We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Increible con precios buenos” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taco Riendo

Taco Riendo
Ranked #830 of 4,318 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Increible con precios buenos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The best place in Philadelphia that we've been to thus far for authentic Mexican tacos. From the handmade corn tortillas to the cooking method of the meat to the salsas and little bit of lime to squeeze over the tacos, you cannot go wrong for $3/taco. My favorite is the chicken and I love the sopes too. My h my husband loves the Azteca which is steak and nopal (cactus) with cheese and he is over the moon with the roasted corn--it's just like what we've bought on the streets of Mexico: roasted, smeared in mayonnaise and cotija cheese and spices. Top it off with a typical Mexico soda or horchata and it's a great, cheap, meal. Buen provecho!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneGarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We come here once every two weeks, the food is prepared fresh and always outstanding. The menu has something for every mood and every craving. Highly recommend getting there in time for breakfast (up to 3pm I think), the Chorizo/Cheese and Potato tacos are perfect.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I really enjoyed the atmosphere of this place, The food was amazing. corn on the cob is a must it's mmm mmm good. I will be coming back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank disneylover87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Out of the way, but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is an off-the-beaten-path Mexican place. You order and pay at the counter, but the food is brought directly to your table. The ambiance is festive and feels authentic.

During our last visit, we had the Enchiladas de Mole con Pollo and the Burrito de Enchilada. Both were delicious, especially if you like mole sauce, but the Burrito de Enchilada was the clear winner between the two. We've also had the tacos, which are delicious but a bit small.

A few tips:
1. The restaurant is cash only. You can eat for $10/person, but bring $15 if you don't want to feel limited.
2. Taco Riendo is BYO.
3. Chips & salsa are not complimentary.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HatesBaggageClaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An amazing slice of Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2009

I was visiting a friend in Philly and he took me to his neighborhood taco restaurant. This is an incredible find. I literally thought I was in Mexico. The food is incredibly authentic and the fish tacos are to die for. Definitely try the made-to-order guacamole. Everything about this delightful restaurant is authentic. You will not be disappointed. It'll save you a trip to Mexico to eat the same thing. Definitely check this place out!

Helpful?
Thank raleighdiver8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Riendo also viewed

 

Been to Taco Riendo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing