We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun on the ice”

Blue Cross RiverRink
Ranked #116 of 445 things to do in Philadelphia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ice Skating Rink
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family fun on the ice”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We went the Friday after Christmas. Was it crowded? Yes. Was the ice choppy? Yes. Did we have fun? YES! The view of the river from the rink was beautiful. Staff were friendly and helpful. A really nice touch we enjoyed was the fire pit for making s'mores.

Tips for your visit: They run the zamboni after each skating session, so we suggest that you arrive 20 minutes early to put on your skates and you can be ready to get on the ice while it's still fresh. Admission is cheap but skate rental is high, so if you own ice skates or can borrow some you will save a bundle. There are lockers to rent so you can store your shoes. Dress in layers, it was a chilly day but we got warm while skating.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank chocolategirl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marlton, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor rink”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Went on Sunday, January 27. Parking was $12. We did the 12:30 session, and brought our blue cross insurance cards to save $4. on each ticket. It was a nice size rink with view of the Ben Franklin bridge. I thought the staff on the ice were very attentive. As many times as my kids fell, they were right there reaching their hand out to help them up. One of the employees took the time, and gave my kids a few pointers. I would most likely return.

Helpful?
Thank SmitMLS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Too Crowded”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Too many people on very choppy ice did not make for good skating. Temperature was in mid 30's so you can't say that it was a factor in bad ice conditions.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media,PA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lots of fun and great employees!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I went during the 11-1 session and loved it. It was a bit chilly (but we planned for it and found the weather perfect). The skates are in pretty good condition and the staff is available for people less confident on skates. The inside staff were very nice and super helpful. The only reason we gave it a 4 instead of a 5 is in part because they are very hard to reach by phone (but they do direct you to there website).
It's an awesome way to spend part of your day with anyone in the family.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SMushrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Skate under the stars and fireworks”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This skating ring is located on the Delaware River in center city. At times, it is windy because of the location. It is popular with families. Special events are timed to fireworks. The Blue Cross Health insurance company gives you a slight discount if you are a member.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cooperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Cross RiverRink also viewed

 

Been to Blue Cross RiverRink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing