We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Mexican Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cantina Los Caballitos

Cantina Los Caballitos
Ranked #573 of 4,318 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Bella Vista / Queen Village
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
117 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I found this place with my new upgraded SIRI on my iPhone. Guess it really works. This place is worth the trip into South Philly. I had the ribs and they were really good. The special mango guacamole was very good too.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    31
    10
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good place to hang out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Cantina is a cool place. The drinks/beers are decently priced and the margaritas are usually really tasty. The pitchers are definitely a plus too!

The food is pretty good & I like the atmosphere. I went there Saturday night to watch the Phils game & hang out with friends. It was pretty crowded but it wasn't stuffy & overwhelming like other places.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilshell812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Local Hangout/Dinner/Drinks/Outdoor Seating in South Philly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Well, I'd say this is more than long overdue....

Living just a block away, it's no wonder that 1/5 of my weeks meals are consumed at the Cantina. Having religiously dined here every Friday night for going on a year, I can tell you first hand this is definitely the best local spot to unwind after the weekly 9-5 grind.

We always ALWAYS order the Grande Nachos with Vegan Beef--even though none of us are Vegan. It's simply delicious. And ideal for sharing. We also always enjoy at least one (let's be honest....it's more like two) pitcher(s) of margaritas, always frozen, and usually fruity (strawberry, blackberry, raspberry, etc. and ask for sugar for the rim!) The complimentary green salsa and chips is so good it's actually making my mouth water right now thinking about it....I also recommend the Mexican Hot Dog, Guacamole with Bacon, and Chicken Quesadilla. Delish.

The Birria might be the most expensive item on the menu--but WOW. WOWWWWWW. Exquisite. The tastes transport you to a 5 star dining establishment, without having to pay more than $6 for a cocktail.

Whether for Sunday brunch, dinner any night of the week, or a late night snack, the Cantina always delivers. Perfect for groups, AMPLE outdoor seating (seriously--the best), witty staff, and stiff drinks--this is definitely my top choice of places in the area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Theresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Outdoor Seating Mexican in South Philly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Enjoyed a outside dining experience at Cantina Los Caballitos with 3 others. We started w a pitcher of the house margarita which was made perfectly. We shared the plantians which aren't the typical deep fried chips but thicker pieces with warm insides which was a nice surprise. I ordered the mahi tacos which were cooked too perfection with a nice slaw like topping. My wife ordered the chicken quesadilla which was tasty and huge (a meal in itself). Over all the food/drink/atmosphere was spot on for this neighborhood cantina. We will return soon!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank voltagesls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quite possible the best place ever....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

If you like Mexican, there is now way not to love it here. This place is perfect for a get together when the weather is nice to drink and converse outside. Their outside seating area is fairly large. From the chips and salsa to the wide array of margarita flavors the place provides choices for just about anyone. The staff is attentive and well informed on the menu items, not to mention they are all pretty hot. For the vegan/vegetarian, there are many options available and they are one of the places that do the special dietary menu options well. I have a vegan quesadilla on one occasion and literally wanted to get it again the next day.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina Los Caballitos also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Cantina Los Caballitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing