We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Open a window, please” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thomas Bond House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thomas Bond House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Thomas Bond House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 28 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Open a window, please”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Thomas Bond House B and B is in an awesome location on Second St. right in the middle of the Old City- really perfect for sightseeing and close to public transportation. The house itself is a beautiful old (constructed in the late 1700's, I believe) house with a large, well-decorated living area furnished with period pieces and set up for socializing and relaxing, including a game table set with checkers/chess. Peggy and Jerry who are the innkeepers are very knowledgeable about everything Philadelphia and are friendly and helpful and very "present" in the running of the house. The staff is also friendly and attentive.

The room we had was on the second floor (Benjamin Eldridge) and certainly one of the smallest. It was so small there was no place to put luggage and there was no room for a desk or table to sit at. There was just the queen-size bed, two small night tables on either side, and an armoire with a tiny TV. The room was nicely decorated. There was a good-size closet but no working luggage rack and only four hangers so we really couldn't unpack much. I think the TV at one time had been a computer monitor. In any case, we didn't use it so I have no idea how it worked. There was supposed to be internet in the whole house, but it never worked in the room and it sometimes worked on the main floor -something that really should be fixed. Even if I'm on vacation, my husband and I like to check in with friends and family and he needs to check in with work so that was a bit of a problem for us. The bathroom had a small pedestal sink with only one glass shelf above it. There was no other place to put toiletries. The decoration in the bathroom needed updating - clearly it was last done about twenty years ago, because the wallpaper is yellowed and peeling and the shower doors pretty dark with mold on the track and the interior handles (where no one can reach to clean). Time to remodel the bathroom for sure. The biggest problem we had with the house is that there is no way to individually control the temperature of the room. It was early October and we were told that the A/C to the whole house had been turned off and the heat turned on - not necessary as it was a comfortable 65 degrees outside. The living room, dining room, hallways and our room were punishingly hot - and none of the windows were operable as the house is old and Peggy told us she hadn't been permitted to replace them. Not only was I uncomfortably warm all the time, but all other nine guests that we met were uncomfortable as well - windows couldn't open on the main floor either! This is really why we won't return. No need to have heat on in that kind of weather and if it's too hot, we want to be able to open a window or turn on the A/C.

The breakfast during the week was certainly bountiful but with pastries that did not appear to be house-made, hard-boiled eggs, supermarket style bread, yogurts and cheese - I would not call it gourmet. The weekend breakfast of waffles and bacon was better. We really did love the wine and cheese in the evenings. It was an opportunity to meet lots of other interesting people and the cheeses, salamis and crackers were varied and tasty. The evening tea service with chocolate chip cookies was a nice surprise.

In sum, the house was beautiful, but we won't return because of the spotty internet and the temperature problem. If those things can be fixed, we'd go back in a heartbeat, but spring for a larger and more expensive room. Too hard to be squeezed in a small space for more than a day or two!

Room Tip: Our room faced onto a plaza of sorts - might have been noisy in the summer. We could hear people ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kipellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    83
    23
    18
    3
See reviews for
38
137
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Thomas Bond House is a wonderful choice for anyone interested in adding one more historical aspect to a tour of Philadelphia's historic sites. It's an 18th century house, as restored as possible to still be a modern inn, owned by the National Park Service but run (leased, I am guessing) by a friendly and helpful couple. Rooms are appropriately small (for the period) and appropriately furnished (i.e., comfortable bed but also a hidden tv). Breakfast during the week was definitely a good and very "expanded" continental service. I was visiting a daughter who lives nearby, and this will be my first choice next visit.

Room Tip: With just 12 rooms, it's hard to go wrong. My room overlooked a plaza where tour groups seem to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceilidh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful three night stay at Thomas Bond B&B. The Innkeepers, Peggy and Jerry, and their staff were delightful, helpful, and made us feel at home. The breakfasts were delicious and quite filling. We did not walk away hungry. The location in Old Town of Philadelphia is within walking distance of most everything. The water front is right there, as well. We were able to catch the Lady Liberty shuttle from and to Philadelphia AIrport. And, car rentals can be made at the Hyatt, which is about a five minute walk from the B&B. This was a long weekend of convenience and great accommodations. We highly recommend the Thomas Bond House, and rate it at the top of list of places to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriLaGrange_ILUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very lovely historic B&B in a great location at the edge of Old City Philadelphia. Our room was small....as one would expect from a building built in the 1700's but comfortable and very attractive with period furnishings. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and breakfast was gourmet. The had a 'free' wine/cheese/and crackers hour in the early evening which was great in order to meet your fellow travelers. A very pleasurable stay if you really want to 'live' the Old City experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickster-n-sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Just off Independence Mall, this historic hotel/bed and breakfast was quiet but friendly. The place is sociable and the hosts were gracious. A perfect bed and breakfast experience. Close to Independence Mall and lots of downtown sites and restaurants. Parking just around the corner. Walking distance to Independence Mall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AZTraveler12331310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sligojohn
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed here recently. Welcomed with wine and cheese, ( I arrived in the afternoon) this is a beautiful guesthouse. It could not be more centrally located, beside penns landing and the river. Lots of great bars and restaurants close by. The hosts and staff are friendly and helpfull. It may be important for some travellers to be aware that there are no elevator or bell boys and the stairs are steep and narrow.
I will definitely be back there again. And a bonus for me; The Khyber Pass Pub is just up the street with a great selection of craft beers and ales.

Room Tip: higher up rooms would be quieter but stairs only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sligojohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place is perfect. Great location, amazing staff. Breakfast isnt just scrambled eggs and toast. They had a wine and cheese hour at 5 and then a milk and cookies are set out at 8pm. If I ever have a reason to back to Philly, I`ll definitely be staying here.
My wife and I stayed in the cheapest/smallest room they had and it was more than enough.

Room Tip: My wife and I stayed in the cheapest/smallest room they had and it was more than enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
City Center East
Penn's View Hotel
Penn's View Hotel
#11 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#2 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thomas Bond House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomas Bond House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Thomas Bond House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 129 S 2nd St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thomas Bond House is an historic alternative to impersonal lodging. Step into the 18th century in this exquisitely restored circa 1769 gem. Located within the Independence National Historic Park in Philadelphia, PA, you are just steps away from all the historic landmarks, world class restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thomas Bond House Hotel Philadelphia
Thomas Bond House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing