We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very popular with generous portion”
Review of The Greek Lady

The Greek Lady
Ranked #835 of 4,405 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: University City
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Very popular with generous portion”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

There were quite a few restaurants on 40th street, yet this one was so much more popular than others when we visited on the U Penn Parents weekend. You could sit either inside or outside. Once you ordered at the counter, they brought the food over to your table.

The salad portion was humongous. I packed 2 boxes first knowing there was no no way we could finish (you can get boxes, bags and utensils on a self-served table inside). Lamb gyro (surprised to find french fries) was good. Beef and chicken are also available.

We would definitely visit again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Family_from_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    24
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The lamb gyro is generous in portion size and a scrumptious mix of sliced meat, tomatoes, lettuce, onion and French fries,,tenderly wrapped in bread and drizzled with a yogurt garlic sauce.

Great for a satisfying meal on the go. Definitely recommended!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UmTareq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Greek Food”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Gyro was awesome. Great place in UPENN area and very clean. I would highly recommend if you are in the area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DomCub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“I'd forgotten how great this restaurant is!”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Greek Lady is a staple for the West Philadelphia university communities, and is still a phenomenal restaurant. Everything on the menu is good, delivery is quick, and this restaurant never disappoints!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth7887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Univ City institution that never gets old”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I cannot count how many times I've been here, but every time I leave happy. Wonderful dishes at good prices with fast service. Defiantly worth braving the crowds :)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank euroschmau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greek Lady also viewed

 

Been to The Greek Lady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing