We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem on Baring Street in Philadelphia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spruce Hill Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spruce Hill Manor
Ranked #3 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“A gem on Baring Street in Philadelphia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

This was an ideal spot for my husband and I to stay while visiting our daughter and attending
her graduation. Janet is a thoughtful,accommodating hostess. Our stay felt custom fit. The breakfasts each morning were varied .and tasty ...something for everyone! The house itself is lovely as are the grounds. We loved that front porch! We hope to come back and visit
very soon and would recommend this Inn to anyone visiting the city. Thank you Janet and
Anthony!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamelaj113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    29
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
74
104
28
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
home
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

I have always stayed away from B & Bs, I'm not crazy about the familiarity with owners and other guests. But, I must say, I loved this place. I travel to Philly a couple of times a year to visit relatives who live within walking distance of the Manor. There are only a few (expensive) hotels in this part of University City so I decided to give the Manor a try. As my cab pulled up to the Manor I had second thoughts, it's very Victorian and not my style at all. But, immediately Janet's welcome put me at ease. She's so accomodating, will help with anything you need, but isn't intrusive at all. She even brought my coffee to me on the front porch one morning! I stayed in the Audobon room on the 2nd floor. It's like an apartment with a very large sitting/living room, an updated bathroom and a separate bedroom. It is furnished with lovely antiques and has a fridge and a microwave. Therer's a queen pullout sofa in the living room so, along with the queen in the bedroom, you could easily sleep 4 people.The two things I always hate about hotels is the uncomfortable beds and the noise from the hallway or other guests. My bed here was very comfortable and the room was very quiet, I barely heard other guests. I'm an early riser so I did not eat the full regular breakfast but the dining room is available for snacks, fruit, cereal, etc. anytime. There's a trolley stop a block away, or Janet will make arrangements for cab if you prefer. There's a large enclosed courtyard that's nice for relaxing with a glass of wine at the end of a busy day. A 15 minute walk puts you right in the heart of Univ. of Penn, plenty of shops and restaurants. This is a fun, relaxing alternative to the standard hotel room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrauers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesport, PA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed here to celebrate our anniversary and had a lovely time. Janet is very kind and accomodating! The house is lovely, with a very nice garden. Room was large, comfortable and inviting with a very bed and breakfast, homey feel. Janet had a very nice breakfast laid out with the best cornbread I have ever had and gave a very thoughtful gift (plus she generously gave one for each of our five kids)!! It is a great location near the universities and public transportation. The only downsides are a kind of small bathroom (but no big deal) and the neighborhood was a little noisy. Overall, this was a great place to stay, with Janet's kindness and attention being the highlights!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Library which is on the first floor across from the breakfast area and with windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aflassandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

I was attending a 5 day conference at U of Penn and wanted to stay somewhere within walking distance. Staying at Spruce Hill Manor was a great experience - very clean, comfortable, roomy, and quiet. Breakfast was lovely each morning with options such as quiche, fresh fruit, and sweet breads, but several hot and cold cereals were available, too. Snacks and tea were available during the day, too. Janet, the innkeeper is warm and immediately made me feel at home. I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to others.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank EJJPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

During a big conference in Philadelphia we have been staying with 4 colleagues with Janet in this great B & B.
The neighbourhood is very quite, you can walk or take a subway downtown.
Breakfast is very nice, often Janet will bake something: a quiche, cornbread or "koffiebroodjes".
There is yoghurt, nuts, cornflakes of all kinds.
And then: the rooms, beautiful large rooms, with everything you need: fridge, wifi, tv with satellite.

When the weather is nice you can sit at the veranda and watch streetlife, which is very quite, as mentioned before..

A top place to be and stay in Philadelphia!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne_Marie1964188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

We were greeted w/ a warm welcome, and were told to help ourselves to hot tea and homemade apple cake. It was like gong home. Our room was the "small" one and it was quite large and spacious w/ an equally large bathroom. The rooms were very clean and charmingly decorated. We were given a map of the city, the B&B is walking distance form Drexel Univ. and U. Penn. We parked across the street. Breakfast was homemade quiche and a variety of other things; fruit, cereal, breads. The owner could not have been nicer. We had one problem, our stay was too short. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Since there is no elevator (we didn't see one) if you have large heavy bags don't choose a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCD333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

I stayed at the Spruce Hill Manor for 2 weeks during April. I do not even know where to begin of the many things I liked...so I'll start with the basics. The house is immaculate, clean & decorated classic with ever furnishing you could possibly need. On to service, Janet & Adrienne were delightful from making the rsvp to our arrival. They had the best coffee waiting for us each morning along with great healthy snack & an awesome breakfast. I stayed with another friend and we cannot wait to come back!

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#5 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#25 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 25 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Hill Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Hill Manor

Property: Spruce Hill Manor
Address: 3709 Baring St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-2305
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spruce Hill Manor Bed and Breakfast is an 1879 family-owned Victorian mansion located in the University City neighborhood of Philadelphia in walking distance to Amtrak 30th Street Station, the Mega and Bolt Buses, CHOP, Universities of Pennsylvania and Drexel, and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. The bus and trolley stop across the street and provide a 5 minute ride to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and the Historic District. Flexible check-in, check-out and 24/7 access to the dining room. There is free on and off-street Parking. We customize every aspect of your visit ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing