We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good and Kosher too”
Review of Su Xing House

Su Xing House
Ranked #556 of 4,351 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: City Center West
California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very good and Kosher too”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We ate here several times during our visit to Philadelphia. Had different dishes every night and all were very good or better (as with many Chinese restaurants, there is a very large menu to choose from). Spring rolls were excellent. Portions were large and prices reasoable, especially fior a kosher restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theoax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    18
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing Vegetarian Food”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

For starters, the menu needs a serious re-write, as it is very difficult to understand the food items by their descriptions; hire a professional! Our waitress was slow and very distant, although correct; not at all the friendly face we would have preferred. But the main disappointment was the food; nothing stood out. We had the hot and sour soup (not so hot), Miso soup (better at your local Japanese restaurant), dumplings (go to Chinatown), spring roll (not terrible, just off in taste), and broccoli dish with "protein" (acceptable but not a stand out, by any means). We like vegetarian, but we will go elsewhere in the future for this.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alphacentauri52341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yum! Su Xing”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting Philly & spent to sat sight seeing. we wanted to stay in our hotel & get some Chinese... Su Xing was the answer.
They were earlier on delivery when promised. Pretty reasonable prices. The food was delicious! We order sesame seiten with broccoli & brown rice, dumplings & Singapore noodles. Seasame dish was awesome! The noodles seemed like regular pasta not the Chinese noodle I am used to (flat kind).
The next day I decided to tell my meat loving crew what they ate...they were shocked it was vegetarian. Everyone loved it!
It also wasn't salty & we noticed we didn't get bloated like with our usual Chinese takeout...an added bonus.
One word....yum!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaTwid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My Go-To Chinese restaurant”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The food at Su Xing is delicious and well-prepared, portions are generous, and there's a great variety. The cherry on top is that it's all vegetarian. I've taken many non-veg friends here, and they enjoy it as much as my vegetarian friends and I. Service is quick and attentive, and the ambiance is comfortable, whether dining alone or with friends. It's a great pre-theatre/concert place -- you know you'll make curtain with no problem. Lunch specials are great options. Eat in or take out -- it's all good!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“eat here every time in Philly”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Their lunch specials are a great deal - your choice comes with soup, salad and side dish - for about $9. My favorite dish is kale with dried tofu (I think they add broccoli rabe to it as well), and it's usually what I get every time. The staff are always pleasant and the service is quick. We visit Philly several times a year and we never miss a chance to eat here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dailyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Su Xing House also viewed

 

Been to Su Xing House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing