We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "REAL" South Philly Diner - great food, reasonable prices, large selection and good service.”
Review of Penrose Diner

Penrose Diner
Ranked #93 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: South Philadelphia
Doylestown,PA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A "REAL" South Philly Diner - great food, reasonable prices, large selection and good service.”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stopped by several times on the way to the airport. This restaurant is open 24/7. It's clean, has a full menu and service is good. If you're in a rush, ask for the check when your food is served. Great place for coffee and breakfast, early morning. There's plenty of seating, so if the parking lot is full there is likely plenty of room inside. My wife and I enjoyed our time with our daughter before her flight back to NOLA. Enjoyed hearing the South Philly accents.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoylestownTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, Manager at Penrose Diner, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for your review, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your food and the service. Glad you liked the South Philly atmosphere, we love it here! Thank you for coming in and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Bill Dovas
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    77
    19
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Only diner I go to”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Always dependable and really the only diner I go to in south Philly. It's really clean and always a friendly environment.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, Manager at Penrose Diner, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you! This messsage brought a smile to my face; it makes me very happy to hear we are your go-to-diner in South Philly! There are many options in the area, and I'm glad you choose to dine with us!

Thank you kindly,
Bill Dovas
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
“Great old time diner”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Friendly, considerate, and efficient staff, good food, large portions, great value for the price. Waitress was very acommodating and had good suggestions.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, Manager at Penrose Diner, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed dining with us, and thank you for taking the time to write this review! Hope you will come back and visit again next time you are in the area!

Kind Regards,
Bill Dovas
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan Twp, NJ
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Traditional diner...”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Look up diner in a dictionary and you'll see the Penrose. Diner food and service at it's best in a nice friendly atmosphere. Prices a very good and you get a good portion. It's a South Philly landmark in my opinion. Wife's family lived up 20th St like forever and my wife and I stopped there often. Food is always good and consistant. We liked it 20yrs ago and still do today. Not far from the stadiums, so it's great for pre and post game eating. Go there. You'll be back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, Manager at Penrose Diner, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hi Bob,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! I'm glad you enjoy dining at Penrose and I thank you for sharing your opinions with others on this site!

Kind Regards,
Bill Dovas
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halberstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
234 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Ok place to go to”
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Came by there on the way to airport, decided to stop since it wasn't as crowded as othe places around.We were not disappointed. Food was very good, homemade, even had wine to our dinner at no extra charge. My wife loved the London broil, my pork chops were good too and indeed a whole lot. Waiting could have been better though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank legrandviper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, Manager at Penrose Diner, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Glad you decided to stop in and try us on your visit state-side and also glad you enjoyed your meals!

Thank you for taking the time to write this review!

Kind Regards,
Bill Dovas
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penrose Diner also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Penrose Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing