We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banana Leaf - Bonanza of a Find”
Review of Banana Leaf

Banana Leaf
Ranked #505 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Sushi, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Description: BYOB
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
133 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Banana Leaf - Bonanza of a Find”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Banana Leaf on Arch Street is within close proximity to the Convention Center, and well worth seeking out if you are attending an event downtown. The menu is " all Asia", a little Malaysian, Chinese, Thai, Indian. The food, however, is very good, and once you decide the service is quick. The server was attentive,and the restaurant was clean. The atmosphere was typical of a Chinese restaurant. I had mango shrimp, and it was delicious. It was reasonably priced and the portion size was perfect. I would return and would definitely send my friends there. .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kad2pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    58
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not terrible but didn't live up to rating as best restaurant in China town.”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Sizzling meat platter was the best of the four dishes we ordered. The mango chicken was also pretty good and the green curry beef in the clay pot wasn't bad. Fried noodles with chicken and salted fish was yuck, but that was probably due to our not understanding what salted fish was. Atmosphere nothing fancy and service ok at best. Meat quality wasn't great and steak was really tough. Dishes weren't hot (except for sizzling steak platter). All in all a totally average place to eat

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anjay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaaawa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food close to convention center hotels”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My wife is here in Philadelphia for a conference, and I tagged along to get a little taste of winter (we live in Hawaii). Banana Leaf is only a short walk from the Downtown Marriott, which is the conference hotel. After checking the menu online, we almost decided to avoid the place. The menu is extremely long with many items we had trouble deciphering. But on further review, we decided there would be more than enough we would be comfortable ordering. The restaurant is billed primarily as Malaysian, but with dishes reflecting Thai, Chinese, and even Indian origins. Oh, it's also BYOB, which allows you to avoid inflated drink prices.

So last night we gave it a try. And it's a good thing we did. The food turned out to be very good.

We ordered three dishes, beginning with a mango salad, which turned out to be made the same way as a green papaya salad, which would be more common back home. That was followed by a Thai basil noodle dish, and something billed as Indian-style chicken.

The food came extremely quickly. It was well presented. Servings weren't huge, but you wouldn't cal them skimpy. And the tastes? Uniformly good. My wife and I agreed on that (although we don't always). We asked for "spicy," and our judgements were more mixed. I thought it wasn't hot enough, while my wife thought it was fine. So that's a matter of taste.

We would recommend the Banana Leaf, but would recommend looking through the menu online so you're prepared to deal with it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iLind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, great value”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were looking for a reasonably-priced restaurant in Chinatown and found the Banana Leaf. They have a huge menu with several different cuisines represented. Although nominally a Malaysian restaurant, they also have Thai and Chinese, as well as a few Indian dishes. They also have a Sushi bar! We have two younger children, and everyone found something to like. Food is very reasonably priced with big portions, our chicken dishes were all breast meat, very high quality, and fast service. Their website encouraged us to bring our own wine, which they were happy to open with no corkage fee. Another plus, it's within walking distance from hotels in Center City and the Convention Center. We liked it so much we returned a second time during our visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveLisaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
182 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We dropped in here for a quick meal at the end of a US holiday. Being a Malaysian from the foodie heaven of Penang, I decided to check out their laksa, and was very pleasantly surprised. The only improvement I'd suggest is a bit more shredded pineapple, and some mint leaves. My hubby liked his fried noodles too. Prices were more than reasonable. Bring your own alcohol.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nyonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Leaf also viewed

 

Been to Banana Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing