We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of Penrose Diner

Penrose Diner
Ranked #89 of 4,509 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: South Philadelphia
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Fast and friendly service at 8 am on a weekday. Husband loved the italian sausage omelette and we all loved the french toast. Coffee was delicious too. Lots of parking unlike other places we considered. Great meal and reasonable prices!

Thank Angiesalga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, Owner at Penrose Diner, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Hello,

We always love to see people up bright and early! I'm glad that our service was quick and friendly for your visit. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and I'm happy you enjoyed it but feel free to try something off our lunch and dinner menu when you have the time. Thank you for writing a review on this site and sharing your experience with others. Have a good day!

Bill Dovas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 151 of 213 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had great food at this family diner. Homemade breakfast had huge servings. Lunches and dinners are also good and hearty. The desserts are unbelievable with a vast selection. The wait staff made us feel welcomed to Philly and even gave us advice on transportation and directions. Our favorite waitress was Dawn-ask for her and tell her Hi! from her North Dakota customers.

Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, Owner at Penrose Diner, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Hello Rosemary,

Wow! You traveled from North Dakota? Welcome to Philadelphia, hope your trip was a great time. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that the quality of food was to your liking. I am glad our staff was friendly and professional as they should always be and I will let Dawn know you said hello. Next time you come to Philly we hope to hear from you. Thanks again for sharing your experience with others on this site. Have a good day!

Bill Dovas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

the food was ok nothing all that special. Philly should not be thought of as a good restaurant city. the staff was like a family that i thought was nice. Dinner seamed to stay busy.

Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, Owner at Penrose Diner, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Hello James,

It's great to see you feel our staff is a family from what you have seen. We try to support each other and bring out the best in one another so that our customers can feel extra special when they come to eat a meal. I would like to know what could be done so that the food is more than average? Your feedback is vital. Thank you for writing a review and sharing your experience with others on this site. Have a good day. Hope to hear from you soon.

Bill Dovas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Open Late / Open Early for arrival any time of day. Friendly attentive staff, good food, great coffee! Thank you:)

Thank Bfloldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Penrose Diner, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Hello,

I would like to say we are so happy you are visiting us from Las Vegas! I hope you enjoyed your trip to Philly and I am so glad to hear that you had a great experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to write to us. It is much appreciated. Have a lovely day !

Kind Regards,
Bill Dovas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

does not get any better than this. Great service. Excellent meals. The specials are worth the visit.

Thank twu234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, Manager at Penrose Diner, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and share your experience dining with us with others on this site!

Warm Regards,
Bill Dovas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penrose Diner also viewed

 

Been to Penrose Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing