again, it is embassy SUITES, and if you compare it to other embassy suites, it's a lot poorer in quality and service. On first glance, the room seemed clean. However, someone must have forgotten to clean under my bathroom's toilet seat because when I lifted the seat to urinate, there was dried urine stains and pubes all over the toilet rim. It was nasty. I've never had that experience before and I travel extensively all over the world. Even hotels in 3rd world countries do better than that in terms of cleaning!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize that we were unable to meet expectations and based upon your review I am actively participating with our housekeeping staff to ensure this does not happen again. We know how important a clean and comfortable environment is while traveling and our guests deserve the best. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area that you will consider staying with us again.

Thank you,

David Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Philadelphia hotels

Lookout Mountain, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We booked for 3 nights to enjoy T'giving Parade from balcony and see family. View was great, but heater was so loud that at night, we'd turn it off completely. The breakfast would have been fine had we been only 2 of 100, but the set up was far too tight for hungry hordes--not enough tables, not enough food, jockeying for beverages, underdone bacon, unmonitored food supplies, dirty tables. We felt like rats in ship's hold, fighting for the same crumb, opting out for last morning. Elevator waits were long, followed by sardine-in-can experience. Actual suite was very nice, although all noise on floor lobby was audible. Staff was nice but overwhelmed.

Room Tip: If visiting at peak time, try for lower floor as you'll want to use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for providing insight on your recent experience at our hotel. I am glad our location was convenient for your activities in town and that you were able to see the parade from your room. I sincerely apologize for your experience in our breakfast area and for the claustrophobic atmosphere associated with high occupancy. Please know that we are working on a solution to the problem and hope to enact preventative measures in the coming months. We look for reviews such as yours to provide insight into our guests’ experience, so I certainly appreciate your feedback. The next time you are in the area, we would love for you to stay with us again.

Thank you,

David Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel has a good location and the rooms are spacious but...it is loud! You can hear everything and it felt like every door in the hallway slammed closed...nonstop. The elevators can be slow and if no one is there to organize the crowd then forget it. Prepare to wait or take the stairs. The breakfast buffet was ok but very crowded.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. Like you said our location and large suits is very favorable with all our guests. Unfortunately due to us being popular is that we sell out often and we do have a lot of guests especially on holiday events and weekends. Our goal is excellent service so we will work harder on solutions to make the hotel feel lees crowded on our busy nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City
Address: 1776 Benjamin Franklin Parkway, Philadelphia, PA 19103-1211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suite, full service hotel, TGI Friday's attached to hotel, guest laundry, fitness room, valet parking available. All suites have kitchenette area, balconies with sweeping views of the city, two televisions, two phones, living, dining, work areas, separate bedroom with choice of one king or two double bed. Queen size sleep sofa in living room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Philadelphia
Philadelphia Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing