We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Sunday Brunch”
Review of Tinto

Tinto
Reserve with OpenTable
Tinto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: Sansom
Transit: SEPTA: The 17, 21, and 42 buses stop near the restaurant. The Market-Frankford El stop is at 15th & Market.
Description: Tinto, an expression used to describe red wine served in pintxos bars throughout Northern Spain, is the ultimate expression of what a Basque wine bar should be. Located in Rittenhouse Square, the cozy restaurant, drawing inspiration from the rich cultural and culinary traditions of Basque country, inspires, tantalizes and satisfies with extraordinary cuisine by Chef Jose Garces. Specialties of the House Duck Montadito, Shrimp & Chorizo Brochettes, Short Rib Bocadillo, 60 bottle wine list from the Basque regions of N. Spain and S. France, and artisanal ciders. Private Parties: Tinto welcomes groups of all sizes. Events can be booked throughout the restaurant and in our private dining rooms seven days a week. For parties of 12 or more, please call our private events team to schedule your reservation at 267-284-7979 or email events@garcesgroup.com
Parkesburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
213 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“GREAT Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Who know quail eggs would be so tastey? Seriously though, aside from freezing inside the restaurant, the food was fantastic, well proportioned, and the dessert worth every calorie! Very unassuming brunch spot. We went last in the day (2:00) and it was pretty much dead, but everyone was very friendly and the service was great as was the food and prix fix pricepoint.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    129
    36
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Superb, if pricey”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

For what they do (wines and cuisine of Basque Spain), they are unique and outstanding. Servers are knowledgable and food is terrific, as is wine selection. And it is a very pretty, elegant place.

Helpful?
Thank cassandra2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
213 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Awesome but cramped”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Nice restaurant however was cramped I am a 190 lb man but if i was over 250 forget it. Portions were ok but tasty... Recommended but remember skinny people only

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricanranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia pa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“My fav”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Small space...MAKE RESERVATIONS! I've been here a few times and know this but stopped on the spur of the moment and couldn't get seated anywhere but the bar. We still enjoyed the chef's tasting menu...so much food!!! Everything was eye-rollingly outstanding! Service is somewhat impersonal, but the place is always so crowded, and the staff is always moving so I guess that's to be expected. Expensive but sooooooo worht it!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank soneill0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“5-star food, 4-star service, 3-star atmosphere”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Compared to other tapas-type restaurants across the country--including Jose Andres's pioneering Jaleo--Tinto definitely delivers five-star food. The incredible chestnut soup must not be missed (but share a bowl--it's immeasurably rich). Everything else varies between very good and superb--even the salads are interesting. Other aspects of the restaurant drop from superb to average/above-average: The list of Spanish wines is compact, but balanced, and bottle prices aren't unreasonable. My wife and I learned a hard lesson, though: Having had some wine with friends at another spot just before dinner, we broke our pattern of ordering a bottle with dinner and just ordered wine by the glass. The pours were pathetic. A fourteen-buck glass of a good Rioja came to the table less than one-fifth full. Now no one should expect a water-glass pour, but I always regard a one-third pour as generous and, in an upscale restaurant, a quarter-pour as acceptable. The pours at Tinto--at least, for our visit--were so stingy they were insulting. I'll gladly pay fourteen bucks for a good, recently opened wine by the glass--but don't give me a wine-tasting-event pour, thanks. As far as the other aspects of the restaurant go, the service is friendly, but uneven--and do not let the waiter hustle you into ordering everything right out of the gate. Split a soup and a salad, or some charcuterie and nibbles, then decide what you want next--the kitchen is fast (and the table turnover a bit swift). Our waiter was helpful, but kept asking "Would you like to order now?" We don't dawdle, and we realize such a restaurant needs multiple seatings--but we were in and out in an hour, with five separate dishes and four (mini-) glasses of wine. Finally, the ambience is: "Hey, we're noisy, so we're a happening place!" Do not expect romance or privacy, since tables are packed together and the room and bar roar. Okay, all that said, we'd go back--for the food alone--and we'd order a bottle, not the Ebenezer-Scrooge by-the-glass pours. And that chestnut soup truly was a stunner.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tinto also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Tinto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing