We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable place to stay when visiting U Penn”
Review of Spruce Hill Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spruce Hill Manor
Ranked #4 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Audubon room was very spacious for my son and me. It actually was a two room little suite. We stayed one night when visiting U Penn. The Innkeeper is very friendly and thinks of everything. She provided a pitcher for us to bring water up to our room, She has a spread of tea coffee, and cakes out in the afternoon. I had a friend visit me who was not staying at the inn, and we sat comfortably for a couple of hours drinking tea and chatting in the front room.
The breakfast is self-serve and has a wide array of choices of cereals, pastries, yogurt and fruit.
We had no trouble getting on street parking. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Docsbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 297 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I had a grand time at Spruce Hill Manor thinks to the good work of Janet and Anthony. Janet went beyond expectation in making us comfortable and our trip so enjoyable. The Billie Holiday room was large, light filled, well appointed, and the bed was comfortable. We look forward to out next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlenell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were in Philly for a little R & R this past weekend, and had a lovely stay at Spruce Hill Manor.
Janet is a fabulous innkeeper, on premises, answers all questions, and every morning puts
out a delicoius breakfast. The rooms are lovely and you truly feel like you are visiting a friend
or relative's home. Janet's warm personality is felt in every aspect of Spruce Hill Manor. will definitely return in future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuntP0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed in Philly for a couple of days in order to find an apartment close to the veterinary school at Penn and could not have felt more at home in the city due to our innkeeper's exceptional hospitality! The house itself is gorgeously decorated, meticulously clean and situated within easy distance of nearby campuses and restaurants. Classical music greeted us when we returned at night and when we arrived for breakfast- a great assortment of fresh fruit, quiche, bread and yogurt. I would recommend Spruce Hill Manor to any looking to stay in the city!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra_StPierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

On our return trip to Philadelphia for the world famous 2013 Flower Show, we finally found a home away from home. Spruce Hill Manor is a wonderful turn of the century home located in University City. Janet, our innkeeper, took care of our every need including an assortment of breakfast items, restaurant recommendations, instruction and guidance on the use of the city bus / subway lines, and parking alerts in Center City. In addition we shared ideas on documentary television, book shows, tours, and everything in between. Janet was kind, thoughtful and even gave us a much appreciated gift. We will be back.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank nycbloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have stayed at many B&Bs across the country. Spruce Hill was definitely one of the best. Our room - the Audobon Suite - was very large, nicely decorated, very clean, and extremely quiet. Breakfast was delicious - fresh fruit, quiche, cereals, bread, and excellent bubka. Most important was the warm welcome we got from Janet. We phoned and not only were able to check in early but also got a great snack on arrival. The neighborhood was very interesting, full of architectural gems. Convenient by car to everywhere. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrDiscernment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at the wonderful gem we found at Spruce Hill Manor. Even before we got to Philadelphia we felt welcomed here! This B&B is very close (within walking distance) to Drexel and Penn campuses. Beautiful details to this house inside and out. There are several great places to eat nearby for lunch and dinner. At Spruce Hill breakfast was a wonderful warm start to our day, along with an assortment of breakfast items if you're in a hurry. Janet has thought of everything to make your stay comfortable and accomodating. We will definitely be back, and we suggest if you're planning a visit to see your son or daughter at one of these two colleges, you need to stay at this B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,400 reviews
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#3 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
815 reviews
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,374 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Hill Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Hill Manor

Address: 3709 Baring St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-2305
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range: $165 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spruce Hill Manor Bed and Breakfast is an 1879 family-owned Victorian mansion located in the University City neighborhood of Philadelphia in walking distance to Amtrak 30th Street Station, the Mega and Bolt Buses, CHOP, Universities of Pennsylvania and Drexel, and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. The bus and trolley stop across the street and provide a 5 minute ride to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and the Historic District. Flexible check-in, check-out and 24/7 access to the dining room. There is free on and off-street Parking. We customize every aspect of your visit ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing