We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great meal”
Review of Amada

Amada
Reserve with OpenTable
Amada is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $100
Cuisines: Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: Between 2nd & 3rd
Transit: Septa 21, 42
Ocean, New Jersey
Level Contributor
156 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A great meal”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife and I went on sat night 3/15 and had quite the meal. As a previuos reviewer stated the Ensalade Verde was a 10. Please try it and I would love to read your reviews. Next up were some cured meats along cheeses . These were very good. Next arriving was the lamb meatballs- tasty,Spanish Octopus -out of this world,chorizo and clams -this was the only miss. Clams could have been slighly larger in order to taste them. they were out of ribs that night so we finished up with the Pork Belly special which was excellent.For desert we had the cheesecake which will be presented in a fashion that will surprise you while at the same time lighting up your tatste buds. All in all an excellent meal presented by a restaurant which has lived up to the their lofty ratings.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Golfdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    255
    78
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Service”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Fabulous tapas, great wine, excellent service...doesn't come as cheap in Philly as it does in Spain. Wine list covers most regions of Spain as does the tapas menu. Food well prepared & plated, superbly done baby lamb chops. Open dining room can get a bit noisy, but it is tapas, not intimate romantic dining....worth the price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A solid tapas experience”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I took our medical school student and a classmate here so they could enjoy a rare decent dinner. I was perhaps more exacting in my standards, having just returned from spending several weeks in Madrid, where we feasted on tapas throughout the city as well as in Segovia, Avila, Toledo and other places. The selection of tapas is authentic and, for the most part, quite good. The paella, a house specialty which must be ordered 45 minutes in advance, while good, was a tad mushy for my taste. The pernil asado (roast park) was excellent as (I'm told) were the Gambas al Ajillio (shrimp in garlic - to which I'm allergic but which the boys seemed to enjoy). It's a pricey place which I'm glad I tried although I don't know that I would go back. Perhaps I was still spolied from all of the amazing (and relatively modestly priced) culinary experiences in Spain).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
271 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Let's talk about this salad...”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Best salad I've had in my life? Likely, quite likely. Actually, I'll just commit and say this was the greatest salad I've ever had in my life. Truly. I'm not even a salad person, but the Ensalada Verde (Green salad, asparagus, favas, avocado, green beans) at Amada... perfection. A green pile of happiness is the best way I can describe it. This restaurant treats food as an art, and I was impressed with everything, along with my out of this world salad. That said, I obviously recommend the Verde and the Croquettes are to die for. Order this and you'll leave a very happy customer. Will definitely be back the next time I'm in Philly!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KBeth00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tapas”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

this is our family go to place. Great tapas and wine list is great and the service is the best ..Yummmm

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cranster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amada also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Amada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing