We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Dining with a group”

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 4,388 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: S. Juniper Street
Description: We are an authentic Churrascaria (Brazilian Steakhouse) from Rio Grande do Sul in southern Brazil which features superior service, unrivaled cuisine and a unique dining experience.You will be pampered by our authentic Gaucho chefs who come to your tableside to carve a variety of succulent meats right off their skewers. Our featured meats have been slow-roasted over an open flame and lightly seasoned to preserve the unique taste of each tender cut.Adding to our unique dining experience, you will be treated to a sumptuous, gourmet salad and vegetable bar featuring over 30 items including imported cheeses, cured meats, fresh vegetables and more. We complement your meal with traditional Brazilian side dishes such as caramelized bananas, crispy polenta, seasoned mashed potatoes and our world-famous cheese bread (pao de queijo).No meal is complete without trying a refreshing caipirinha, something from our award-winning wine list or one of our decadent desserts
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fun Dining with a group”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

A mostly retired group of friends who worked in or with the School District dined at Fogo in a group of 14 this week. This is a very busy restaurant but all went well. You could make a full meal of the terrific help yourself salad bar and skip the rest of the meal. We didn't of course! Wait staff bring a variety of meats directly to the table and you can eat until your hearts content.
Bring a large appetite for this experience. Drinks and desserts were also good. This is a fun place to enjoy a group meal as it is lively and well appointed.
Have funa nd eat hardy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1superlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    281
    74
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Meat Lovers Paradise”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Meat, meat, and more meat. Salad bar is great too. As long as you eat until you cannot walk then you get your moneys worth.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food at Fogo!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We finally made it to Fogo De Chao in Philadelphia! I must say that overall, I really enjoyed the experience. It was different. Which I like. The ambience was nice but much more noisy than I had anticipated. When you are seated, you are given a card with one side red and the other is green. When you place your card with the green side up, the gaucho chefs come to you table to make an offering of a variety of meats which they slice table-side from a long rotisserie rod. I must say that the meats were good but could use a little more seasoning. 2 family style portions of vegetable sides were placed on our table to be shared among the 4 of us. They didn't look like much but they were, considering the fabulous salad bar. Everything on it was fresh and organized. I would have been satisfied with just that! Also, we had a delicious drink that I can't remember the name of but it was a creamy lime drink and I couldn't get enough of it! I had 3 of them! The cost to eat here can be steep for the average person but the experience is worth it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Smoke and mirrors”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Don't go here. The food is massively overpriced, and I mean overpriced, and the waiters treat you like a wheel in a factory--they are attentive early, then fade away and disappear, trying to get you to leave so that they can recycle the table. It is good, but not great, Brazilian food either. If they cut their prices by 40-50% it might be worth it. It's around $60 a person for dinner, including taxes, but not tips--I went during restaurant week when it was $75 for two, and it still felt overpriced, especially as the waiters were conservative with the meat, trying to rush us out so they could suck in other diners like cars on the assembly line. Sure, the draw is that it's "exotic" Brazilian food, but that horse is overblown for the price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arrestea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent dinner, but at a price”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Went there on saturday evening after a tour thru many the sights of Philadelphia with friends.
And this place is a sight, too.
Great ambiente, starting at the bar, and continuing to the dining hall(!), the salad bar offers excellent choices and the meat is just fantastic.
But this all comes at an exclusive price, which means we wouldn't go there very often

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank o s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing