We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BYOB”

La Fontana Della Citta
Reserve with OpenTable
La Fontana Della Citta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #494 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: 17th Street
Rome
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great BYOB”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We dined here over the weekend. The service was very good. Our waiter made recommendations about entrees and made the evening special for our friend's birthday. The Gnocchi was delicious and is made in house. The menu is extensive otherwise.
The perfect choice for BYOB.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Designertee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    34
    25
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Highland Lakes, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Italian place”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This restaurant has good food, good prices, a very friendly staff, and a nice, quiet environment (with indoor and outdoor seating).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great for large parties”
Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

We had a rehearsal dinner there. The price and quality were incredible. They managed to offer selection from over 10 entrees for a party of 50-- and they made two special entrees in response to a request. The space is very nice, although cramped. Communication in advance was not so good. A detailed request that i sent by email a week in advance, and followed up with phone call to be sure they knew i sent it, was unknown to staff at our arrival. But, they quickly and pleasantly responded at the start of event. We were last party scheduled for the evening and there was no pressure to leave.

Helpful?
1 Thank travelerofworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bad Service”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Large portions. The gnoochi sorrentina and shrimp linguine were good but service was not great. They accidently got my friend's dishes mixed up and instead of just passing the plate down the table they insisted on taking it back to the kitchen first even the piece of shrimp she had already taken. There was a bug in another friend's lasagna which apparently also had sauce tasting like spaghetti-os. After their not so great service they required a 20% gratuity because we were a fairly large group. Overall we were notpleased and don't expect to go again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pps_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good but not gourmet”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We were lucky to get a table because somehow our reservation could not be found. Nevertheless management did find us a table and on a warm night we ate outside. One of us ordered a veal chop and had no complaints, one of us ordered a veal dish with vegetables, and I ordered a veal dish, French style, and a pasta fagioli soup. My companions ordered salads. The soup was fine and the salads were good but not exceptional. There was plenty of food (in fact, probably a little too much). The mango sorbet for dessert was very refreshing. If you are making reservations, do so a few days ahead and call back to reconfirm.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sbklaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fontana Della Citta also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to La Fontana Della Citta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing