We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lunch on the Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Good Dog

Good Dog
Ranked #124 of 4,318 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Lunch on the Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Tucked away in busy part of town. Local favorite, or so it seemed. Place was full of pictures of happy dogs that had lived a happy life. A little depressing as many were RIP remembrances but the pics were of the good times. Beer choices were great and we tried many with fast service especially as the place was crowded. Lunch was excellent with the wait staff telling us about the kitchen competition to make the best fish tacos. It worked and we really liked ours. They make a tremendous burger as well and the sweet potato fries were great. My son had been there many times and knew to order "please make all my fries sweet potato". If you don't you will get 50/50 (reg/sweet) mix. $86 for the three of us and each of us has 3/4 beers with our meal. I think you will like this place and we would go back for lunch.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BudandCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    122
    27
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
442 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Needs to relook its carding policy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

While I concede that “no one under 21 after a certain hour on a Saturday” may be a Philadelphia ordinance (I don’t know). The Good Dog turned away my family of 6 at about 8 pm on Saturday following the Army-Navy game. My youngest were 18 and 20. I get that for the bar scene, but this place seems to seat for and serve dinner. No matter, though. I took my family to another pub (very close by) and had a great dinner and dessert.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLT1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“tasty casual American food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

A 3-story restaurant serving terrific burgers and some other interesting menu items like lamb belly and white chicken chili. we had some of the best burgers in a long time. casual, local favorite. You won't be disappointed. Seating is simple, casual and service friendly. Has a bar, too

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, PA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Amazing Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I don't think they make anything that doesn't taste good. While the ambiance and the decor is continents removed from the quality of the food, I still have to rate this eatery with 5 stars. I had the Carrot-Apple Soup and it was the most amazing I have ever eaten and I am an passionate soup connoisseur who mostly has to criticize. I had an opportunity to tease dishes of the other 5 people at my table and I had not one negative remark about any of them. It is not inexpensive but most definitely not overpriced and really worth every penny. Very happy my daughter is moving to Philadelphia and I can go back soon to enjoy their food again and again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MKWeimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Cute place for drinks and a quick bite. Friendly attentive service. Pretty quick. The Good dog burger and Cheesesteak empanadas were great. My husband had the chicken chili. He said the flavor was good but the temp was not hot. He did not ask them to reheat it but I sure they would have. I Recommend the Good Dog for good bar food and drink, not if you are looking for a great dining experience.

Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good Dog also viewed

 

Been to Good Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing