We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic homey B&B to stay at in the middle of Philidelphia's University District” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spruce Hill Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spruce Hill Manor
Ranked #1 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“A fantastic homey B&B to stay at in the middle of Philidelphia's University District”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

We traveled as a group of friends from Concordia University (Montreal, Quebec) to go to a conference and were blown away by the beauty of Spruce Hill. We were greeted super warmly and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were very clean, spacious and comfortable. The general atmosphere was very homey and cozy and luxurious. Breakfast offered a good variety for everyone to enjoy. The neighbourhood was very safe and it was easy to navigate our way around from there. Janet was very helpful and a joy to talk to. We highly recommend Spruce Hill for a fun get-away! You'll love it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EMI_Ia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    29
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
73
103
28
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

I stayed at Spruce Hill Manor the night before an early meeting in University City and the experience was pleasant and convenient from reservation to checkout. The innkeepers were friendly and helpful, and went out of their way to be flexible when I missed my train getting there and needed to check out late. The property is beautiful, cozy, quiet, and relaxing. The location is in walking distance to most places in University City any time of year. In good weather, I would consider the location to be a relatively easy walk to downtown Philadelphia and the Philadelphia Museum of Art, but it is also close to public transportation.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeaninebotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

I stayed at Spruce Hill Manor with my teenage daughter, who was visiting the University of Pennsylvania as a prospective applicant. It's convenient to Penn, Drexel and downtown, and to several good restaurants of varying types. Janet Reitano is a delightful and enthusiastic hostess who, given that there were few guests the night we arrived -- due to a blizzard -- upgraded us at no additional charge from a small suite to two adjoining and spacious rooms. The bedrooms are comfortable, well decorated and well appointed as are the bathrooms; mine also included fridge and eating equipment though no stove or hotplate (was there a microwave? I don't remember). Breakfast was excellent, with fresh-baked bread and plenty of go-withs. The cost was quite reasonable. I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmericaninHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

Our Spruce Hill Manor experience was wonderful from the initial contact call to the final farewell. Janet graciously attended to every detail to make our stay comfortable in every way. She even had personalized gifts ready in our room, knowing it was my birthday! The home is beautifully appointed and maintained. A comfortable bed in a lovely, spacious room, with a well-equipped bathroom was enjoyed. The continental breakfast was bountiful and served in the formal dining room. The house was elegantly decorated for Christmas, which was an added bonus.

Janet was warm and friendly and made our stay a delightful experience. Her personal attention to detail really sets this bed and breakfast apart from other lodging experiences. I heartily recommend staying Spruce Hill Manor!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparty83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

We travel to Philly somewhat frequently (just for fun) and generally stay at a hotel in the city. We have a favorite restaurant (Marigold Kitchen) in the University City area of Philly so we decided to switch it up on our last visit and stay over in that area. What a nice change from the usual hotel room...Spruce Hill Manor is a charming B&B, with a delightful innkeeper, Janet, who greeted us with excitement when we arrived. So gracious and obviously very passionate about what she does...she simply loves taking care of her guests and making them feel very much at home. Our room (2nd floor front room) was very (very!) spacious and cost us less than our usual hotel room. A very big room with plenty of space to spread out, read, hang out and relax. It was also nice to have a little refrigerator in the room for leftover, water, etc. The place was also spotless. The breakfast the next morning felt like more than the typical continental breakfast...fresh baked scones, a plethora of cereals and yogurt, fresh fruit, coffee, juice...way more than i usually need for breakfast but very nice. If you enjoy B&Bs, i highly recommend staying here...you are close enough to the city (maybe 10 or 15 minutes drive max into the City Center), yet tucked away in a well-established neighborhood with lots of charm.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mac3016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Lookout, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

Stayed here for one night with my teenage daughter. Convenient location in a quiet residential neighborhood 3 minute drive from Penn campus and many dining options. Our room was in a converted library, which was interesting and charming, and absolutely huge. Although it was on the first floor, there wasn't any street noise to speak of, so it was quiet. Bathroom was small but clean and adequate. No tub. We were able to park overnight on the street right in front. Janet was an extremely gracious and friendly hostess, and even though we arrived several hours ahead of when we said we would be there, she was able to finish readying our room very quickly, and it was immaculate. Only complaint is that the mattress could probably use replacing, although the bedding itself was nice. I would stay here again if returning to Philly, though because of the location and the charm.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pep_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2010

We came to Philadephia for the first time and the whole weekend was delightful. Janet was a wonderful, gracious hostess who informed us of so many different things to do and see, she made calls to the shuttle, taxi, and really went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable with every last aspect of our trip. Spruce Hill was a perfect place, so charming and clean, the quaint home was decorated nicely for Christmas, the kitchen was busy and smelled great as Janet made her pumpkin and banana nut cakes for our breakfasts. Great bread and fresh fruits too!!!! Can't wait to go back ! This is a "10". B. Dupre Saugerties, NY 12/14/10

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigitte051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#5 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Hill Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Hill Manor

Property: Spruce Hill Manor
Address: 3709 Baring St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-2305
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spruce Hill Manor Bed and Breakfast is an 1879 family-owned Victorian mansion located in the University City neighborhood of Philadelphia in walking distance to Amtrak 30th Street Station, the Mega and Bolt Buses, CHOP, Universities of Pennsylvania and Drexel, and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. The bus and trolley stop across the street and provide a 5 minute ride to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and the Historic District. Flexible check-in, check-out and 24/7 access to the dining room. There is free on and off-street Parking. We customize every aspect of your visit ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing