We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful Place to Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thomas Bond House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thomas Bond House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Wonderful Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful three night stay at Thomas Bond B&B. The Innkeepers, Peggy and Jerry, and their staff were delightful, helpful, and made us feel at home. The breakfasts were delicious and quite filling. We did not walk away hungry. The location in Old Town of Philadelphia is within walking distance of most everything. The water front is right there, as well. We were able to catch the Lady Liberty shuttle from and to Philadelphia AIrport. And, car rentals can be made at the Hyatt, which is about a five minute walk from the B&B. This was a long weekend of convenience and great accommodations. We highly recommend the Thomas Bond House, and rate it at the top of list of places to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriLaGrange_ILUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    86
    23
    18
    3
See reviews for
40
147
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very lovely historic B&B in a great location at the edge of Old City Philadelphia. Our room was small....as one would expect from a building built in the 1700's but comfortable and very attractive with period furnishings. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and breakfast was gourmet. The had a 'free' wine/cheese/and crackers hour in the early evening which was great in order to meet your fellow travelers. A very pleasurable stay if you really want to 'live' the Old City experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickster-n-sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Just off Independence Mall, this historic hotel/bed and breakfast was quiet but friendly. The place is sociable and the hosts were gracious. A perfect bed and breakfast experience. Close to Independence Mall and lots of downtown sites and restaurants. Parking just around the corner. Walking distance to Independence Mall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AZTraveler12331310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sligojohn
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed here recently. Welcomed with wine and cheese, ( I arrived in the afternoon) this is a beautiful guesthouse. It could not be more centrally located, beside penns landing and the river. Lots of great bars and restaurants close by. The hosts and staff are friendly and helpfull. It may be important for some travellers to be aware that there are no elevator or bell boys and the stairs are steep and narrow.
I will definitely be back there again. And a bonus for me; The Khyber Pass Pub is just up the street with a great selection of craft beers and ales.

Room Tip: higher up rooms would be quieter but stairs only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sligojohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place is perfect. Great location, amazing staff. Breakfast isnt just scrambled eggs and toast. They had a wine and cheese hour at 5 and then a milk and cookies are set out at 8pm. If I ever have a reason to back to Philly, I`ll definitely be staying here.
My wife and I stayed in the cheapest/smallest room they had and it was more than enough.

Room Tip: My wife and I stayed in the cheapest/smallest room they had and it was more than enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I did not enjoy stay there at all. The room was not clean. The toilet did not work properly. The food was fair. I would never go back. Good location for sight seeing. The serving staff were very nice and attentive.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seekingnewsites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We spent two nights here in August and were happy with our choice of B&B. The first thing we noticed was the attitude of the staff - they were so friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well appointed, with its own bathroom and shower. Breakfast was served each morning and was very nice, once again the staff were fantastic. The B&B is in such a convenient location, right in the heart of the historic old town. It is actually a registered building itself! You can walk everywhere from there and the subway is at the top of the road if you need to use it. The owner was very hospitable, friendly and chatty. She was very knowledgeable about her city and always available for information or just a chat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fidge9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Penn's View Hotel
#11 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#8 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thomas Bond House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomas Bond House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Thomas Bond House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 129 S 2nd St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thomas Bond House is an historic alternative to impersonal lodging. Step into the 18th century in this exquisitely restored circa 1769 gem. Located within the Independence National Historic Park in Philadelphia, PA, you are just steps away from all the historic landmarks, world class restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thomas Bond House Bed And Breakfast
Thomas Bond House Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing