We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”

The Couch Tomato Cafe'
Ranked #11 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Manayunk
Description: The Couch Tomato Café is your number one destination in Manayunk for gourmet pizzas & salads, known for its thin-crust NY-style pizza, as well as its large, fresh, & creative salads. Upon opening in 2003, it quickly establishing itself as the area’s leading takeout, delivery, and catering favorite, winning several accolades including “Best Pizza” by Philadelphia Magazine, and “Best Soups”by City Paper, just to name a few. It’s focus on buying local, and specialization in vegetarian, vegan, and gluten-free offerings has helped make The Couch Tomato Cafe’ a popular choice!The Couch Tomato Cafés extensive menu includes:Gourmet Pizzas & CalzonesSpecialty Salads & WrapsSignature Sandwiches & PaninisHomemade Soups.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

There are so many options, The Coach Tomato could satisfy any craving. The salads and wraps are fresh and huge. Easily enough for two meals. The pizzas are inventive and delicious.

Overall, worth the stop. Especially if you're looking for a less commitment than a sit-down and more than fast food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    85
    17
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Awesome pizza - best in the area!”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Not only the tastiest, but also the most affordable, option in the area. Barbecue chicken pizza is amazing - I have it twice a week for lunch. Excellent service as well.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“amazing pizza and salads”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

very good soups and great stuff for lunch
I always go here for lunch and not yet dissapointed

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hugz415
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“fresh ingredients make their food delicious!”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I love the couch tomato cafe! I work nearby and I frequently order take out for lunch or head over with my boss for lunch. I believe the reason their food is so good is that the ingredients taste so fresh. There is nothing like ordering a salad that is crisp, and full of tasty ingredients. It makes eating healthy fun! I love that they are always adding new salads and items to their menu - I haven't tried the paninis yet but they sound awesome.

They have a great rewards program for frequent customers - also always send coupons and offers via email. The one thing I can say is that they area tad on the pricey side - so this helps. But I would much rather pay a little more for a delicious salad than get one that tastes terrible with wilted lettuce.

Another good tip - their homemade balsalmic dressing is ridiculously good - you can buy it there to bring home as well!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hugz415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Best Crust!”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We walked past The Couch Tomato Cafe' this summer during the arts festival in Manayunk. They were handing out free samples of a walnut gorgonzola pizza, and my friends and I were so impressed by how good it was. It seems like they have a lot of really creative things on their menu, which we've learned of by going back. About a week ago we stopped in for a quick bite during lunch, and although space is limited, we sat outside and ordered some salads, soup, and a small pizza. Everything was really outstanding. The cook there seems to have a knack of knowing flavor. I can see why they seem to have a constant line out the door. If you're looking for a quick stop for lunch or dinner, and are in the mood for a more-than-average creative type of menu that does pizza, salads, sandwiches, I would highly suggest trying this place out. Although this place is new to us, the cashier told us they’re been around for almost ten years, and they are apparently expanding their seating in a few weeks or months into the upstairs. They also mentioned free parking in the rear?? Wow.
My friends and I cannot wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Couch Tomato Cafe' also viewed

 
 

Been to The Couch Tomato Cafe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing