We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B!”
Review of Spruce Hill Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spruce Hill Manor
Ranked #4 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night while we were in Philly for a brief visit. The neighborhood is nice and quiet. When we arrived, Janet greeted us and gave us a little tour of the house. She's very friendly and personable. The house is lovely.

Snacks are available round-the-clock if you need a little something. Our room was well decorated and comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was tasty and had a variety of items to choose from. Janet chatted with us some more and was a fantastic hostess, very interested in getting to know us and make sure that we had a great time in Philly.

We'd definitely stay here again, the whole experience was top notch.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinR454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Spruce Hill Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 294 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

My daughters and I traveled to Philly to visit and go wedding dress shopping with my youngest daughter. From the moment we walked into the Manor we felt as if we were part of Janet's family. The room was fantastic and having breakfast in the morning was wonderful and fun. My daughter who
live' s in Philly joined us for breakfast and when Janet found out why we were there she made a beautiful wedding tray for my daughter and her fiance. Janet made our special weekend great!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The handsome house, with original wood paneling in the public rooms, is a very short drive from the Barnes and the PMA. There is plenty of unrestricted street parking on weekends and the neighborhood has a great deal of excellent architecture. I personally wouldn't choose this location without a car.
We stayed in the Audubon Suite, an excellent choice for us because it consists of a huge living room and a separate queen bedroom at the back of the house, giving us complete quiet. If one were staying in multiple rooms for a family event one could seat a dozen people in the living area for a get together. What keeps me from calling this room perfect is that the suite is furnished with absolutely nothing that matches (the overall impression is Victorian geegaws)-not the chairs, the couch, the lamps, the wall decorations, or the carpets, and the bathroom is very small. On the other hand we were very satisfied with the comfortable bed, the ample supply of pillows and extra towels (we didn't have to ask) plenty of hot water and the large in room refrigerator. Everything is VERY clean.
I also saw the first floor Eakins Library--handsome high windows and old wood, but too close to the street and the breakfast room for my taste. If you need to minimize stairs, take the Eakins.

Breakfasts were continental but very good--in other words, I saw no hot dishes but had an excellent choice of cereals, nuts, dried and fresh fruit, and cofee cakes and bread (warm) from Whole Foods. Most of this remains available at all times, so you can have a snack whenever you want. Janet is a particularly kind hostess, carries your bag up the stairs, and is very accommodating.

We do recommend you stay here, you will feel very well-cared for.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newy0rkcitygirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Janet is your hostess with the mostest! What a lovely area of Philly - charming porch to unwind from the hubbub of central Philly - backyard gardens are lovely! Janet aims to please - & please she does from the great accommodations (king) to the extra special breakfast fare.....& even treats laid out for an extra special thoughtful touch for inbetween hungry moments.
We certainly did enjoy our overnight & are delighted to offer this info to the tourists/business people enjoying the whirlwind of the city & wanting a quiet get-a-way.
Thanks Janet~! Great oasis for some R&R....

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne6018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Even a host almost like "MOM".
very thoughtful, and willing to please in any way. Janet was most accomodating of my husband's dairy intolerance, by making a trip to Whole Foods to buy him Goat yogurt, and what we didn't finish went with us after our 5 night stay. The home itself reflects the warmth and conscientiousness of Janet. it is kept perfectly clean and tidy, and decorated beautifully.
Whenever the time comes that we return to Philly, because we didn't get to see the Barnes exhibit, we will stay here, and we loved the Garden room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rozst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I was visiting Philadelphia as coach with the Track and Field team from Birmingham University, England. The coaches at The University of Pennsylvania had booked me in to 'a b&b '. Never could an expression fail to give the true impression of a place. Just magnificent. Wonderful host, wonderful place. It was like being back home. My room....... well it was more than that. A place I could have lived in for a week without venturing out. Huge, with a kitchenette, internet access, very tastefully decorated, I could go on. A 15 minute stroll away from campus or Franklin Field, on local transport links, in a lovely street. What more could a visitor to a city ask for?

Room Tip: Sorry can you cancel the swimming pool reference.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert_ashwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Janet runs a tight ship at Spruce Hill. She requires an estimated arrival time…Only so she can greet you at the door and offer to help you with your bags. The B&B is decorated in Victorian style furniture and antique mirrors abound. The breakfast is a traditional continental breakfast but Janet does add in a casserole and homemade breads for your enjoyment. She also leaves snacks out in the dining room for guest to have access to all day. The rooms were large and comfy and contain a kitchenette. We visited for our first anniversary and on Saturday when we came home from sightseeing Janet had delivered a silver tray full of goodies including some wine and mints. All in all we had a nice stay. The personal touches Janet adds to your stay make the difference here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the King room. Nice bed.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#3 of 87 in Philadelphia
1,394 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 87 in Philadelphia
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 87 in Philadelphia
1,363 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#28 of 87 in Philadelphia
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Hill Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Hill Manor

Address: 3709 Baring St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-2305
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range: $165 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spruce Hill Manor Bed and Breakfast is an 1879 family-owned Victorian mansion located in the University City neighborhood of Philadelphia in walking distance to Amtrak 30th Street Station, the Mega and Bolt Buses, CHOP, Universities of Pennsylvania and Drexel, and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. The bus and trolley stop across the street and provide a 5 minute ride to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and the Historic District. Flexible check-in, check-out and 24/7 access to the dining room. There is free on and off-street Parking. We customize every aspect of your visit ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing