We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City
Ranked #44 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

I recently stayed at this property for a business trip, and after reading some of the reviews below, I was a bit nervous. After checking in, all my concerns quickly went away.

The front desk and staff were very helpful and quickly pointed me in the right direction to grab a bit to eat (arrived at 12:30am) and asked what else they could assist with, it was a perfect checkin.

I headed up to my room, which was an upgrade king suite and was surprised with the size and how nice the layout was. A small kitchen, couch, tv, dinning room table, it was all very nice and very clean. The balcony was a nice touch, and although my view wasnt the greatest, it was nice to step out for some fresh air.

The bedroom was clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was perfect.

I did head out for a bite to eat after checking in, and this hotel does have a very central location in the CIty. It is also right across the street from the Four Seasons Hotel, so you can feel confident you are in a nice area of the city.

I would stay here again, and when I travel back to Philly in two weeks, this will probably be where I stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timmy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    705
    413
    164
    121
See reviews for
706
339
99
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel is alright from the outside and the lobby. You can certainly tell its age from the lobby and elevators. The reps at the front of the hotel were seemingly nice but they seem to be just reading from a script when talking to you. Not very sincere. Oh well. On the floor of your rooms, the hallways and doorways are all gross and dated with scuff marks on the walls and doors. They really need a new paint job or something. It also really makes you question the cleanliness and how well they take care of the rest of the hotel. My room smelled like smoke, and all the kitchen cupboards were opened as if someone just finished cleaning it or checking it. The size of the suite is large and that's probably the only redeeming factor other than the hotel's location. But then again, it is embassy SUITES, and if you compare it to other embassy suites, it's a lot poorer in quality and service. On first glance, the room seemed clean. However, someone must have forgotten to clean under my bathroom's toilet seat because when I lifted the seat to urinate, there was dried urine stains and pubes all over the toilet rim. It was nasty. I've never had that experience before and I travel extensively all over the world. Even hotels in 3rd world countries do better than that in terms of cleaning!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize that we were unable to meet expectations and based upon your review I am actively participating with our housekeeping staff to ensure this does not happen again. We know how important a clean and comfortable environment is while traveling and our guests deserve the best. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area that you will consider staying with us again.

Thank you,

David Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Philadelphia hotels

Lookout Mountain, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We booked for 3 nights to enjoy T'giving Parade from balcony and see family. View was great, but heater was so loud that at night, we'd turn it off completely. The breakfast would have been fine had we been only 2 of 100, but the set up was far too tight for hungry hordes--not enough tables, not enough food, jockeying for beverages, underdone bacon, unmonitored food supplies, dirty tables. We felt like rats in ship's hold, fighting for the same crumb, opting out for last morning. Elevator waits were long, followed by sardine-in-can experience. Actual suite was very nice, although all noise on floor lobby was audible. Staff was nice but overwhelmed.

Room Tip: If visiting at peak time, try for lower floor as you'll want to use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for providing insight on your recent experience at our hotel. I am glad our location was convenient for your activities in town and that you were able to see the parade from your room. I sincerely apologize for your experience in our breakfast area and for the claustrophobic atmosphere associated with high occupancy. Please know that we are working on a solution to the problem and hope to enact preventative measures in the coming months. We look for reviews such as yours to provide insight into our guests’ experience, so I certainly appreciate your feedback. The next time you are in the area, we would love for you to stay with us again.

Thank you,

David Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel has a good location and the rooms are spacious but...it is loud! You can hear everything and it felt like every door in the hallway slammed closed...nonstop. The elevators can be slow and if no one is there to organize the crowd then forget it. Prepare to wait or take the stairs. The breakfast buffet was ok but very crowded.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. Like you said our location and large suits is very favorable with all our guests. Unfortunately due to us being popular is that we sell out often and we do have a lot of guests especially on holiday events and weekends. Our goal is excellent service so we will work harder on solutions to make the hotel feel lees crowded on our busy nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We recently spent a long weekend in Philly at the Embassy Suites in Center City. Our "room" was actually more like a one-bedroom apartment, with two balconies - breath-taking views. The location is outstanding - walking distance to Love Park, the Reading Market, Franklin Institute, etc. We found the Customer Service to be warm and friendly. The only negative was their morning breakfast set-up, as it is located in the adjacent TGIF's (and was poorly organized). Otherwise, it is a wonderful property we can highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwells57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your great review. I will share the comment “We found the customer service to be warm and friendly” with all our operation employees as they are the heart of this hotel and really appreciate these kind and friendly comments. I will notify TGIF management in regards to their breakfast setup and ask for a better solution especially on our busy weekends. Thank you for your kind and constructive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel itself was OK. The room was nice, large, and clean. The location is wonderful; right in the heart of the city. The negatives were the customer service and the overall organization. I booked the hotel to run the Philadelphia Marathon. Check in the day before the race was not until 4:00 which seems really late to me. I got at the hotel at 12:00 and was told I could pre-check in and they would call when the room was ready. I left and went to the runner's expo and never got a phone call from the hotel. I returned to the hotel around 3:30 and my room was still not ready. I waited in the waiting area with dozens of other runners waiting for their rooms and there was a very long line to the front desk. At 4:00 I was told my room was still not ready, and still not ready at 4:15. At 4:30 the room was finally ready but I never got a phone call. The next day check out was noon & the hotel did not offer later check out. The noon check out made me have to pack my bag and check it prior to the Marathon. In the future I would suggest the hotel bring on more staff the day before the Philadelphia Marathon and allow earlier check in & later check out. But again the proximity to the Start/Finish line was perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy78Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your posting. Usually we have not been sold out the Friday before the Marathon and can have rooms ready earlier for early check-in but like you said we will make sure to have additional staff to make the process smoother going forward. Our goal is excellent customer service and constant improvement so we thank you for your constructive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Only complaint about this hotel is the elevators. When the hotel is full, you will wait. We stayed at the hotel because 1. it was close to the start/finish line for the Philadelphia Marathon and 2. the suite arrangement. Four women in one room, you need lots of space and more than one sink and mirror, etc. For that, ES was perfect. Check-in was a breeze and we even got our room early. Hotel is nicely located for walking to various restaurants and attactions. We only needed a cab once and that was because it was later in the evening and our group of ladies (which included other folks staying in the hotel) were all wearing heels - minimal walking required. The breakfast included with the stay is good. Very crowded but good. Happy hour in the evening is a nice touch and we enjoyed it. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Our only complaint the entire weekend (we stayed 3 nights) was regarding the elevators and having to wait. At times we even took the stairs - 9 floors.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SigKap27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you’re happy with the hotel overall, its amenities, and location. The elevators are for sure one of our main concerns on sold out nights and we do strive every sold out night to figure a way to maximize them the best we can. Our height is one of our greatest perks as we have great views all around of the city but the down side is the elevators do take longer to get up and down. We will still strive to find more solutions to the elevators and thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center West
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City
Address: 1776 Benjamin Franklin Parkway, Philadelphia, PA 19103-1211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suite, full service hotel, TGI Friday's attached to hotel, guest laundry, fitness room, valet parking available. All suites have kitchenette area, balconies with sweeping views of the city, two televisions, two phones, living, dining, work areas, separate bedroom with choice of one king or two double bed. Queen size sleep sofa in living room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Philadelphia
Philadelphia Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing