We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spruce Hill Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spruce Hill Manor
Ranked #3 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hyattsville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and Convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

The host was very accommodating and kind. The property is just as wonderful. Very pricey in my opinion, but all my needs were met. For those needing to take the USMLE Step 2 CS Exam, this B&B is about 0.5 miles from the testing centers. I recommend this location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y0ungLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    30
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
74
104
28
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

My husband was hospitalized at the University of Penn Hospital. While he was in the hospital, I stayed at Spruce Hill Manor. It was a lovely and comforting place to return to at the end of a long, stressful day at the hospital. Janet and her staff were caring and helpful from calling taxis for me to doing my laundry to inquiring about my husband to having foods that accommodate my food allergies. I look forward to returning to Spruce Hill Manor but for pleasure, the next time!

Room Tip: each room has a microwave and refrigerator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Spruce Hill Manor is a beautiful Bed and Breakfast. We spent five days there. I would recommend it to any body that wants to visit a conveniently located place in Philadelphia. Rooms are very clean and bright. Breakfast during the week was excellent, much more than I expected for a continental breakfast. Fresh fruit, tasty breads, coffee and much more. On the weekends, Janet bakes a delicious quiche.
Janet is a sweetheart, very attentive, generous and accommodating. My husband and I had a wonderful time chatting in the mornings with the other guests. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

My wife and I visited the Spruce Hill Manor in Philadelphia for a weekend away. We stayed there because there was no availability at the B&B we usually stay at in Center City. This was a lovely stay. Janet and Anthony offered first rate service. The food was healthy and tasty. We enjoyed the ability to get to know other guests over breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Considering the excellent reviews on tripadvisor our expectations were set high. It is not a bad B&B but for us it didn't live up to what we expected for that price. Perhaps in the good old days it deserved such qualification. Right now it seems overpriced for what you get. Breakfast is rather disappointing too, so is location.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank meerkat73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHManorBB, Owner at Spruce Hill Manor, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
We are so sorry that our extra efforts failed to make your stay a positive one. Usually, as in this case, when we upgrade a guest to our best room at no extra-charge and drive them to the train station in our personal car at check-out we are confident we have done our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We spent a wonderful weekend in Philadelphia, where Spruce Hill is conveniently located near the tram and even not too far for a walk into town.
Janet is a wonderful and very accommodating host. She even got up early on our day of departure to take us to the station at 06:00 a.m.!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrGlobetrotter_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the Spruce Hill Manor. The hostess, Janet, upgraded our room since we had to reschedule due to the snow the previous week. She also helped us make dinner reservations, which I thought was very nice. The room was huge, gorgeous, and had a nice kitchen that we utilized. I loved the breakfast, which consisted of quiche and organic goods from Whole Foods. Overall, I loved our stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#5 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#25 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 25 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Hill Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Hill Manor

Property: Spruce Hill Manor
Address: 3709 Baring St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-2305
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spruce Hill Manor Bed and Breakfast is an 1879 family-owned Victorian mansion located in the University City neighborhood of Philadelphia in walking distance to Amtrak 30th Street Station, the Mega and Bolt Buses, CHOP, Universities of Pennsylvania and Drexel, and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. The bus and trolley stop across the street and provide a 5 minute ride to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and the Historic District. Flexible check-in, check-out and 24/7 access to the dining room. There is free on and off-street Parking. We customize every aspect of your visit ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing