We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, unique diner food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Continental Mid-Town

Continental Mid-Town
Ranked #34 of 4,318 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City Center West
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good, unique diner food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We actually ate at the Old City location. It was good food, a unique menu. Service was lacking - slow, uninterested in their jobs, food sat in the window for at least 10 minutes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Parisa63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    219
    59
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“good salads/terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

my husband and i sat outside to enjoy the sunshine for lunch. We waited 15 minutes before i finally ordered at the bar. the salads are always large and delicious.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarag7229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Vibrant scene, excellent fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

With a very contemporary feel, Continental on Chestnut is a great spot in the French Quarter for both couples and small parties. Mostly Tapas choices, nearly everything we tried was top notch—baby back ribs, grilled octopus, hanger steak. Only the lobster mac and cheese was a bit disappointing. If they used 2/3rds less mac and cheese we might have been able to taste the lobster flavor. Hanging basket seating at some 2-tops made the experience different. Great service, good fun.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NCMort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, New York
Level Contributor
415 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Just happened to stop in for dinner, and was very pleased by the atmosphere and the food. The sea bass was absolutely delicious. Will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kristen033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere and Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Yum! Went for brunch today, but any menu is excellent. I love coming here because its a fun atmosphere and staff is wonderful. Today I had the calamari salad ( so so good). My friend had the BIG BANG breakfast. Holy food. Everything was great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cawwee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Continental Mid-Town also viewed

 

Been to Continental Mid-Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing