We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value, uncomfortable beds”
Review of Spruce Hill Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spruce Hill Manor
Ranked #4 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Poor value, uncomfortable beds”
Reviewed March 12, 2011

When the nearest Red Roof Inn or Motel 6 most likely has more comfortable bedding than Philadelphia’s so-called “premier bed and breakfast,” you know you have a problem. When the number one-ranked full-service hotel (as of May 2010) for Philadelphia on Trip Advisor is offering rooms at a better rate than Trip Advisor’s seventh best Philadelphia bed and breakfast, you know you have a problem.
Spruce Hill Manor has a compelling Web site with 13 “reviews” from former guests singing its praises. Unfortunately, the reality of this lodging belies its advertising. Rooms are indeed charming and full of interesting knick knacks, but the—to be extremely generous in diction—“oriental-style” rugs are tired and cheap looking. Bedding arrangements are as advertised, but the beds themselves feature hard, uncomfortable mattresses—not to mention mediocre pillows—evoking a college dormitory more than a fine inn. Indeed, my behind felt raw and sore after a night in one of the Inn's beds.
Further, the location is far from a net positive. Somewhat close to Drexel and Penn, but on the cusp of one of Philadelphia’s most depressed West Philadelphia neighborhoods, it would be unwise to walk the Boss’ “streets of Philadelphia” surrounding the Spruce Hill after dark.
Janet, the Spruce Hill’s innkeeper, is amiable and helpful enough, but one’s opinion of her is tarnished when one considers the pricey rates she charges for lackluster accommodations in a depressed part of the city. How she can justify charging $25 additional dollars per night when over two people occupy “suites” designed for three or four people is beyond my comprehension. Why not just raise the base rate of the suite and be honest? Am I at a bed and breakfast or flying fee-happy Spirit Airlines? This surcharge is especially troubling when one considers that the “extra” guest(s) is only partaking of a cold continental breakfast that has less variety than that available at a Holiday Inn Express. She describes it as "organic," but the orange juice is straight from a generic carton, and the pastries are suspiciously similar to frozen puff pastries available in any Wal-Mart grocery store. Are eggs and breakfast meat too much to expect when staying at—to quote the Spruce Hill’s site once again--Philadelphia’s “premier bed and breakfast”? Hardly.
The Spruce Hill Manor does not meet basic standards of comfort and quality for a bed and breakfast charging as much as it does, and should be avoided until the deficiencies discussed above are fully addressed. A “bed and breakfast” with neither comfortable beds nor delicious breakfast? Something’s wrong.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelwiz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHManorBB, Owner at Spruce Hill Manor, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
If you would you be kind enough to identify yourself and the date of your stay, we will gladly refund your money, as is our stated policy. We've reviewed all the past reservations in our records in the vicinity of the dates you indicated, and non of them let this review.
We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    30
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
78
106
28
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Janet was so friendly and accommodating. We checked in hours later than expected and this wasn't a problem. She showed us around the house and to our room like we were house guests visiting family...We walked to one of the restaurants within a 3-block radius, Lemon Grass (correct spelling?), for dinner. Like any home in Philadelphia, there was limited parking. This means you have to park on the street, and you can't leave your car at the B&B while using public transportation for the day (which is much easier in Phil.)...Breakfast was good with good coffee (important for me), fresh fruit, fresh bread, cereal, etc. Other nice touches: unlimited filtered water, old photographs, chandeliers, antique flatware, local newspapers at breakfast

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raleigh1290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Neck, Va
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Stayed for one night on 2/23/11. Came to Philly to surprise one of my very best friends for his 50th birthday. Met an another friend that I hadn't seen in 25 years here and we had a such a wonderful time that I can still only say one word when I think of this.... WOW. Janet greeted us and showed us around when we got there, our room was so perfectly set up and clean with a great location and I enjoyed the best view ANYWHERE. We look forward to meeting again in this wonderful B&B. Incredible memories were made here. Thank you Janet for all your hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reuniontime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2011

I had a lovely stay at the Spruce Manor. The site is a gorgeous, old historic building filled with lovely architectural design and antiques at every corner. The atmosphere is warm and comfortable and the owner is sweet and willing to do whatever guests need to make their stay as pleasant as possible. The rooms were comfortable and a delight to spend time in and the breakfast was delicious and fresh, served in a striking dining room. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who appreciates B&B's, is going to Philadephia and/or loves historic architecture!

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jjdavid23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

My husband was running in the Philadelphia marathon & he wanted to book us into a convenient & comfortable B&B. What a treat it was to stay at Spruce Hill Manor! Wonderful sized rooms, comfortable & clean and beautifully decorated & furnished. Janet the host / owner was fantastic, couldn't do enough to help us. Bless her, she was even up on race morning at around 4am I think, (couldve been earlier!) making sure we all had breakfast, coffee & fruit to take with us. Wishing us the best of luck on our way out & asking if we could also let her know how my husband did after the run!

Whilst no cooked breakfast is served here, Janet bakes the most delicious cakes ever, every girls dream I think to have coffee & cake for breakfast! There was also a selection of cereals, fruit, breads & toast etc but I just stuck with the cake, It was to die for!

As it was near to Thanksgiving, Janet presented us with a gift as we were leaving, a card, chocolates & some book markers, which have come in very handy! All gift wrapped & put into a pretty gift bag.
We loved it here, and wouldn't stay anywhere else if visiting Philadelpia again. What an absolute gem, Janet is the perfect host. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelli214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2011

I had never stayed in a B&B before, and this was surely a perfect first. I traveled with a group of friends from Montreal; upon our arrival to the city, Janet welcomed us with hospitality reminiscent of a genuine family welcome. The house was cozy and clean; rooms were decorated tastefully and the beds were supercomfy. I particularly enjoyed the Thomas Eakins library. The location is perfect if you intend to spend some time in the University District. Downtown, too, is very accessible by car (free parking!) or on foot (about 40 min. walk). Overall, it was a great place to stay. :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y_manyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We traveled as a group of friends from Concordia University (Montreal, Quebec) to go to a conference and were blown away by the beauty of Spruce Hill. We were greeted super warmly and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were very clean, spacious and comfortable. The general atmosphere was very homey and cozy and luxurious. Breakfast offered a good variety for everyone to enjoy. The neighbourhood was very safe and it was easy to navigate our way around from there. Janet was very helpful and a joy to talk to. We highly recommend Spruce Hill for a fun get-away! You'll love it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMI_Ia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#3 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,379 reviews
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,366 reviews
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#26 of 86 in Philadelphia
669 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Hill Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Hill Manor

Property: Spruce Hill Manor
Address: 3709 Baring St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-2305
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spruce Hill Manor Bed and Breakfast is an 1879 family-owned Victorian mansion located in the University City neighborhood of Philadelphia in walking distance to Amtrak 30th Street Station, the Mega and Bolt Buses, CHOP, Universities of Pennsylvania and Drexel, and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. The bus and trolley stop across the street and provide a 5 minute ride to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and the Historic District. Flexible check-in, check-out and 24/7 access to the dining room. There is free on and off-street Parking. We customize every aspect of your visit ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing