We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Beat the Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thomas Bond House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't Beat the Location”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Can't beat the location of this B&B. We were ultra-early checking in, but were accommodated with no problems. Dave, the front desk man, was awesome. The Inn Keepers were pleasant enough. Rooms were small, but very reasonably priced, clean and tidy. Very competitively priced compared to other chain hotels in the area. Only issue for us was the breakfast timing - we are early risers and so waiting til 9am on a weekend for food was not an option. We ended up at Ms K's a short walk away, which was cheap and good. Short walk away to several restaurants for dinner: Pizzicato was the best by far for Italian food. Rotten Ralph's was a bust and City Tavern while next door, was way overpriced and the food unimpressive. Overall, we enjoyed the 3 days stay and would recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Be prepared to carry your luggage up several flights of steep, narrow stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukchic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    87
    23
    18
    3
See reviews for
42
153
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

A "best" location in Old City. Pleasant innkeepers. Quite European- no lift. Tough stairs to the 3rd floor --- but the 3rd floor rooms are cheaper. Close to many outstanding restaurants eg, Positano, Bistro 7, etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here last week for one night before our flight back to the UK and what a good choice it was.My wife and I have walked past this place dozens of times in the past when staying at the nearby Sheraton,and decided to give this B&B a go.As usual with historic old buildings like this there's no elevator and it's a far cry from bland modern corporate hotels but the owners Jerry and Peggy go out of their way to make their guests feel at home.It's a bit like stepping back in time and with the City Tavern just across the street it's easy to get a real feel for colonial Philly,even as an Englishman.The room my wife and I had had a wonderful 4 poster bed that needed steps to get into it(yes you read that correctly) .The B&B is a short walk from lots of historic sights in Olde City and it's even closer to a fantastic array of bars and restaurants on 2nd and Chestnut.Overall,this is a really nice B&B in a great location and I couldn't find any faults with it.My wife and I are regular visitors to Philly and we'd certainly consider staying here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazfromyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night before flying home from Philadelphia. The owners were very welcoming and gave us some good tips about where to go in the evening, and what to try and visit in the day. The room was very nice and comfortable. Given the age and status of the house, do not expect a modern looking room. And there is no lift, so probably not great for those who cannot cope with stairs.
The B&B is in a great location for the old part of the city, as well as numerous bars and restaurants.
The breakfast was great, with a small fruit salad followed by pancakes and bacon (Something I could become used to quite easily).
A definite recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShuttleTydirium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Although the house is now attached to an unattractive concrete multi storey parking lot, the building itself is delightful. Once inside, the rooms are well preserved in the original style; clean and interesting. The evening wine and cheese session works well in bringing guests together if they so desire. The bedroom was basic,clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and nicely served by friendly staff. There was a 24 hour availabilty of tea and coffee.

Room Tip: Be aware that on Friday evenings until well into the night and next morning, the nearby local club i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bordereiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

If there is heaven on earth, this is the place. My daughter treated me to a night at the Thomas Bond House on our last trip to Philadelphia. It is a historic property that is centrally located for the tourist who wants to see historic sights. It is a short, safe walk to the ferry landing for those who want to visit the Camden Waterfront.
The house is beautifully restored and appointed with a comfortable "club" style living room and a "tavern" style breakfast room on the first floor. The club room was beautifully furnished with period pieces including wing back chairs, a camel back settee and a gaming table. The room was warmed with a marble fireplace and soft light from wall sconces. Lush oriental carpets covered the authentic pine floors.
We enjoyed our wine and cheese in the club room choosing from a nice selection of wines from the Chadsford Vineyard. Of course you always meet the nicest people sipping wine at a place like the Thomas Bond House and this was no exception.
We had one of the smaller rooms on the 3rd floor but it was certainly comfortable and well appointed. The bath was tiny, but big enough for an overnight stay and was outfitted with signature toiletries. A corner cabinet held a small tv set and coffee maker.
We were welcome to use the refrigerator on the ground floor and enjoy sodas, bottled water and ice. Freshly baked cookies were waiting for us when we returned from our evening's outing
Our breakfast the next morning was served in the tavern room and was a lovely egg fritatta with sausages, English Muffin bread, tomatoes and homemade jams.
The Thomas Bond House is spotlessly clean and impeccably maintained. The staff is attentive and welcoming. Overall we could not have asked for anything more. It was perfect.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor if you have any mobility issues. Third floor rooms are very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I loved the Thomas Bond House. Prime location, Delicious breakfast, & excellent service. So beautifully restored. it is easy to get around once on Market to take mass transit. We can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariaxangelica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
0.2 mi away
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
0.2 mi away
Penn's View Hotel
Penn's View Hotel
#10 of 86 in Philadelphia
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thomas Bond House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomas Bond House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Thomas Bond House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 129 S 2nd St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thomas Bond House is an historic alternative to impersonal lodging. Step into the 18th century in this exquisitely restored circa 1769 gem. Located within the Independence National Historic Park in Philadelphia, PA, you are just steps away from all the historic landmarks, world class restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thomas Bond House Bed And Breakfast
Thomas Bond House Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing